Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marlboro Country Chicken Fried Steak (Country Fried) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marlboro Country Chicken Fried Steak (Country Fried)

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      Yee-haw! This is dang-good! I followed this exactly, except I didn't have evaporated milk, so I put the jalapeno sauce in a mixture of milk-egg and it still turned into the most glorious bit of deliciousness one could ask for. Perfection! The coating stayed on perfectly, and the round steak was so tender and juicy. I pounded the son - of - gun for a while in between plastic wrap with a hammer, pulling a bit of the meat so it turned tender of perfect for a coating. I made the gravy, a must for those in the Southern/Eastern part of the country. Thank you! April 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      OMG what a great recipe!!! The fried steak is great with and without the gravy but THE GRAVY IS SO SO SO FABULOUS!!!! I plan to use it on everything in fact we're having it on biscuits tonight! YYUUMMM!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      yumm yumm yumm! kept pretty much everything the same. except didnt have any evap milk so in place of that we used 2.5oz whipping cream (its all we had) and 2.5oz milk. liked the addition of green tabasco! we also tripple egg washed and breaded the steaks for a thicker breading. made awesome gravy from the drippings! so good and filling the both of us went into a food coma! lol thanks again MommyMakes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      I just made this tonight and it was delicious! I used 1 tsp of regular Tabasco instead of 1 Tbl of the green Tabasco ( I had none) and it turned out just right?not too spicy for my wife to eat, although I would've liked a bit more zip. This was better than many restaurant versions. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

    • on November 27, 2012

      Not bad for a non-Texan! Seriously, wonderful recipe. Thanks. But no gravy?! You're right, that is blasphemy. As a native Texan myself, transplanted to Colorado, CFS is, of course, my native food. We have lots of really good, lovingly competitive cooks in my family - even a couple of honest-to-God, fancy-pants chefs, so here's a CFS tip to all ya'll that will make all the difference. Surprisingly to some, unpreped round steak, no matter how high quality, is a real mistake. Always use cube steak. The difference is sure-fired, cain't miss!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Coming from a family of Texans, this is the BEST Chicken Fried Steak I have ever made or tasted. Sooooooo good. Comes out a beautiful golden brown, and the breading stays on the meat and not in the pan. Has more "flare" than the "regular" recipes. 10 STARS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      These turned out wonderful. I made these last night and my family loved them. The gravy turned out good, I did have to add more salt and pepper but otherwise followed the recipe. Thank you for sharing this great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe! My family LOVES it. I did not make the gravy from this recipe, as I have my own that I love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Thanks for posting- I can't wait to try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I have been looking for a really good chicken fried steak recipe, as it is not popular here in the northeast. So I decided to try this one. Very delicious, close to what I remember. I even made a believer out of my SO, who had thought me crazy up until he tried it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Husband was craving this so I found this recipe. Hit the spot. Was really tasty and the gravy was nicy and creamy. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This was very tasty! I actually ran out of the green Tabasco and used the Chipotle Tabasco instead and it turned out fantastic! Also, I used the remaining milk/tabasco mixture and more milk for the gravy. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      If I could have given this 10 stars, I would have. being a New Yorker living down South now with my boyfriend, I've had to learn a whole new way of cooking! I've tried several recipes of Chicken Fried Steak, but none are as good as this one. Thank you so much! Italianmomof2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Great recipe. I love Country Fried Steak in restaurants and have never made it from scratch. The breading came out just right and the steaks were still tender inside. IThe gravey I used was #193916 Easy Country Gravy. There were no leftovers! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

    • on October 20, 2008

      I have watched my dad may Chicken Fried Streak many times but until last week I had never made it or from scratch gravy. This recipe was really easy and it came out good. I didn't have tabasco so I used tapatio and I must mot have used enough because it didn't have quite the kick I wanted. My gravy was also a little too thick and bland. I will definitely be using this as a base again though. Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! I have tried this twice in the last couple of weeks. Awesome!! Great flavor and awesome texture. The key to any country fried steak, is to really cook the life out of the meat, so it's very, very tender. I keep each piece in the oven while the others are cooking, so they cook a little bit more. Also, it keeps the steaks warm, so I can make the gravy and sides! Absolute keeper! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I made this for my husband for Father's Day. I was worried because the last time I attempted chicken fried steak it was a DISASTER. I was so happy that the coating not only was perfect, but it tasted great! I used cubed steak that I pounded flatter. I also used red tabasco (only about 1 teaspoon) because I didn't have any green. I used a cream gravy mix instead of the milk gravy recipe. I don't fry foods that often, but I will most definitely use this one again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Great flavor. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marlboro Country Chicken Fried Steak (Country Fried)

    Serving Size: 1 (401 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 688.8
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    42%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 186.6 mg
    62%
    Sodium 814.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 56.4 g
    112%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites