14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have had better Oatmeal cookies from recipezarr, (try Barbara Bush's)!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie j September 03, 2002

Very good cookies! I was also making chocolate chip cookies the same day, so I took your suggestion of using white "chocolate" chips in these. They complemented very well. :) Since I wasn't using chocolate chips, I used the Heath baking bits that are simply toffee without chocolate. I also used cherry-flavored craisins rather than dried cherries and baked on (ungreased) parchment. Wonderful cookies--thanks for sharing the recipe! -December 18, 2005 Edited October 21, 2007: My original review referenced a different recipe, which apparently was subsequently merged into this one as a duplicate and the review moved. (That's why some of my comments don't make sense here.) I also don't think that recipe was written as a "slice and bake" cookie, but as a drop cookie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ October 21, 2007

A delicious soft oatmeal cookie. I actually did these cookies as a drop cookie, and would suggest chilling them as suggested in the recipe as they really spread. I got about 40 drop cookies. I really enjoyed the combo of the cherries, toffee pieces and chocolate. In my opinion, I enjoyed the dough better than the cookies!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing January 30, 2003

I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my cookies do not look anything like the ones on this website. The only thing I sub'd was dried cranberries for the dried cherries because I couldn't font them. My cookies are flat, very thin, and very crispy. They taste very good though :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sriojas741 October 02, 2011

These cookies came out very rich and yummy! They were chock full of goodies and we especially liked the addition of caramel bits. :)
The dough was easy to work with even though I didnt have the time to chill it. My cookies came out a bit wonky shapewise, but that really doesnt matter. The taste was still yummy!
However the full amount of sugar would have been way too much for our taste, so we reduced it by more than half. All in all a nice cookie, that well make again with slight tweaks.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us, Sharon!
Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game April 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 27, 2011

Perfectly delicious! Made as posted. Next time, I will freeze two of the logs, defrost in refrigerator, and bake later. I also used Heath bar bits. Thanks Sharon 123 for posting. Made for Iron Chef tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal June 27, 2009

Great cookie ! I followed the directions as written. The cookies had a nice little crunch. I used Heath Bar bits. I froze one of the logs for another time. We will make these often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks January 09, 2009

Great cookies - much loved by all and very easy to do . I left out the dried cherries as they are hard to find here in Melbourne but will look for them to use in future and made them as drop cookies -dough wonderful to eat toooooooo !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew December 12, 2008

I do not bake. I hate to bake. However, these cookies were worth making as all the add ins tasted great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 July 03, 2008

These are simply the BEST! I had no problems at all and found that I liked the fact that the cookie spread a little bit! All bites were chewy with a little crunch. I make them EVERY year for christmas. Thank you Martha. Alysia Garland - Seattle

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alysia.garland March 06, 2008
Martha Stewart's Oatmeal Cookies of the Year