Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Tomatoes for Your Salad (Or As a Side Dish!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Tomatoes for Your Salad (Or As a Side Dish!)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2009

      Simply delicious! Tonight we had these with fried rice and chicken. Tomorrow I'll have what's left as a tomato sandwich. The flavour is reminiscent of bruschetta topping. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      Delicious! What a great way to use up the last of my garden tomatoes. I used basil infused olive oil, extra fresh basil, and red onions. We enjoyed this as a side dish with grilled steaks. This will definitely be my go to recipe when my garden has an overabundance of tomatoes. Thank you for sharing, breezermom! **Made for 2014 Football Pool**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      Refreshing delicious salad which works well as a side dish or on it's own. I added extra parsley and also added kalamata olives which worked very well. Will be enjoying this one for lunch tomorrow also. Thank you breezermom for a winner. Tagged it for Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Really really good. I cut down the salt and also the oil and vinegar to a tablespoon each, as it seemed like too much dressing. The end result was a great combination. We love our veggies, so the two of us ate this whole recipe. A definite new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      I made this recipe as written, altho I did "make it my own" in sml ways (see pic) that didn't alter the heart of the recipe. Served as a side-dish at a dinner party last nite, tomatoes are grown in hot houses yr-rd here in Iceland & are very popular. 1 of my guests was so fond of it that he kept relocating the serving tray it was on near to him so he could help himself to it easily. I love easy & make ahead fixes (esp when entertaining) & this was made on Wed to serve on Fri. As a matter of pers pref, I dislike the slimy seed section of tomatoes so I de-seeded them & cut them in thin bite-size wedges. I also added black olives & a bit of sugar to soften the vinegar flavour & satisfy 2 of DH's pers pref's. The finished product was well-rec'd by DH & our guests. Thx for pasting this recipe for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      What a great tasting side dish! When hubby says he likes it 2 times, I know it's a winner! I followed the recipe exactly except had to use dried parsley and upped the garlic to 1 whole clove. Made for Zaar's Newest Star Tag Game 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      My family & I eat a lot of White Rice, and I decided to cut it down to 1-2 days a week.
      In saying that I was looking for something easy, quick and that can replace our none rice days.
      My entire famliy think it's a great choice. I've made it as written the 1st three times, and have added cilantro to the mix too. Great by itself or on a wedge of lettuce. Can't wait for the tomatoes in our garden to be ready. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Delish! I marinated the tomatoes overnight and topped a mixed lettuce salad with them. I added a full clove of garlic and used fresh herbs for a great treat. Thanks for sharing breezer. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      ZWT Family Picks: Simple to prepare and full of flavor! Served along side olives, meats and cheeses!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I love it! I think I'll do this every single time I want tomatoes! I just wish I could give it 10 stars instead of just 5! as a side note, I added this to Tomato, Cucumber and Feta Salad, which worked very well in that recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I could barely wait to eat this. I (like the previous reviewer) didn't want to wait the full 24 hours, but did. I also added the full clove of garlic, (actually, swipped the open garlic clove on each tomato slice, before putting marinade on). The result, a wonderful, smooth tasting tomato, that I didn't want to share. But did. Absolutely, glorious! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* December 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      The problem with the marinated dishes is the 24 hours waiting period. I ate half by the time was ready. I added the full clove of garlic and ate it with toasted bread. Can't wait for summer tomatoes as it's gonna taste even better. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Delicious! I made these with fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes and it turned out wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for sharing. Made for Gimme 5 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Delicious, wonderful flavors. I used a little more garlic than called for, love garlic. Made for Potluck tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Wonderful healthy side and a great change from plain slide tomatoes. Made using Cabernet Sauvignon Wine Vinegar and dried basil (had to work and could not get to the farmers market). Served as a side to Annacia's Ham and Cheese Sandwiches. All I can say is what a wonderful combo, both dishes complement each other so well. DH like the tomatoes so well he asked if I could make some and leave in the frig for him to snack on. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Really enjoyed the tartness in these tomatoes from the red wine vinegar. I used fresh basil- I would recommend always using fresh herbs with this dish, rather than dried. This is a recipe I'll certainly be using again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Oh gosh we really enjoyed these tomatoes! I used one tablespoon of minced garlic with dried parsley and basil. Refrigerated over night and they were wonderful. Will make these again often this summer. Thank you breezermom for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for the Summer Spectacular 2009 in the game forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Delicious way to serve fresh tomatoes! I only had time for about 8 hours of marinating but they were still terrific. I've got a couple of slices left which I will enjoy for lunch tomorrow - at that point they will have marinated the full 24 hours! :) Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Wonderful on a hot summer day! I marinaded about 12 hrs, and the flavor was just right. Used sweet Vidalia onion, & fresh basil. My only change will be to cut back a bit on the oil/vinegar if my tomatos are very ripe & juicy. We will enjoy this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Loved this simple way of preparing tomatoes. I served it as a side dish with yummy in season tomatoes and we loved it! Made for ZWT 5 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Tomatoes for Your Salad (Or As a Side Dish!)

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.5
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    86%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 393.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes