Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marion's Michigan Sauce for Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marion's Michigan Sauce for Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2012

      This was a big hit served on top of grilled franks, cheese and chopped onions. I used lean ground turkey and cooked it in the crock pot as suggested. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Great hot dog chili sauce...we loved it...put over Smoked Cherry Brats and it was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      This is our new hot dog chili recipe! I've only ever made one other recipe but didn't care for it much and ended up with LOADS of it! I decided to try this recipe out with a quarter pound of ground beef that I siphoned off of taco night. With a slice of velveeta on the bottom, and a scoop of this sauce on top, I don't think I've ever eaten a better hot dog at home before : ) I'll definitely be making the whole recipe next time and freezing for easy use. This recipe may even manage to revive my attempt at serving chili cheese dogs as a Christmas tradition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      I was looking for something to add a little special taste to boring ol' chicken dogs for Memorial Day Weekend that didn't cost an arm and a leg. This is it! I did boil ground turkey to make the crumbles, but the flavor is out of this world! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I have been making this for almost 2 years for friends and family. Everyone that has had it, has loved it. When going to cook outs, this is what I am asked to bring. We love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This is great when you want to add something to hotdogs. It is so easy to make which makes it even better. We will be making this one a lot. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      If you use the red pepper flakes it is not too sweet. It is a mixture of sweet, hot and savory. The sauce thickened up after about 1 1/2 hrs. on med. heat for me. It worked perfectly well for our dogs and everyone LOVED them! I followed the recipe exactly and will be making another batch soon, as we are almost out. This is a keeper right here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I made this on 5/24/08 to go with hot dogs and tator tots. And since I didn't need the full amount,the recipe was cut in half.To save a little time I cooked the onions right along with the beef.Except for cutting the recipe in half the was followed exactly as written.But close to the end of cooking time, it wasn't as thick as we hoped so I added a little bit of cornstarch mixed with water and it was just fine.Also for a topping Velveeta Cheese Sauce in the Microwave was used and we had a very good meal. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      A keeper for sure, TRUE! This is a GREAT sauce for hot dogs too! On cold winter's day, this warms me! Thanks for sharing this TERRIFIC recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Wow! Love it! My DH had never had a chili dog and he absolutely loved this sauce. One son was eating it by the spoonful out of the pan, the other suggested adding cheese next time. It was a hit all around. A keeper for sure! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      just like i remember. just a hint for anyone making this........if you want your burger to be very small crumbles. boil it and you can drain it cool it and it crumbles really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This was outstanding! Made a double batch and the leftovers reheated were even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This came out really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      The secret ingredient (at least in Oswego) is ground cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      This was a very good topping for hot dogs and enjoyed by all. I did sample the goods while it was simmering and found it to be a bit too sweet for my taste. Also I was looking for more of a "chili" taste, so I added a tbsp of cumin and it complimented the mixture and gave the tast I was looking for. The next time I make this, I would limit or omit the sugar. Thank you Texas Poofy for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marion's Michigan Sauce for Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    48%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 378.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes