9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I heartily recommend using freshly squeezed lemon juice for this dish; it is sooo tasty. I also used the soft little frands (is that the word?) that grow at the top of the plant. They look like dill (they don't taste like it) and are wonderful. This salad also sits well overnight, so is a good make-ahead.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Chana February 27, 2006

This was light and refreshing. I found it a tiny bit too oily for my taste -- I will reduce the olive oil next time and probably double the lemon for my own tastes. This is my new favorite fennel recipe -- it's a keeper. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FinallyGrowingUp October 27, 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed this simple yet delicious combination. I refrigerated this during the two hour marination time and the result was a cool, crunchy salad. I served this with a very spicy curry and the two went perfectly together. Thanks for posting !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx November 21, 2004

Delicious made as is, I adore fennel & thank you for sharing this lovely, simple recipe. I ate some of it during the marinating time & loved the crisp texture. While I was in the other room DH threw the rest on the bbq because he misunderstood me. Just a minute or two resulted in lovely caramelised fennel & a warm salad, well, I liked it anyway :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSPheonix October 10, 2007

Very light and yummy! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom December 27, 2014

Wow. Simple and amazing. I swapped the oil and lemon quantities, was perfect. Also used the crisp stalks as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudika June 26, 2011

I was delighted to find fresh fennel in the grocery store today. It was a little pricey and a tad wilted, but I took the plunge. Turns out that fennel, like celery and broccoli, will take on water and perk up if you give it a fresh cut on the bottom! So after crisping it up, I used my mandolin slicer and my sharpest knife for the stray pieces and dressed it. Tripled the lemon, halved the oil. Really great!!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB April 30, 2010

So glad I remembered to review this.. I am not a huge fan of fennel but honestly, prepared this simple way, it is divine! Thanks so much for sharing !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwiwife December 06, 2009

Mixed reactions here - I really enjoyed this, Dave didn't but I'm the one that writes the reviews ;) I found this very refreshing especially after a very hot summer day. I think this would be excellent topped on grilled fish. Definitely will be making again for myself. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 02, 2006
Marinated Fennel