Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marshmallow Fondant Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marshmallow Fondant

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2009

      I use this all the time to decorate cookies. But I have a much easier - less messy way: 1) Melt marshmallow & water in microwave 2) Place 1/2 sugar in mixing bowl and make well in center 3) Pour marshmallows in center of well & mix with dough hook 4)continue kneading & add rest of sugar...then continue with the rest of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      lI ove this fondant, givs you a nice smooth product. Something that I do differently is use my mixer with hook attachment. After melting the marshmallows and water, I pour it in my mixer with about 1/4 Crisco and start mixing, if I'm going to color it i add the gel coloring now. After thats mixed i start adding the sugar. About 4 cups first, then another 2 then take out and knead the rest. A lot easier and don't end up with pink hands from food coloring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Part 1. I have never made or eaten fondant. I looked on line, read recipes, watched videos. And since I am not a neat cook I was a little nervous using all that powdered sugar. I decided that I would start by mixing the marshmallow and sugar in the bowl. It got to the point that I had to turn it out to knead on the counter. I was doing pretty good until I got over confident and added to much sugar. I ended up needing to be vacuumed off. But I managed to make something that I think is fondant. I have no idea what texture I'm going for really. I've got dryish playdough. I greased it and put it in a foodsaver canister (saw that on line). I will be using the fondant on a cake in 5 days. I will play around with it in a few days. By the way, don't wear fuzzy slippers when you are making this.

      Part 2. (March 3rd and 4th) I forgot to mention that I was making fondant because I have a Cricut Cake. I needed my cake on the 5th so I decided that I would start practicing on the 3rd. With the help of Tinkerbell I decided that my fondant was to dry. Since I had a time crunch and couldn't start over I cut off a piece, added a few drops of water and nuked it until it was slightly warm. I kneaded the water in and it was a little sticky. That was ok because I wanted beige and brown fondant. So I kneaded in some cocoa to get the colors I wanted. Everything was looking good. It rolled out nicely and I feed it to the Cricut. No go. I'm sure it would have been fine for other uses. It was to soft for the machine. I panicked for a moment (or 5) and remembered a video I saw on youtube. A woman used marshmallow fondant but she let it dry overnight on the cutting mats. So I filled my cutting mats and a few cutting boards and let them dry overnight. The next day it was perfect. My DS was thrilled with his cake and my DD can't wait for her birthday.

      I had heard that fondant doesn't taste good. This does. The plain, light chocolate and chocolate (my favorite). I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I have always been skeptical when it comes to fondant. I've always wanted to try it, but was afraid that a) it would end in disaster (tearing/being too heavy/being dry/being too wet/etcetc) because I can be quite a culinary-klutz or that b) it would taste terrible or that c) it would look too shiny and amateurish. Well, I finally decided to just try out a MM fondant, and found this gem. WOW!! It was FUN to make (very sticky at first!) and SO EASY!! I don't know what I was so afraid of-- this recipe pretty much makes it fool-proof. I added some cocoa powder and melted chocolate chips to mine (I was going to dye it black anyway) and made it chocolate favored. The fondant (I made some plain, as well) didn't even taste like paste, like I feared. The final product came out smooth (I had to add a little bit of water maybe a few times). Even if you mess up a few times (too much water, too much sugar), this recipe is so easy to correct... which is always a win in my book!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      EDIT: 08/27/09 I was scared this wouldnt turn out...it was sticking to my hands and no matter what I tried I couldnt get it off so I just decided to add more and more powdered sugar and after 10 minutes of kneading...it all came off of my hands and formed a ball. I have it in the fridge now and I am so excited to put the cake together tomorrow night!!! I uploaded a pic of my fondant "ball". I will post pics tomorrow of my cake. Oh, I wanted it to be flavored and be brown, so I added some cocoa powder to the fondant as I was adding the powdered sugar. I am going to try this recipe for my daughters first birthday cake just becase of Picture #24 the blue cake...the pink purse and the pic posted by Chef Lindsay. I hope I have great success like those 3...absolutely beautiful cakes! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This is a great recipe however I can't help wonder how your instructions are verbatim to the one listed by Peggy Weaver with actual diagrams on how to apply fondant. If it IS her recipe, give her credit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      First found this recipe on Peggy's page. Made a piano cake, and it came out perfect! Found I had to keep warming up the fondant to knead in all the color. And since cornstarch would've messed up the black, I just rolled it out on a big piece of plastic wrap, and turned it onto the cake. Looked incredible and got rave reviews form guests!! Keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Easy and yummy! I took other reviewers suggestions and put in the mixer, then kneaded color into it. It was made the night before and refrigerated, after warming up it was a breeze to work with. Thanks for all the possibilities for this yummy fondant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      I don't know much about baking cakes and this was my first time making fondant. I actually made it without doing much research. It was dry and cracking when I first took it out of the fridge (after a few hours). I just kneaded more Crisco into it and then it worked well. I wasn't able to roll it out with a rolling pin so I just used my hand to flatten it on a piece of wax paper. I then placed it upside down on the cake and peeled the wax paper off. I then cut off the sides. For first timers like me - remember to use enough butter cream frosting underneath so that the fondant will stick and that the cake will taste better. It tastes really good but I still prefer frosting over fondant any day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      I had never made fondant before but needed some for my dd's cake and hate the taste of gum paste fondant. I was pretty doubtful when my counter was covered in powdered sugar and runny marshmallows, but this recipe actually worked just like it should! I was about to give up - hands completely covered in sticky goo - and then once I was able to re-grease them, suddenly it all just came together into a smooth ball. Took me a lot longer than 8 minutes but like I say, I'm a novice at this. I'd recommend re-greasing BEFORE you think you need to, though - once you're stuck, getting un-stuck is very tedious!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I've recently tried many fondant recipes, but this is the one I keep coming back to. Only change I make is using marshmallow creme instead of melting marshmallows. I know, it's more expensive, but it's worth it. I find the texture is softer, and the "dough" is better to work with, and it's less messy. Thanks for getting me off to a good start in the world of fondant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Made into ghost cupcakes with grandbabes. I happened to love Halloween and all the opportunity to dress up in costume, eat candy and not have to cook a meal or give presents to the family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      OK, so I haven't actually USED it for my cake yet, but I'm really looking forward to it! I have never worked with fondant before (didn't like the taste) but my son really wants a rocket ship birthday cake so I decided to give this a go. First, it tastes delicious. Second, while it got pretty messy and I had my doubts, all of a sudden it turned into this beautiful, smooth, elastic ball! I felt like a professional! I will post a pic of the finished cake later. So far, this is an EXCELLENT recipe. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      I have made this recipe many times and it certainly is better tasting than store-bought. I apologize if someone already commented on this, but I found fondant dries and isn't very shiny. I have tried various edible items, e.g. Crisco; but find the best combination is equal parts of water, gelatin, and corn syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

    • on June 04, 2012

      Great recipe. Fun to make with my seven year old daughter. We spent days molding all sorts of pretty flowers for her birthday cake. If you like playing with playdough you'll like this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      I was nervous b/c I had never made fondant before, but wanted to try it for my sons 2nd birthday cake. It is definitely messy, as I didn't have a dough hook to mix with like some other reviewers did, however I would not let that stop anyone from making this recipe. I didn't knead in the full amount of powdered sugar, I didn't want the fondant to become too dry, so I just stopped at a certain point when it looked right. I used half on his birthday, and then I used some more of it for his actual birthday party a week and a half later, and I still had more left over, so this is probably enough to take care of 2 1/2 average sized, two layer cakes. I will definitely make this from now on when I want a fondant cake. Oh and it also does taste good. I've had the other type of fondant and it really dosn't taste much like anything, but this is nice and sweet and sugary- right up my alley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I just made this for the first time it was pretty easy to do. I followed the tip from dukeswalker to start it in the mixer and that saved me a lot of stickiness. I am wondering though why she insists you use name brand products. I used store large marshmallows and store brand powdered sugar and it appears to have come out just fine. I haven't used it yet so maybe that's where things might go wrong but it seems to be similar in texture as the store bought I used last time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Terrific! This was my first time working with fondant. The recipe was easy enough to make without using an electric mixer. I didn't have any shortening so I just sprayed my hands with Pam before starting the kneading, then I didn't need to grease them again after that. Very easy to work with, my daughter's birthday cake came out beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      I used this recipe for a 3 tier blues clues birthday cake and it was perfect! Will use this again and again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marshmallow Fondant

    Serving Size: 1 (1495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 5888.7
     
    Calories from Fat 930
    15%
    Total Fat 103.4 g
    159%
    Saturated Fat 25.9 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 384.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 1276.7 g
    425%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1150.4 g
    4601%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites