Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Martha Stewart's Bearnaise Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Martha Stewart's Bearnaise Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2011

      This is a great recipe - and really not that hard at all. I had no trouble with the emulsification, in fact i was worried about it based on other reviews, but it came together much easier than i expected. Great flavor - served over pan seared beef tenderloin. After cooking the beef, i added mushrooms, shallots, and a pinch of remaining tarragon to the pan - then deglazed with white wine and a bit of beef stock. With roasted Brussels sprouts on the side - all the flavors came together so nicely. Will definitely make again (after 2 or 3 extra trips to the gym - but it's worth it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      This is a GREAT recipe! I had never made this sauce before and it turned out beautifully! There is a lot of whisking but well worth the effort for the end result! It was so tasty and melted in my mouth when I ate it with the steaks. I have even documented and have written about it on my blog. http://ohsoyumm.blogspot.com/2013/06/melt-in-your-mouth-food.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Labor intensive but well worth the aching arm after 20 minutes of continuous whisking. The next time I make this (which will likely be immediately after all leftovers have been devoured) I would use half the amount of shallots because I prefer a smoother sauce. Instead of lemon juice, I added another half tablespoon of tarragon vinegar at the beginning - sublime. Serving this recipe with haricot vert, filet mignon and wild rice, I will be feeling much like a domestic goddess for the rest of the week. Highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Excellent! Love the tarragon vinegar in this sauce. Goes so well on a fillet steak and roasted potatoes, or french fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Fantastic! Well worth every artery-clogging calorie.
      My first time making Bernaise sauce: I followed the recipe (tripled for our Christmas crowd) and it turned out great! Highly recommend and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This sauce was tasty, however, I stopped wisking just for a sec to move my baby away from the stove and the sauce "broke". It was a greasy, oily mess. However, I was able to fix it by following the instructions on another site, so I thought I'd share them here. I took the greasy separated mess and ladled it into a fresh pot that I had filled with a bit (1/2 cup or so) of cold water. I then whisked that ladled in sauce over the low heat until the clumpiness went away. Then I repeated the process with all the remaining broken sauce. I had to add a pinch more seasonings to make it taste right, but I saved the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I made this one for my folks and drizzled over grilled Fillet Mignon. My mom know this sauce well and said this recipe is spot on. The consistency was perfect, it made more than one cup of sauce but even for four people we used every drop we couldn't get enough!! Try it you will love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This sauce was delicious! It is easy to lose the consistency, but if you follow the instructions you should be fine. Also, I did not have tarragon vinegar so I (slightly) increased the amount of fresh tarragon and used white wine vinegar. I served it over filet mignon and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times, and I cannot stress enough how important it is to follow the directions exactly. If you follow the directions to a T, then it will be the most luscious sauce you have ever tasted in your life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Very nice flavor and a great accent to a grilled prime rib. But as another reviewer noted the consistency is not very appealing (greasy and chunky is an apt description). You definitely need to use butter (not spread) and follow the sequence carefully. Even then, it's easy to lose the emulsification and end up with an unappetizing oily mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Really really good! I didnt have tarragon vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar. I chose to add the "optional" lemon juice and it came out awesome over a nice filet mignon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This was wonderful. Fairly easy and simple. Anyone should be able to whip this up. I got about 2 cups of sauce. Will be making this again for sure!! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was the worse Bernaise I have ever had.. It was chunky and greasy.... I am so sad I wasted my time, money, and energy on this.... Thankfully I wasn't serving guests... We would have had to go out to eat....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      This was wonderful and will make again! I followed the ingredients exactly but did the directions for blender bernaise #74236. It came out perfect and the blender made it super easy and quick. Perfect consistency. I did add a couple drops of lemon juice. It made about 2 cups of sauce. YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I agree this was the best Bernaise Sauce I've tasted as well. There are a few simpler varieties around but this one is well worth the extra effort. I had on some scotch fillet steak and it was simply superb. The only thing I changed was using a sweet white wine instead of dry, but only because that's all I had on hand, and a dry white would probably be the best choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Martha Stewart's Bearnaise Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1037.2
     
    Calories from Fat 952
    91%
    Total Fat 105.7 g
    162%
    Saturated Fat 63.2 g
    316%
    Cholesterol 797.3 mg
    265%
    Sodium 44.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tarragon vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites