15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED IT! Excellent, tasty, tender, and juicy rib eyes! I used this for 3 rib eyes, bone-in, and marinated for about 8 hours. I used shallots instead of the red onion, used cider vinegar, used only 1 tablespoon light soy sauce and added 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, and also added 2 teaspoons brown sugar. I will definitely use this again, one of the best! I didn't even bother with the reserved sauce, didn't need it! Thank you for posting, Nimz!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 May 10, 2010

started the marinating process while steaks were still frozen. I didnt poke holes in them. they were awesome...great flavour though out the steaks.. didn't serve with the extra sauce, I think it would have been too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u August 04, 2011

Great marinade! DH was thrilled. I subbed NY strips for the rib eyes and let them marinate overnight. Grilled to medium rare. Fantastic and simple to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 22, 2009

These got mixed reviews at my house. I really enjoyed these but hubby wasn't crazy about them. I doubled this recipe for my family of four. I marinated them for about eight hours. I cooked them on the grill even though it was 20 degrees outside. I followed the recipe exactly as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 26, 2008

Oh my!!! This is one tasty ribeye, it was also nice and tender!! I cut this recipe to serve one ribeye and followed exactly as written except it only marinated for about 9-10 hours. I would also like to try this on other types of steak, such as flank or sirloin for larger group. I used to cut out recipes from TOH magazines, and this is one I had cut out to try, but hadn't yet, and when I went to post here, you already had it posted. Thanks Nimz for posting this awesome marinade. Made for your win in football pool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 31, 2008

Nimzie ~ my oh my is all my DH could say while eating his steak. Makes for a very tender and juicy steak. I loved the flavor of the marinade in each bite. Marinaded for 8 hours before grilling. Used cider vinegar, no sodium bouillon granules & 3 cloves garlic. This will be a standby recipe for me now with marinading our steaks. Made as a Pay It Forward in the SCC Pet thread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 30, 2008

Made this for "Father's Day" ~ and what a treat it was! So eay as peezy to put together. I soaked our wonderful "Rib Eyes" in the marinade overnight. Used the whole recipe and it worked out fabulous. I really love the use of soy sauce ~ as I would of not thought to use this for steaks. Very, very tender and I found this to be a highlight of the evening. I do have a gas grill~ however; I have a charcoal grill ~ and I was amazed. Oh so yummy! Will use this a lot on the farm. Thanks, Nimz~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 19, 2008

This is wonderful marinade. I reduced the recipe to 1 serving as DH and I each had 1/2 half of a rib eye that was at least a pound. There was more than enough! after marinating the steak for about 28 hours I cooked it to med-rare in the broiler. DH and I have agreed to have this in the summer when we can use the outdoor grill. The steak was very moist and utterly delicious. Loved the garlic! I would also highly recommend that that the remaining marinade be discarded as it's not safe to use after the blood and bacteria from the meat gotten into it from the marinading process (food safe course for opening the restaurant). Make some extra if you wish to use it as a sauce or set some aside before meat touches it as this recipe makes a generous amount. Thanks so much Nimz for a real treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 26, 2008

In the receipe description it says great for beef, so I used on an inside round roast. The roast was delicious. I realized after that I had not pierced the meat before I marinated. I will next time no matter what type of beef used. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Night Owl October 29, 2007

My BF usually likes his meat without marinade. But he was willing to try this one. And he found it delicious. I can't believe how delicious it was. I'll have to do that again soon. Thanks Nimz :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 22, 2007
Marinated Rib Eyes