Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mark's Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mark's Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2011

      Way too much flour for my taste. I would prolly sacrifice some of the thickness for less flour. Followed directions to a tee. Kinda bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      EXCELLENT! I never measure . I started off with way too much potatoes (3 1/2 cups ?) so I used the broth of 4 cans of chopped clams. I did not add water. I used celery salt instead of salt.

      I also added old bay seasoning. ( 1 TBSP ?)

      The result was very thick so I added a bottle of clam juice

      Perfect!

      I chose this recipe because the sodium content is way lower than other recipes posted. I thought it might be bland BUT I,m so glad I was wrong

      Thanks Laurel for posting Marks recipe for white chili! I hope he won!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      So yummy! Even my 8 year old daughter liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Easy to make and DELICIOUS! I've made this several times now. Tonight I used seafood stock in place of the water and fat free half and half. Turned out great as usual!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the veggies after boiling, so I didn't...seems to have worked out just fine...added about a teaspoon of Old Bay Seasoning and maybe a teaspoon of lemon juice...tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Very good, and easy to make. It came out a little bland for my tastes, but it was nothing that a little extra celery salt and pepper couldn't fix. I was a little wary of putting onions in (I hate onions with a passion) but they cooked down alright and actually ended up pretty good. Nice and creamy, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Replaced half-and-half with whole milk. Excellent soup. Will definitely make again. It was plenty thick so next time I'll replace whole milk with skim and maybe add a bit more butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Served at a party and everyone raved about it. Served the next day for a family dinner and got the same response.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Fantastic!!! I used fat free half n half and it was still creamy and thick and my family loved it!!! Served it in small whole grain bread bowls and side salads and it made a great meal. Reheated very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I moved from New England across the continent to northern BC, and let me tell you, this hits the spot when it comes to clam chowder cravings. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Very good I used milk instead of cream & still rich & creamy. I also added a little Old Bay seasoning. Will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Surprisingly good and creamy! Plus, it was easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Wonderful! My daughter and I made this recipe tonight and it was fun, easy and delicious! -- Cetta and Audrey (7 years old)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I've never made clam chowder before, just bought the canned stuff. This will be my recipe for Clam Chowder. I studied a lot of recipes before making this because I wanted to use what I had in the house. I really, really do like this. After the vege's sauteed & the fire was turned off under that pot I added some chopped green onions. Seems like here in Louisiana we always add chopped green onions to just about everything at the end of cooking. Anyway, after everything was put together I added 1 cup of chicken broth. To me It needed just a little something & not just salt. I had one 10 oz. & one 6 oz. can of clams in the house so that is what I used. This was easy to make but did take a little time because of having to be so careful with the white sauce. I also used fat free half & half. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was excellant! I used the left over broth from a clam bake that I had in place of the water. I used skim milk instead of the half and half. Also added some carrots and garlic. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Tried this on vacation and convinced my relatives that I can cook. Made it for a sick friend that likes seafood and got rave reviews. Myself...I think it just might be the best I ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This is really good and easy to make! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1 tsp. salt. Also, used whole wheat flour. It turned out great! Thanks for a great classic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Yum-O!!! I added turkey bacon and I used skim milk instead of half and half for a lower calorie chowder. It was a delicious and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This was Quick and WONDERFUL!!! My entire family loved it even my PICKY 10 year old!! Warming from top to bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Wow! Laurel this was so good...My dh was in heaven. We have found our new clam chowder recipe. My dh & I are from the east coast, our usual recipe is slightly different, not thick and creamy like your version. We absolutely loved this, I will probably add bacon, carrotes & peas to your recipe next time...(because its what we are use too) but will definitely follow your method and use all your ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful treat with us....a very happy mommy Kato...(Pac)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mark's Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.5
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    63%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 75.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 468.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites