Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2010

      Very easy and really well liked by kids & adults. I've not mastered the ability to not get everything in the kitchen sticky with Marshmallow goop, but it's a price worth paying. I made it a second time with margarine and butter flavoring as an emergency substitution and it still held nicely. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This is fantastic, the whole family loved it! But I did need to add more marshmallow cream because after tasting with the amounts listed, I thought it was way too buttery tasting. After adding a few more spoonfuls, we thought it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      This was very easy to mix up. It took to color very well. My children loved it! It is easy to spread and amazingly not too sweet. Just remember that it IS frosting, so it might melt if you leave it out on a hot day!!! (My error. I melted the decorations right off of the doll cake that I made for my 4 year old! Really comical now. Good thing I got pictures of the cake right after I frosted it)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I picked this to top S'mores cupcakes as the original recipe had a very complicated recipe. I read the reviews and backed down the butter (3/4 cup), I also had to up the sugar (2 cups).<br/>I still wound up with a buttery taste to my icing that I am wondering might be alleviated by using shortening or something else.. will investigate when I get a chance. I might also look at bringing the butter down to 1/2 cup and increasing the marshmallow creme as adding the sugar made the topping very sweet. One of the people that tried it told me "the best cupcake I've ever had" so it was well received in any case.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      This was delicious! Made as directed and used it for the filling of my Ho Ho Cake. Everyone raved about it. I plan to use this recipe to frost many kinds of cakes. So easy and Sooooo good. It would make a wonderful filling for a twinkie cake. Thank you Boxerwing. Adding this to my favorites list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      This couldn't have been easier and my Christmas guests loved it on my poke cupcakes. Can't wait to make a devils food cake with this icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Used a double recipe of this on chocolate pumpkin large 1 layer cake & 12 cupcakes. The frosting is very easy, and everyone raved about the flavor. I did use a bit extra vanilla, and dash of salt, but otherwise follow the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      I found this recipe after years of making real swiss meringue and italian meringue butter cream. This sure beats burning sugar syrup on the stove, and is every bit as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I made this recipe exactly as listed, but all I can taste is butter, love the consistency but what did I do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      This was very easy to make and it was delicious! My five year old said"I wish I had a whole house full of this stuff!" I can't disagree. I doubled it to frost and fill a four layer chocolate cake for my sons birthday. Was a tiny bit short but was doable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      excellent. I also use it as a filling for my chocolate cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Fabulous icing. Provides a nice barrier to keep moisture in cake or brownie. A little goes a long way, this is very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Easy and so wonderfully delicious! My son doesn't usually like frosting but loves marshmallow so I thought I would give this a whirl and he loved it! Everyone else did too, children and adults alike. I am going to try this on brownies, I think that would really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe! I used this on chocolate cake #26370 and it was to die for! Very, very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      This is the best on chocolate cake! It's sweet, but not overly so. I had always wondered if marshmallow buttercream exists, and I'm so glad it does! Thanks for posting, Boxerwing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This recipe is good but I didn't care for the consistency and after taste very much. It definitely has the same after taste as the marshmallow cream. If you're a big marshmallow cream fan this is for you, but I prefer a more traditional no-cook buttercream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This was a simple frosting to make. it actually meltsn your mouth. It was very creamy but tasted too buttery. I would advise doubling the marshmallow cream and increasing the confectioner's sugar by 1/4 cup. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

    • on June 01, 2007

      I really like this recipe, especially since it was extremely easy to make. I added an extra 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, because we like our frosting a little sweeter here. It didn't change the consistency at all. I wasn't sure how to store it, though. The recipe didn't say. I kept it in the fridge, because of the butter. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future use. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      My hubby says this is the best icing he has tasted! I agree. I do add more powdered sugar than what is called for to add a bit more sweetness. It is so very creamy and delicious. I use it mostly on chocolate cupcakes. I used a decorator's bag and piped in onto the cupcakes and it worked great. I tastes great no matter what flavor cupcakes I have put it on. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2786.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1662
    59%
    Total Fat 184.7 g
    284%
    Saturated Fat 116.7 g
    583%
    Cholesterol 488.0 mg
    162%
    Sodium 197.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 288.4 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 217.4 g
    869%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes