12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have made these many times over the last 20 years. Excellent candy and makes a lot! I found that freezing the balls before dipping is helpful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD November 18, 2004

My dad loved these and even my mother who is hard to please really liked them as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie January 06, 2009

I finally got brave and tried this recipe. However, I didn't know they were called Martha Washington Balls, my mom always called them bon bons. I tried them with dipping chocolate at first and it was a disaster. I went to the chocolate and parafin and it was wonderful. Shoulda listened to mom. I will make these for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PattiN December 23, 2008

This was a great recipe. It yielded about 100 balls. I used a tablespoon of filling for each ball and I think they could have been smaller. I used dark melting chocolate for the coating and did not need any wax. I garnished them all with a little coconut. YUM YUM! I remember these from my childhood and they really brought back the memories as I sampled my work. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muyfeliz December 08, 2008

Gotta admit that when I initially saw the title of this recipe, I read it wrong, but what the hey...It got my attention, & I've must made some VERY TASTY, SWEET BITES, something I'll be making again as the winter holidays get even closer! I did toast the pecans for this! Thanks for sharing a wonderful keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Election Eats Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 07, 2008

I made these this past Christmas but without the vanilla as I ran out and they turned out delicious. I would highly recommend making them a day or two before you plan on serving them as they taste better that way. I simply melted the choco chips over a double boiler to ensure it doesnt burn. These make a lot so be prepared to give some away. Warning: these are addicting they taste almost like an almond joy mmmmmmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sosiboys January 21, 2008

I had these years ago at a party and they wouldn't give me the recipe ha ha got her didn't I! Love them easy and great for a gift

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcbednarek November 15, 2007

I couldn't get the right consistency with the melted chocolate chips by themselves so I added some parafin wax and they turned out perfect. I would HIGHLY recommend using the wax.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarZal December 17, 2005

Great candy recipe and definitly a keeper. I had one like this before but it called for Gulf wax in it and it just did not have the taste this recipe had. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Button November 20, 2005

Absolutely wonderful! I did the extra step of freezing the balls before dipping in chocolate. These make a wonderful gift.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
home4my2 June 08, 2005
Martha Washington Balls