23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Didn't have whole wheat flour so just used white. Omitted the walnuts cause my hubby doesn't like nuts in his cookies. Also, only had salted butter so just cut back on the added salt. 10 minutes cooked on parchment covered cookie sheets at 375 and they came out Banana Cookie Perfection! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy Jayne May 25, 2010

I made these tonight, and they turned out delicious. I used dark brown sugar and quick cooking oats because that's all that I had, but they are very soft and chewy. They are very fluffy, almost cake-like, but so delicious. I also only baked them for 10 minutes, and found that was enough time. Can't wait to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JrBakerinON March 14, 2010

Absoloutely delicious. I made a couple substitutions...namely dark brown sugar instead of light, and all white flour instead of part whole wheat. Still turned out AMAZING! Sooo yummy! I had to hide them from my son! Tip: they turn out much better and brown perfectly if you use a glass casserole dish. I also found 12 mins baking time was too long...9-10 was perfect. Thanks so much for this recipe...it's a definite new favorite!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VoodooMagnolia July 20, 2009

I made this recipe exactly as is except for the walnuts due to a picky eater in the house. I don't usually like to tweak until I have made something at least once. The cookies were DELICIOUS. Really can't say enough about them. They have a banana taste but it is nor overpowering and they are soft and chewy. I did bake them on my silpat as one of the other reviewers suggested and I am so glad I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conbrend March 10, 2013

They were a lot cake-ish than I would prefer in a cookie, and the banana flavor wasn't as pronounced as I'd hoped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha August 26, 2012

These are absolutely FANTASTIC! I just had one. A family member deemed them "addictive."
I used all white flour and substituted pecans for the walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain February 04, 2011

I just made these and they are Awesome!! I didn't have whole wheat flour either, so I subbed AP flour. I was going to add a touch of cinnamon too, but then I spied the pumpkin pie spice I had left over from the holidays, and added about a tsp of that to give it a little more oomph. Sooo very good. 9 minutes at 375 were good for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petunia559 January 12, 2011

A little more cake like than I like my cookies but still pretty good. I had to adjust oven temp from 375 to 355 (I have a separate oven thermometer so I know my oven temp is correct) 11 minutes and they were done. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SRF68 May 05, 2010

Its like banana bread and chocolate chip cookies got together and had a baby! These are delicious and my son keeps coming back for more. I also found that 9-10 minutes on a Silpat was perfect. I was running low on chocolate so I used white chocolate for about half the needed amount and its a great substitution - though I would like to make them with all semisweet chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EggHeaven November 14, 2009

Cookies taste great, we love them. Just a note about the cooking time though, I used a Silpat, instead of parchment paper and at 375, 12 minutes was too long, the cookies turned out dark. On the Silpat, 10 minutes at 375 was perfect, I got a nice golden cookie....Wonderful!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitchell'sMom August 21, 2009
Martha Stewart Banana-Walnut Chocolate Chunk Cookies