19 Reviews

This is my favorite roll-out pie crust. However, when I first started making it I was disappointed with the edge because it puffed while baking, making the neat, decorative pinched edge no longer visible. After a few trials, I discovered by accident that refrigerating the completely assembled pie for 30-90 minutes before baking keeps the edge looking neat. Now, I do this every time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyMarie September 18, 2008

I have made this several times...just getting around to rating it. Wonderful recipe, nice buttery flaky crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish350 November 29, 2009

Excellent. I used this for a crust for Chicken Pot Pie. I improvised because I was too lazy to get the food processor out and used my immersion blender instead.I had great results and a light flaky crust. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atm1970 April 09, 2006

Such a versatile recipe. It takes a little practice to get it just right, but I have used this with everything, from quiche to pumpkin pie, and I've never been disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Devies March 26, 2015

Absolutely easy, no fail pie crust. I just used it for a chicken pot pie, so I left out the sugar. This one always works for me and it's so simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondem777 November 10, 2013

Food processor pie dough, where have you been all my life?! I will never need another crust recipe again! Made this for our Thanksgiving Day pies and could not believe how easy it was! Flaky, yummy goodness. Sigh.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thebeatonpath November 23, 2012

this is my first ever homemade pie and this crust was very easy and my family loved it, will continue to use this forever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdcemom4 November 21, 2012

This tasted good, but I had a hard time working with it. After chilling it for 4 hours, the dough was very stiff and hard to roll. Once I got it almost all rolled out, then it started getting really sticky. The taste is there, but for some reason, I couldn't work with it very well. Thanks anyway kcdelong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose February 15, 2011

Awesome pie crust and so easy-made it by pulsing in the food processor.
Thanks kcdelong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover November 27, 2010

Simple, easy to work with, very tasty. I had to use quite a bit more water to get it to come together (about 3/4 cup), but that might be my fault. I lost count when adding flour and might have added an extra 1/2 cup. I also added a pinch of baking powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny October 10, 2010
Martha Stewarts Foolproof Pie Crust