Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Tofu for Meat-Eaters Who Hate Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Tofu for Meat-Eaters Who Hate Tofu

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2009

      Pfil - You're a freakin' genius! Even my husband had to admit that this is THE GREATEST! Thank you for the (freezing) tip. I used it with Asian ginger-garlic-sesame-soy sauce (fish sauce, I think). It was masterful! SallyThatsWho

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was a huge disappointment. I love tofu and don't have a problem with the texture, so maybe that's why I didn't like it-- I don't happen to hate tofu! I was intrigued by the thought of a new tofu recipe and followed the recipe exactly, froze and then defrosted the extra-firm tofu, pressed it in clean dishtowels for an hour with a 25-lb weight and then marinated it in a peanut satay sauce/marinade overnight and it still came out a soggy waste of perfectly good tofu that didn't even taste very good. I will not be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Has anyone thought about the toxin risk of boiling the tofu in it's PLASTIC packaging?? I don't think they make BPA free tofu packaging yet. I would NOT recommend boiling or putting any food wrapped in plastic in any kind of hot water (I wouldn't store it in plastic either) I also don't understand the greatness about this recipe seeing that the flavor is a about your own favorite marinade anyhow. If you like your marinade, you are bound to like this dish. I'd recommend skipping the freezing and thawing and just go straight to the marinade and saute process.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I didn't find that this method significantly improved the texture of the tofu. It was firm right up until cooking, but soggy again by the time it was cool enough to be eaten. My family complained as much as ever, so considering all the extra effort this method is, with the freezing and boiling, I won't be trying it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This was soo delicious, even smelled like chicken when frying!! The freezing did help, I marinated with spicy schezuan sauce for 5 hours and added peppers, onions and broccli. It was amazing. This will be a staple from now on!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      In response to another reviewer, I agree that boiling the tofu in it's plastic is a little sketchy, BUT the freezing is an important step! It really changes the texture of the tofu, making it more hearty and almost spongy, rather than silky and crumbly. I freeze my tofu in it's package and defrost under warm water in the sink (or, if I have extra time, in the fridge).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very yummy! I'd never had tofu this way, but this recipe is here to stay. I did take Bergy's advice and left it boil for 15 mins. It didn't quite have the texture of chicken, but I could have eaten the whole thing by myself none the less. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I like tofu and I really didn't care for this dish. I thought it was boring and the texture was not very nice at all. I definitely squeezed all the water out (for 45min), so I'm not sure why my husband and I disliked it so much. Unfortunately I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      mmm- didn't know i liked tofu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This recipe was really easy and turned out great! I've always loved how tofu takes on the flavor of what you're cooking it in, and I never thought about marinading it. I think that next time I make it i'll try using a different marinade because the one I used made the tofu more salty after reheating it. And the name alone is what made me make it in the first place, I even got some co-workers to try some of it and they said that they couldn't believe they were eating tofu! So the name holds true!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I didn't notice a difference from freezing the tofu, but getting the excess liquid out really enhances the texture. I made a marinade of ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil and some spices, and I have to say, it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This was delicious. Freezing it really gave it a great texture, plus when I tossed the package of tofu in the freezer it was nice to know that i didn't have to worry about it going bad in the fridge in case I didn't make it right away. I made it with a lovely marinade of soy sauce, seseame oil, rice vinegar, splenda, and mirin. It soaked right into the tofu once i had pressed the remaining moisture from the tofu block. I served it over rice with extra sauce and it was a big hit. I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I cannot believe how much it tastes like chicken/fish. I used chicken-type seasonings, and it's so much like chicken it almost made me sick. My non-veggie husband devoured it, and we both agree we'll be making it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      My family didn't like it very much. Maybe the marinade I used wasn't good for tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      He likes it! Mikey likes it! I was quite apprehensive over making any tofu recipe, as we both had bad experiences with it. But this was great! I followed the instructions to the letter, and marinated it in a bottled Sesame-Ginger dressing with a healthy shake of red pepper flakes added. Since I wanted to be sure it soaked up a lot of flavor, I marinated it for about 24 hours. I put it in a zip top bag to flour, just added about 1/4 cup of flour and shook. No problems. DH took a tentative bite, nodded, and agreed that it was quite tasty. I served it with vegetable fried rice. I'll definitely use this method again, trying different marinades. Thanks, Pfil!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This is my first attempt at tofu. My husband grew up on a Dairy farm and a meal isn't complete without meat. BUT... this was a giant hit at our house. My 2 kids absolutely loved it, and even my dh said that I can make it again....his form of the highest compliment. I used a zesty herb and garlic marinade and ended up marinading it for 24 hours since dinner plans were changed the night before. It is excellent. Can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I'm rating this 4 stars because while I just thought it was ok, my dh seemed to really like it. I think it was probably me. I didn't notice I was to cut into cubes before marinating, so I marinated it in 2 blocks. I think the taste would have been better if it had been in cubes surrounded by the marinade. I also had trouble getting it crisp enough, the flour and bits of marinade came off and stuck to the pan. I fried it in 2 batches, removing the pan from heat and scraping off the stuck stuff and then adding more oil and frying the rest. I used peanut oil and a spicy Jamaican BBQ and Dipping Sauce from Nanny's Jamaican Kitchen. I served it with rice (both white and brown). My dh really liked it and surprisingly the spicy sauce..as he doesn't usually care for spicy food. So I will fix it again and I think I'll do better with it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      It was pretty good, and I'll probably make it again. The crispy texture on the outside was nice, and balanced the soft texture on the inside. I think I would marinate it longer, maybe several hours or overnight, so the flavor penetrates deeper. I thought the flour dusting was kind of a pain, but probably an issue that can be solved with better tools.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I didn't do the freezing thing, because DH and I love tofu anyway. I used regular BBQ sauce from the store and marinated for 30 minutes. I then placed all the tofu out on a cutting board in a single layer to dust them with flour, covered with wax paper, flipped the whole thing and dusted the other side. I fried batches of about 12 cubes at a time in 1 tsp of oil. It took a little while, but it was worth the crispy outter layer with BBQ flavor on the inside. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      not bad. Freezing and boiling does make it more chewy but I don't mind it either way. It's great to have a technique to use for frozen tofu though. Personally it didn't make much difference to me then doing the same thing with fresh tofu. I will use it again for frozen tofu. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Tofu for Meat-Eaters Who Hate Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.7
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    44%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    marinade

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes