27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simply delicious! Tonight we had these with fried rice and chicken. Tomorrow I'll have what's left as a tomato sandwich. The flavour is reminiscent of bruschetta topping. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 17, 2009

Delicious! What a great way to use up the last of my garden tomatoes. I used basil infused olive oil, extra fresh basil, and red onions. We enjoyed this as a side dish with grilled steaks. This will definitely be my go to recipe when my garden has an overabundance of tomatoes. Thank you for sharing, breezermom! **Made for 2014 Football Pool**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill November 12, 2014

Refreshing delicious salad which works well as a side dish or on it's own. I added extra parsley and also added kalamata olives which worked very well. Will be enjoying this one for lunch tomorrow also. Thank you breezermom for a winner. Tagged it for Everyday is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ForeverMama May 19, 2014

Really really good. I cut down the salt and also the oil and vinegar to a tablespoon each, as it seemed like too much dressing. The end result was a great combination. We love our veggies, so the two of us ate this whole recipe. A definite new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 20, 2013

I made this recipe as written, altho I did "make it my own" in sml ways (see pic) that didn't alter the heart of the recipe. Served as a side-dish at a dinner party last nite, tomatoes are grown in hot houses yr-rd here in Iceland & are very popular. 1 of my guests was so fond of it that he kept relocating the serving tray it was on near to him so he could help himself to it easily. I love easy & make ahead fixes (esp when entertaining) & this was made on Wed to serve on Fri. As a matter of pers pref, I dislike the slimy seed section of tomatoes so I de-seeded them & cut them in thin bite-size wedges. I also added black olives & a bit of sugar to soften the vinegar flavour & satisfy 2 of DH's pers pref's. The finished product was well-rec'd by DH & our guests. Thx for pasting this recipe for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 15, 2012

What a great tasting side dish! When hubby says he likes it 2 times, I know it's a winner! I followed the recipe exactly except had to use dried parsley and upped the garlic to 1 whole clove. Made for Zaar's Newest Star Tag Game 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 10, 2012

My family & I eat a lot of White Rice, and I decided to cut it down to 1-2 days a week.
In saying that I was looking for something easy, quick and that can replace our none rice days.
My entire famliy think it's a great choice. I've made it as written the 1st three times, and have added cilantro to the mix too. Great by itself or on a wedge of lettuce. Can't wait for the tomatoes in our garden to be ready. Yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pineapple Family April 11, 2011

Delish! I marinated the tomatoes overnight and topped a mixed lettuce salad with them. I added a full clove of garlic and used fresh herbs for a great treat. Thanks for sharing breezer. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 20, 2010

ZWT Family Picks: Simple to prepare and full of flavor! Served along side olives, meats and cheeses!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 28, 2010

Absolutely delicious! I love it! I think I'll do this every single time I want tomatoes! I just wish I could give it 10 stars instead of just 5! as a side note, I added this to Tomato, Cucumber and Feta Salad, which worked very well in that recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 09, 2010
Marinated Tomatoes for Your Salad (Or As a Side Dish!)