22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy and really well liked by kids & adults. I've not mastered the ability to not get everything in the kitchen sticky with Marshmallow goop, but it's a price worth paying. I made it a second time with margarine and butter flavoring as an emergency substitution and it still held nicely. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Student December 25, 2010

This is fantastic, the whole family loved it! But I did need to add more marshmallow cream because after tasting with the amounts listed, I thought it was way too buttery tasting. After adding a few more spoonfuls, we thought it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 11, 2010

This was very easy to mix up. It took to color very well. My children loved it! It is easy to spread and amazingly not too sweet. Just remember that it IS frosting, so it might melt if you leave it out on a hot day!!! (My error. I melted the decorations right off of the doll cake that I made for my 4 year old! Really comical now. Good thing I got pictures of the cake right after I frosted it)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PCCook August 31, 2005

I picked this to top S'mores cupcakes as the original recipe had a very complicated recipe. I read the reviews and backed down the butter (3/4 cup), I also had to up the sugar (2 cups).<br/>I still wound up with a buttery taste to my icing that I am wondering might be alleviated by using shortening or something else.. will investigate when I get a chance. I might also look at bringing the butter down to 1/2 cup and increasing the marshmallow creme as adding the sugar made the topping very sweet. One of the people that tried it told me "the best cupcake I've ever had" so it was well received in any case.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystelle February 10, 2014

This was delicious! Made as directed and used it for the filling of my Ho Ho Cake. Everyone raved about it. I plan to use this recipe to frost many kinds of cakes. So easy and Sooooo good. It would make a wonderful filling for a twinkie cake. Thank you Boxerwing. Adding this to my favorites list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookla October 20, 2012

This couldn't have been easier and my Christmas guests loved it on my poke cupcakes. Can't wait to make a devils food cake with this icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patts December 25, 2011

Used a double recipe of this on chocolate pumpkin large 1 layer cake & 12 cupcakes. The frosting is very easy, and everyone raved about the flavor. I did use a bit extra vanilla, and dash of salt, but otherwise follow the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
empebi_7610502 October 30, 2011

I found this recipe after years of making real swiss meringue and italian meringue butter cream. This sure beats burning sugar syrup on the stove, and is every bit as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punksysmom October 29, 2011

I made this recipe exactly as listed, but all I can taste is butter, love the consistency but what did I do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMcDowell September 05, 2011

This was very easy to make and it was delicious! My five year old said"I wish I had a whole house full of this stuff!" I can't disagree. I doubled it to frost and fill a four layer chocolate cake for my sons birthday. Was a tiny bit short but was doable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi L July 10, 2011
Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting