79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was such a great recipe! Thank you so much for posting it! It was easy and fun to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyumsushi43 April 02, 2010

Superb recipe, I have always used ready rolled royal icing and prefer this recipe so much! It is so versatile, allowing you to tweak the recipe without it going hideously wrong! :D Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully March 29, 2010

Very easy and fast to make. I needed brown for my turtle so I just added cocoa powder in the early mixing stages. It really tasted GOOD!!! I am very happy with this recipe. Oh, and living in an arid climate, the crisco rolling out method really worked the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltingmarion March 26, 2010

Wonderful Fondant. Very easy to make. Very easy to use. I actually started by taking my Kitchen Aid bowl over a pot of simmering water to create a double boiler, this way it was one less sticky bowl to clean. I mixed the powdered sugar in little by little. But, when it got to think I kneaded it by hand with a bit of powdered sugar on the counter. Worked well....didn't stick to my hands or the counter at this point. I didn't even used the Crisco. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samya March 25, 2010

I loved this, so easy to work with. Yes sticky but I ised my kitchenaid usung crisco to keep it from sticking. When it got thicker I had to kneed it by hand but was much easier than doing it all by hand. I really enjoy this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My kids mom February 15, 2010

Wow! This is a great recipe! My 10 y/o daughter has been watching cake decorating shows on tv and wanted to try making fondant. I agreed to try this recipe, but I told her not to be too disappointed if it didn't turn out. Well we were so surprised at how easy and fun it was to make. It rolled out beautifully and was so smooth! Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 December 02, 2009

I was on a lookout gor good fondant recipes now that the stores within my area kept increasing the prices of ready-made fondants. And thank god I found this! It's an excellent recipe, easy to make, taste good and very good consistentcy for the humid weather here. Previously I did try another recipe that makes fondant from scratch but it turned out too soft for our weather. And yes, u'll need to knead and leave it overnight to get the right consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unoeme November 20, 2009

Great easy FUN recipe. I put the sugar in my kitchenaid with the dough hook attached and let it do the super messy mixing. Then I took it out and kneaded it, and I had the BEST time! It takes color well (I used color gel) and well, it is FUN! I'll submit a picture after I decorate the cake. BTW do NOT use water to thin this after you've been kneading it! Use shortening. Also, I sifted the sugar before adding it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook November 19, 2009

The only reason I am rating it with two stars instead of one is because it tasted much better than other fondants. Too bad it didn't turn into fondant for me. It was too sticky to work with at first, fine. So add some more powdered sugar. Then it was too stiff to work with. Fine, add some water. Back to too sticky. I could not get it to be the right consistancy and my cake was ruined. I will never make this again. (btw I used all name brand products AND followed the directions. WASTE OF TIME.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeylonTea November 11, 2009

This was my first try at fondant and I am happy to report that I was successful using this recipe. I believe mine might have been slightly too thick, but it tasted good and looked pretty nice. Next time I will add a bit more water. Also, it is really important to frost the cake very lightly with a bit of regular frosting before topping with fondant so that the fondant sticks to the cake. Mine had some little flaws - bubble and grainy-ness, but overall I did okay for the first time. Will definitely make again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 September 23, 2009
Marshmallow Fondant