27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pfil - You're a freakin' genius! Even my husband had to admit that this is THE GREATEST! Thank you for the (freezing) tip. I used it with Asian ginger-garlic-sesame-soy sauce (fish sauce, I think). It was masterful! SallyThatsWho

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SallyThatsWho June 06, 2009

This was a huge disappointment. I love tofu and don't have a problem with the texture, so maybe that's why I didn't like it-- I don't happen to hate tofu! I was intrigued by the thought of a new tofu recipe and followed the recipe exactly, froze and then defrosted the extra-firm tofu, pressed it in clean dishtowels for an hour with a 25-lb weight and then marinated it in a peanut satay sauce/marinade overnight and it still came out a soggy waste of perfectly good tofu that didn't even taste very good. I will not be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bhujia March 04, 2010

Has anyone thought about the toxin risk of boiling the tofu in it's PLASTIC packaging?? I don't think they make BPA free tofu packaging yet. I would NOT recommend boiling or putting any food wrapped in plastic in any kind of hot water (I wouldn't store it in plastic either) I also don't understand the greatness about this recipe seeing that the flavor is a about your own favorite marinade anyhow. If you like your marinade, you are bound to like this dish. I'd recommend skipping the freezing and thawing and just go straight to the marinade and saute process.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelleedali February 27, 2009

I didn't find that this method significantly improved the texture of the tofu. It was firm right up until cooking, but soggy again by the time it was cool enough to be eaten. My family complained as much as ever, so considering all the extra effort this method is, with the freezing and boiling, I won't be trying it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS January 04, 2010

This was soo delicious, even smelled like chicken when frying!! The freezing did help, I marinated with spicy schezuan sauce for 5 hours and added peppers, onions and broccli. It was amazing. This will be a staple from now on!! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lives to Eat May 27, 2009

In response to another reviewer, I agree that boiling the tofu in it's plastic is a little sketchy, BUT the freezing is an important step! It really changes the texture of the tofu, making it more hearty and almost spongy, rather than silky and crumbly. I freeze my tofu in it's package and defrost under warm water in the sink (or, if I have extra time, in the fridge).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugar fix April 14, 2009

Very yummy! I'd never had tofu this way, but this recipe is here to stay. I did take Bergy's advice and left it boil for 15 mins. It didn't quite have the texture of chicken, but I could have eaten the whole thing by myself none the less. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medieval wench January 13, 2009

I like tofu and I really didn't care for this dish. I thought it was boring and the texture was not very nice at all. I definitely squeezed all the water out (for 45min), so I'm not sure why my husband and I disliked it so much. Unfortunately I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzy Love March 17, 2008

mmm- didn't know i liked tofu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julure February 21, 2008

This recipe was really easy and turned out great! I've always loved how tofu takes on the flavor of what you're cooking it in, and I never thought about marinading it. I think that next time I make it i'll try using a different marinade because the one I used made the tofu more salty after reheating it. And the name alone is what made me make it in the first place, I even got some co-workers to try some of it and they said that they couldn't believe they were eating tofu! So the name holds true!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inklefritz19 February 15, 2008
Marinated Tofu for Meat-Eaters Who Hate Tofu