41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yee-haw! This is dang-good! I followed this exactly, except I didn't have evaporated milk, so I put the jalapeno sauce in a mixture of milk-egg and it still turned into the most glorious bit of deliciousness one could ask for. Perfection! The coating stayed on perfectly, and the round steak was so tender and juicy. I pounded the son - of - gun for a while in between plastic wrap with a hammer, pulling a bit of the meat so it turned tender of perfect for a coating. I made the gravy, a must for those in the Southern/Eastern part of the country. Thank you! April 2010

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 25, 2010

OMG what a great recipe!!! The fried steak is great with and without the gravy but THE GRAVY IS SO SO SO FABULOUS!!!! I plan to use it on everything in fact we're having it on biscuits tonight! YYUUMMM!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misaolyn March 11, 2010

yumm yumm yumm! kept pretty much everything the same. except didnt have any evap milk so in place of that we used 2.5oz whipping cream (its all we had) and 2.5oz milk. liked the addition of green tabasco! we also tripple egg washed and breaded the steaks for a thicker breading. made awesome gravy from the drippings! so good and filling the both of us went into a food coma! lol thanks again MommyMakes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes April 07, 2011

I just made this tonight and it was delicious! I used 1 tsp of regular Tabasco instead of 1 Tbl of the green Tabasco ( I had none) and it turned out just right?not too spicy for my wife to eat, although I would've liked a bit more zip. This was better than many restaurant versions. Thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox February 21, 2014

Not bad for a non-Texan! Seriously, wonderful recipe. Thanks. But no gravy?! You're right, that is blasphemy. As a native Texan myself, transplanted to Colorado, CFS is, of course, my native food. We have lots of really good, lovingly competitive cooks in my family - even a couple of honest-to-God, fancy-pants chefs, so here's a CFS tip to all ya'll that will make all the difference. Surprisingly to some, unpreped round steak, no matter how high quality, is a real mistake. Always use cube steak. The difference is sure-fired, cain't miss!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billcolorado November 27, 2012

Coming from a family of Texans, this is the BEST Chicken Fried Steak I have ever made or tasted. Sooooooo good. Comes out a beautiful golden brown, and the breading stays on the meat and not in the pan. Has more "flare" than the "regular" recipes. 10 STARS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffbeard1985 November 02, 2012

These turned out wonderful. I made these last night and my family loved them. The gravy turned out good, I did have to add more salt and pepper but otherwise followed the recipe. Thank you for sharing this great comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 16, 2010

This is an excellent recipe! My family LOVES it. I did not make the gravy from this recipe, as I have my own that I love.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'mamma October 14, 2010

Thanks for posting- I can't wait to try this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meri Beth October 23, 2009
Marlboro Country Chicken Fried Steak (Country Fried)