Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Martha Washington Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Martha Washington Balls

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2004

      Have made these many times over the last 20 years. Excellent candy and makes a lot! I found that freezing the balls before dipping is helpful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      My dad loved these and even my mother who is hard to please really liked them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I finally got brave and tried this recipe. However, I didn't know they were called Martha Washington Balls, my mom always called them bon bons. I tried them with dipping chocolate at first and it was a disaster. I went to the chocolate and parafin and it was wonderful. Shoulda listened to mom. I will make these for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was a great recipe. It yielded about 100 balls. I used a tablespoon of filling for each ball and I think they could have been smaller. I used dark melting chocolate for the coating and did not need any wax. I garnished them all with a little coconut. YUM YUM! I remember these from my childhood and they really brought back the memories as I sampled my work. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Gotta admit that when I initially saw the title of this recipe, I read it wrong, but what the hey...It got my attention, & I've must made some VERY TASTY, SWEET BITES, something I'll be making again as the winter holidays get even closer! I did toast the pecans for this! Thanks for sharing a wonderful keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Election Eats Tag Game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made these this past Christmas but without the vanilla as I ran out and they turned out delicious. I would highly recommend making them a day or two before you plan on serving them as they taste better that way. I simply melted the choco chips over a double boiler to ensure it doesnt burn. These make a lot so be prepared to give some away. Warning: these are addicting they taste almost like an almond joy mmmmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I had these years ago at a party and they wouldn't give me the recipe ha ha got her didn't I! Love them easy and great for a gift

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      I couldn't get the right consistency with the melted chocolate chips by themselves so I added some parafin wax and they turned out perfect. I would HIGHLY recommend using the wax.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Great candy recipe and definitly a keeper. I had one like this before but it called for Gulf wax in it and it just did not have the taste this recipe had. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful! I did the extra step of freezing the balls before dipping in chocolate. These make a wonderful gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      Oh my, these are heavenly!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will be making these every year for the holidays..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      These balls of candy are so fun to and eat. All the kids helped in this one it was the most fun I have had with making candy in a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Martha Washington Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (3626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1446.2
     
    Calories from Fat 758
    52%
    Total Fat 84.2 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 49.8 g
    249%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 321.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 187.9 g
    62%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 171.3 g
    685%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes