16 Reviews

This is a great recipe - and really not that hard at all. I had no trouble with the emulsification, in fact i was worried about it based on other reviews, but it came together much easier than i expected. Great flavor - served over pan seared beef tenderloin. After cooking the beef, i added mushrooms, shallots, and a pinch of remaining tarragon to the pan - then deglazed with white wine and a bit of beef stock. With roasted Brussels sprouts on the side - all the flavors came together so nicely. Will definitely make again (after 2 or 3 extra trips to the gym - but it's worth it).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimmyB33305 November 21, 2011

Brilliant! I agree with one reviewer that I would use slightly less shallots or perhaps I just packed them in the measuring cup a bit too much. I also lost the consistency but a bit of thick cream and a hand blender and it was even better than before. The cream makes it slightly less rich and a beautiful smooth consistency. Worth trying, especially if you need to dilute the flavours at all. Beautiful with fresh Scottish salmon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
St D. July 24, 2015

This is a GREAT recipe! I had never made this sauce before and it turned out beautifully! There is a lot of whisking but well worth the effort for the end result! It was so tasty and melted in my mouth when I ate it with the steaks. I have even documented and have written about it on my blog. http://ohsoyumm.blogspot.com/2013/06/melt-in-your-mouth-food.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgie4455 June 02, 2013

Labor intensive but well worth the aching arm after 20 minutes of continuous whisking. The next time I make this (which will likely be immediately after all leftovers have been devoured) I would use half the amount of shallots because I prefer a smoother sauce. Instead of lemon juice, I added another half tablespoon of tarragon vinegar at the beginning - sublime. Serving this recipe with haricot vert, filet mignon and wild rice, I will be feeling much like a domestic goddess for the rest of the week. Highly recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c.mac.coit March 18, 2013

Excellent! Love the tarragon vinegar in this sauce. Goes so well on a fillet steak and roasted potatoes, or french fries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 03, 2013

Fantastic! Well worth every artery-clogging calorie.
My first time making Bernaise sauce: I followed the recipe (tripled for our Christmas crowd) and it turned out great! Highly recommend and will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iudex December 27, 2011

This sauce was tasty, however, I stopped wisking just for a sec to move my baby away from the stove and the sauce "broke". It was a greasy, oily mess. However, I was able to fix it by following the instructions on another site, so I thought I'd share them here. I took the greasy separated mess and ladled it into a fresh pot that I had filled with a bit (1/2 cup or so) of cold water. I then whisked that ladled in sauce over the low heat until the clumpiness went away. Then I repeated the process with all the remaining broken sauce. I had to add a pinch more seasonings to make it taste right, but I saved the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chamomille November 03, 2010

This was a great recipe! I made this one for my folks and drizzled over grilled Fillet Mignon. My mom know this sauce well and said this recipe is spot on. The consistency was perfect, it made more than one cup of sauce but even for four people we used every drop we couldn't get enough!! Try it you will love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie'sHungry October 17, 2010

This sauce was delicious! It is easy to lose the consistency, but if you follow the instructions you should be fine. Also, I did not have tarragon vinegar so I (slightly) increased the amount of fresh tarragon and used white wine vinegar. I served it over filet mignon and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smellyson February 15, 2010

I have made this recipe several times, and I cannot stress enough how important it is to follow the directions exactly. If you follow the directions to a T, then it will be the most luscious sauce you have ever tasted in your life.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elvenrain October 26, 2009
Martha Stewart's Bearnaise Sauce