Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Onions

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2002

      These are a fabulous addition to any meat. I let them sit to room temperature and served them on top of grilled prime rib steaks, better than sauteed onions for the summer. Good on roast beef sandwich. A great idea for serving at BBQ's and potlucks. They would be good for sandwiches, steaks, burgers, salads, chicken, chops, plain etc... A great easy recipe and very versitile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Made the onions, left them to marinate for a week, served them with almost any type of food, a second jar is in the making!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      These are sooo yummy on BBQ pork sandwiches! I also put them on my turkey sandwiches for lunch, and it's just AWESOME!! And, yes, I must admit..I am guilty of eating them straight from the container:) I also added a clove or two of minced fresh garlic (can't get enough)!! Definite keeper in my book!! Thanks so much for the great recipe! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      These little babies are a taste sensation! We put them on our burgers last night and the mmm's going around the table made it sound like a yoga class! These will transport you! I can't wait to try them on bbq sandwiches, in wraps, salads...you name it! They are so easy to make...the hard part is waiting the 24 hour marinating time! This is one little gem of a recipe. It is one of those subtle tastes that can transform for a whole meal! Thanks Miller for sharing this with us all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      I mixed this up and let it blend overnight. They were wonderful atop the steaks for dinner. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      These onions are flavorful and crisp. My mom used to marinate onions in red wine vinegar, so I used that. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      These were SO YUMMY!! I made them for a BBQ I was having and everyone loved them on their brugers, hot dogs and salad. Thanks for sharing they were a HUGE hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      VERY good on sandwiches. I would definitely make these again and not necessarily choose vidalia onions. Any onion would probably be good. Next time I think I will try this with olive oil. My husband thought these were "tremendous".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      These onions were really good! I enjoyed them with black beans and rice. I used extra virgin oil and redwine vinegar beause that is what I had on hand. I'm sure these onions would be delicious on a sandwich as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      These are REALLY good! I tries them after buying a big bag of onions at Costco ... and didn't realize how many onions there were. (!) So, I tried this. I have had SO many people ask me about them -- I put them on sandwiches, salads and just eat them! The marinade took away the bitterness some onions have and it also kept their crunch! I now keep a big tupperware container of them in the fridge, and have shared this recipe with MANY people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      These are very good. We eat them all the time now with everything. I espcially love them on a salad and on hamburgers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Positively delish! They truly do go with just about any type of food. These scrumptious onions are going to be a permanent fixture in my fridge! I was out of white vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar and I also added a couple shakes of crushed red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      These onions are great. They marinated for a couple of days and I used them uncooked and cooked. Definately will be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      I absolutely adore onion, so I might be a little biased, but this recipe is perfect. What a gently different way to serve onion. The possibilities are ENDLESS. I served on top of baked chicken, on a slice of (Chicago-style) deep-dish pizza, in a sandwich wrap, and plain (gasp!), out of the jar. - And this was all within the first day of opening the jar - which I let marinate for 2 days. (My breath may not be the best) Soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      So good, so easy. Hard to stop myself from eating them right out of the container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      These are awesome!!I used rice wine vinegar flavored with basil because I was out of white and it worked out perfectly.Serving these for my 4th of July BBQ,cannot wait to eat them tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      Wow these were great....tested these early this week for my baby's baptism this Saturday and I will definitely be making them...thank you, excellent taste, goes well with any meat, we even had them on hamburgers this week. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      Nice touch to any meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.3
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    87%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites