Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Martha Stewart's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Martha Stewart's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2009

      Okay, but a very Americanized dish. Made it for my DD's birthday and she ate it and seemed to enjoy it, but my DH and I thought it was boring (a lot of work for boring too in that I made my own sauce and followed the directions to a T), and nothing like the eggplant parm my Italian neighbor makes. We weren't expecting total authenticity - especially with the eggplant being baked - but this was as my DH put it "very safe." I've had this trouble with M. Stewart's recipes before, so I think I'll avoid her in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I only used 1 eggplant but it was a big one. I made the sauce from the directions provided but also added a jar of Classico. Baking the eggplant was a terrific option - I tasted the eggplant after baking it and it was so delicious! I would have loved eating it even without the sauce the cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Love it! My hubby hates eggplant and he loved this dish. I definitely recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      I have to admit, I'm not usually a Martha Stewart fan, but this had great reviews so I gave it a shot. This is probably the best eggplant parmesan recipe I've tried yet! My husband and 21 year-old son are not picky at all, but eggplant is usually not the first thing they order from the menu - it is for me! So I was thrilled when they both raved about this dish! We all love that the eggplant is not fried but still has that classic taste. I made the sauce as directed in the recipe, but it was just a little shy of what was needed to complete the dish so I just stirred in a 10 oz. jar of classic pizza sauce. I also used an extra egg and breadcrumbs as per other reviewers advice. (I think I had a little over 2.5 lbs. of eggplant, so this could have made the difference.) Tasted great and leftovers (which were few!) were even better the next day! This is definitely my new, favorite recipe for eggplant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      THIS Was just great! I used a mandolin, so my slices were very thin. (Next time I will just cut by hand to 1/2 "). I peeled the eggplant and soaked it in sea salted water for about a half hour, as I read in a similar recipe, and it was not bitter or tough at all. My grown son had some leftover eggplant the next day and texted me it was great. Last time I made a lower fat version, he didn't like it me to go back to making it the good way. This is the best of both worlds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Maybe the best eggplant parmesan I ever tasted! I also liked it because the eggplant was baked, not fried in a bunch of oil. I also used extra bread crumbs (fresh whole wheat) and more egg. I halved the recipe and ended up with one extra meal for lunch between the two of us. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I thought this was very good. I made a half order using 1 eggplant. I used a half cup each of bread crumbs and parm which would equate to a full cup of each in a full recipe. I think the keys to this recipe is to make sure you use a good parm and sauce. I did use a little more herbs than the recipe calls for. It's easy to make. I'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      This was received at the Cultural Night event I went to at my language school with outstanding results (gone in 10 minutes of putting it down on the table - faster than any other dish brought in!) The lady running the show even took the time to compliment me on it and thank me for bringing the dish. Will make it again and again for those I'd like to impress.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This was my first time making eggplant and it turned out great! I followed the chunky tomato recipe and had to tweek it a little bit to make it more flavorful. I'm not sure if I will make again though. Eggplant isn't something I normally crave. It would be a fabulous recipe to follow with chicken!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This recipe was the bomb. The only thing i did different was to use whole wheat panko but it was great. I will definitly do this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      I recommend this recipe. We all thought it was delicious and people asked me for the recipe. When I told them it was Martha Stewart they couldn't believe it. It was easy and I can't wait to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I used fresh breadcrumbs - fewer calories. Also use provolone cheese. Otherwise the same recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      OK I ran out of breading about 2/3 the way through but that was because I sliced thinner than 1/2 inch as called for in the recipe. No fault, no foul there. The balance of the slices with some olive oil poured on were taken out to the gas grill and flamed on medium high for several minutes on each side until they were just barely limp but had their grill marks. Beautiful addition to the top layer covered with the cheese.

      Since I used canned sauce I upped the garlic in that and two cans wasn't enough so I took a can of diced tomatoes (undrained but your choice) and poured it on before the final layer of eggplant. Simple solution.

      A great Greek salad was the starter for this terrific meal. Leftovers were GREAT in the micro along with the rest of the crunchy, chewy Italian bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I like eggplant and this was good, not great, just good. I halved the amount of eggplant and still used almost all the breadcrumb mixture and both eggs. I will probably look for a different recipe next time I try to bake eggplant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This is my favourite eggplant dish. I like to make it with freshly grated parmigiano-reggiano and the homemade chunky sauce using canned diced tomatoes. The eggplant bakes up nicely with a crisp exterior and I prefer this to any fried version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      This was a very good recipe, although I did add some spices to it, as suggested by other reviewers. Here's how I made this recipe and it came out delicious, drawing rave reviews from my husband: I made the sauce first by heating olive oil in a sauce pot and then adding diced onions. I heated the onions for a minute, stirring. I then added a clove of diced garlic and heated for 30 seconds, stirring. I then added a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, as well as salt, ground black pepper, oregano, and sugar to taste along with a dash of crushed red pepper. Once the sauce was savory enough and hot, I put the pot aside and sliced one large eggplant only, not two as suggested. I made the eggplant slices somewhat thin so they'd cook through. I breaded the eggplant slices in a mixture of one beaten egg and a tablespoon of milk (not water, as suggested). Then I dredged the eggplant slices in breadcrumbs seasoned with salt, ground black pepper, and oregano. To cut down on prep time, I fried the breaded eggplant slices in hot olive oil, one minute per side. After the eggplant slices were browned, I added a little tomato sauce to the bottom of a 9x13 dish, layered the eggplant slices on top, then added shredded mozzarella cheese, and repeated. I ended up with two layers of eggplant, sauce, and mozzarella cheese. I did not use any Parmesan cheese, as I didn't have any on hand. I covered the baking dish with aluminum foil and baked for 20 minutes at 375 degrees. The savory sauce made this dish! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      not for me, And I've had trouble with M. Stewart's recipes before, so I think I'll avoid her in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Martha didn't let me down! This was such a good recipe. We are a carnivore family and we honestly didn't miss the meat on this one. I was worried that my husband wouldn't get filled up with just an eggplant dish, but he said he was full after the first serving (and he went back for a second). I honestly didn't think it was going to happen because he is so fussy about food, but my 2-year-old also ate an entire plate of it! I wound up picking up 2 huge eggplants at a local farmers market for $.50 a piece and I "made" the chunky tomato sauce by combining 3 cans of tomato sauce with 3 (drained) cans of diced tomatoes with garlic, oregano and onion that I chopped into fine pieces. It worked pretty well as a sauce and stayed thick while cooking. Thank you for posting! This is going into the keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Fantastic recipe for taking the deep frying out and making a delicious recipe healthier! I have made this several times in the past year and my fussy taster hubby loves it. Yesterday when I made it, I did use Recipe 26217 "Bev's Spaghetti Sauce" which was also a very easy, quick excellent sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Martha Stewart's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.0
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    37%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 72.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1351.6 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes