65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay, but a very Americanized dish. Made it for my DD's birthday and she ate it and seemed to enjoy it, but my DH and I thought it was boring (a lot of work for boring too in that I made my own sauce and followed the directions to a T), and nothing like the eggplant parm my Italian neighbor makes. We weren't expecting total authenticity - especially with the eggplant being baked - but this was as my DH put it "very safe." I've had this trouble with M. Stewart's recipes before, so I think I'll avoid her in the future.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 05, 2009

This was a great recipe! I only used 1 eggplant but it was a big one. I made the sauce from the directions provided but also added a jar of Classico. Baking the eggplant was a terrific option - I tasted the eggplant after baking it and it was so delicious! I would have loved eating it even without the sauce the cheese!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
javajem July 19, 2010

Love it! My hubby hates eggplant and he loved this dish. I definitely recommend.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chur B August 21, 2010

I have to admit, I'm not usually a Martha Stewart fan, but this had great reviews so I gave it a shot. This is probably the best eggplant parmesan recipe I've tried yet! My husband and 21 year-old son are not picky at all, but eggplant is usually not the first thing they order from the menu - it is for me! So I was thrilled when they both raved about this dish! We all love that the eggplant is not fried but still has that classic taste. I made the sauce as directed in the recipe, but it was just a little shy of what was needed to complete the dish so I just stirred in a 10 oz. jar of classic pizza sauce. I also used an extra egg and breadcrumbs as per other reviewers advice. (I think I had a little over 2.5 lbs. of eggplant, so this could have made the difference.) Tasted great and leftovers (which were few!) were even better the next day! This is definitely my new, favorite recipe for eggplant!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Owned by a Westie May 23, 2011

THIS Was just great! I used a mandolin, so my slices were very thin. (Next time I will just cut by hand to 1/2 "). I peeled the eggplant and soaked it in sea salted water for about a half hour, as I read in a similar recipe, and it was not bitter or tough at all. My grown son had some leftover eggplant the next day and texted me it was great. Last time I made a lower fat version, he didn't like it me to go back to making it the good way. This is the best of both worlds!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Jelly Room July 01, 2010

Maybe the best eggplant parmesan I ever tasted! I also liked it because the eggplant was baked, not fried in a bunch of oil. I also used extra bread crumbs (fresh whole wheat) and more egg. I halved the recipe and ended up with one extra meal for lunch between the two of us. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 26, 2012

I thought this was very good. I made a half order using 1 eggplant. I used a half cup each of bread crumbs and parm which would equate to a full cup of each in a full recipe. I think the keys to this recipe is to make sure you use a good parm and sauce. I did use a little more herbs than the recipe calls for. It's easy to make. I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len February 24, 2012

This was received at the Cultural Night event I went to at my language school with outstanding results (gone in 10 minutes of putting it down on the table - faster than any other dish brought in!) The lady running the show even took the time to compliment me on it and thank me for bringing the dish. Will make it again and again for those I'd like to impress.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendyfromCali April 23, 2011

This was my first time making eggplant and it turned out great! I followed the chunky tomato recipe and had to tweek it a little bit to make it more flavorful. I'm not sure if I will make again though. Eggplant isn't something I normally crave. It would be a fabulous recipe to follow with chicken!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clamoleon April 09, 2011

This recipe was the bomb. The only thing i did different was to use whole wheat panko but it was great. I will definitly do this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojowix April 06, 2011
Martha Stewart's Baked Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan