13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had 2½ pounds of extra large shrimp, and I had to almost triple the marinade recipe. Also, I added lemon juice and lots of garlic powder to the steaming water. Then I took them to a potluck birthday party and they were a huge hit. I could probably have gotten away with SELLING your recipe!!!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® January 07, 2002

I made this recipe for a party and everyone raved. I had 2 lbs (35 to 40 per pound)of shrimp and had to double the recipe. I also cut the hot sauce in half but I don't think I really would have had to do this because it wasn't that spicy. I made it the night before which enhanced the flavor even more and helped ease some of the work the day of the party. This recipe will surely be included in most of the parties that I give from now on.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen From Michigan July 25, 2002

very easy recipe, especially great on a hot day. wonderful flavor. everyone wanted the recipe.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy 8332 July 25, 2002

These were great Dorothy. I did not have a lemon on hand so I used balsamic vinegar as the acid and, believe it or not, it was fantastic. I noted this on the recipe and I doubt I'll make this with lemon. Try it. . . . you'll like it!! Thanks again Dorothy.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo December 01, 2002

This is fabulous! I bought already cooked, shelled and deveined shrimp and then made this great marinade. Everyone raved! It reminded me a Mee Grob - a Thai dish we all love. Not too spicy - just flavorful. Tastes like it is alot more trouble than it is - gotta love that.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 15, 2003

All I can say about this one is "YUM"!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 October 24, 2002

It seems I'm the only one who is not giving this a 5 star rating. We were very disappointed in this. I followed the recipe exactly and marinaded it overnight and into the next afternoon. It's not terrible or anything. It was edible,just way too subtle for our tastes. I added more seafood sauce (spicy) and it still didn't do it. When we ate it, we sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on it. We would have been happier to just dip plain cooked shrimp in cocktail sauce. I'll put the leftovers in a salad or something, but I won't make this again. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronamay June 30, 2003

This delicious recipe saved my life---welllll, maybe not my life, but it certainly rescued an expensive five pounds of large, beautiful shrimp. My husband offered to boil them last night, but...FORGOT TO PUT SHRIMP BOIL SEASONING IN! I mean...he salted the water, even remembered to add lemon juice, but...no seasoning. So, obviously, emergency measures were necessary. We let them cool, I made him peel them all (his punishment:):), and I mixed up this marinade. It was delicious right off the spoon (yes, I'm guilty of spoon-lickin') and once the flavors had soaked into the shrimp, oh. mamma mia! I did think I needed more marinade, so I put in a bit of white wine vinegar. And having no green onions to hand, I tossed in the last of my summer basil, chopped, mainly for appearance (need some green bits in there) and that worked well. Will make this again, no doubt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante October 23, 2012

This is a great appetizer or dish to take to a party. I made this last year for a christmas party, everybody commented on how good it was. I'm making it again this year !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill#2395 December 10, 2010

Great marinade. Very simple to make. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 24, 2009
Marinated Shrimp