27 Reviews

I could barely wait to eat this. I (like the previous reviewer) didn't want to wait the full 24 hours, but did. I also added the full clove of garlic, (actually, swipped the open garlic clove on each tomato slice, before putting marinade on). The result, a wonderful, smooth tasting tomato, that I didn't want to share. But did. Absolutely, glorious! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* December 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holiday Tag Hosts December 17, 2009

The problem with the marinated dishes is the 24 hours waiting period. I ate half by the time was ready. I added the full clove of garlic and ate it with toasted bread. Can't wait for summer tomatoes as it's gonna taste even better. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 09, 2009

Delicious! I made these with fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes and it turned out wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for sharing. Made for Gimme 5 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 20, 2009

Delicious, wonderful flavors. I used a little more garlic than called for, love garlic. Made for Potluck tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn August 09, 2009

Wonderful healthy side and a great change from plain slide tomatoes. Made using Cabernet Sauvignon Wine Vinegar and dried basil (had to work and could not get to the farmers market). Served as a side to Annacia's Ham and Cheese Sandwiches. All I can say is what a wonderful combo, both dishes complement each other so well. DH like the tomatoes so well he asked if I could make some and leave in the frig for him to snack on. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 08, 2009

Really enjoyed the tartness in these tomatoes from the red wine vinegar. I used fresh basil- I would recommend always using fresh herbs with this dish, rather than dried. This is a recipe I'll certainly be using again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud August 05, 2009

Oh gosh we really enjoyed these tomatoes! I used one tablespoon of minced garlic with dried parsley and basil. Refrigerated over night and they were wonderful. Will make these again often this summer. Thank you breezermom for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for the Summer Spectacular 2009 in the game forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 17, 2009

Delicious way to serve fresh tomatoes! I only had time for about 8 hours of marinating but they were still terrific. I've got a couple of slices left which I will enjoy for lunch tomorrow - at that point they will have marinated the full 24 hours! :) Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof July 12, 2009

Wonderful on a hot summer day! I marinaded about 12 hrs, and the flavor was just right. Used sweet Vidalia onion, & fresh basil. My only change will be to cut back a bit on the oil/vinegar if my tomatos are very ripe & juicy. We will enjoy this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate June 25, 2009

Loved this simple way of preparing tomatoes. I served it as a side dish with yummy in season tomatoes and we loved it! Made for ZWT 5 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ June 14, 2009
Marinated Tomatoes for Your Salad (Or As a Side Dish!)