27 Reviews

If I wasn't already in stinky cheese rehab, I'm on my way there now! This was divine! The blue cheese schmear is so amazing -- I've found myself making it for other meats as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ingy October 05, 2006

We loved the marinade (4 hours) and Schmear. I've decided I am not a fan of flank steaks, they are too iffy and rarely turn out as tender as I would like. I cooked on a stovetop grill pan and they did turn out pretty well. An outdoor grill would be best but unfortunately the weather did not cooperate. This marinade & Schmear would be great on any steak. Served with sautéed mushrooms, sautéed haricot verts, baked potatoes and buttered egg noodles for the tater haters. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 25, 2013

I used NY strips and this was excellent. So nice and easy. I did not grill the steaks but cooked in a cast iron skillet because it was too cold out. Yummy. Loved the schmear. I do again. Thank you. P.S. I had extra schmear left over and used it on toast. So good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 April 11, 2013

I made this tonight. DH rated it 3.5 stars but since this is not an option I rounded up. I used about 1.22 pounds of steak and have plenty leftover for salads tomorrow night and a steak sandwich for DH tomorrow.
This was great. I only marinated for about 3 hours because that's all the time I had. So it may have ranked higher if I had marinated for the time specified. I served on top of baby greens with scalloped potatoes. Also, I didn't have time or ingredients tonight to make the schmear so I just topped with gorgonzola (what I had on hand). Over all really good and I would make it again

Thanks kitchen guy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Romano-Clarke February 07, 2012

This was SO good! The meat is so tender and tasty. I've also done the recipe with striploin steaks and it's just as delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenTheMiltch July 10, 2011

We made this for Father's day and totally loved it. My 10-year-old niece and 2-year-old daughter both loved it and we did add the horseradish. To be honest, as I was eating it, I didn't even notice the horseradish. This is definitely going in our favorites file. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa June 20, 2011

Amazing! I have made hundredes of recipes from food.com and this is by far in the top 5. So easy and tasteful. I made this and left to run an errand and my fiance called me to tell me how fantastic it was. He could not even wait the 5 min for me to get home to tell me. He said it was the best piece of meat he has had in a long time and I agree. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook February 15, 2011

This was incredibly delicious!!! Made it for my parents, husband, daughter and friends and all the reviews were outstanding!!! I marinated my steaks for 24 hours and followed all of the cooking instructions, including using fresh herbs in the Schmear. Fantastic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizabeth June 21, 2010

I added 1 Tablespoon of garlic to the schmear and it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brooke December 06, 2009
Marinated Flank Steak With Blue Cheese Schmear