Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Cucumbers, Onions, and Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Cucumbers, Onions, and Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2013

      My dad used to make this. My husband would eat himself SICK on this. I've been looking for a similar recipe and this seems to be it. My dad would save the marinade and just continue to add the veggies to it. It just got better and better. This year I have my own cukes and tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe. I don't have my dad anymore to consult, so I appreciate the help.<br/>Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      MY HUSBAND RONNIE JUST LOVES CUCUMBERS!!!! Sometimes I tell him, "your love for cucumbers ... that aint right ... " this dish is so good though it got me stumblin lookin for the leftovers in the fridge! next time my sister comes to visit i'm going to make it for her, might even raise her eyebrows. give this dish 2 cucumbers! a lil ranch would make it even better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Family loved this recipe! We had it last night with 4th of July Grilled Salmon (4th of July Grilled Salmon *or Chicken!*.) My hubby doesn't like cukes, so I made it with zucchini instead. Tasted just as good as when I made it with the cukes. What a wonderful, low cal, low cholesterol meal for a hot Summer day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      This was such an easy salad and had great results. I usually would make mine with Italian dressing but it was always so blahhh. Living in New Jersey we have the best cucumbers and tomatoes in the summer and this will be the only way I prepare this salad from now on! I also skipped the mint because I didn't have any and it still came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This was very good. I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I reduced the water by half. I will probably use more vinegar next time and a little more mint. I layered mine and poured the marinade over all. It was pretty in the jars. I'll post a picture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Delicious dish! I substituted green onions because I had lots to use up, and omitted the mint. I will make this many times. Thanks, mOm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Everyone in my family has made these for as long as I can remember. We use fresh parsley instead of mint. Great summer side salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2015

      So easy and so delicious. I used the small Lebanese cukes and cherry tomatoes so it would hold shape for a large party, slightly less onion and a lot less water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      Made this tonight for dinner. I didnt let it set for 2 hours as i was short on time, added a little less sugar and used balsamic vinegar cause we love it. My 5 year-old is on her second helping. I served it with a watermelon salad and a slice of leftover pizza (she asked for) pizza was left aside while she gobbled this up....will definitely be making it again and again! Easy to make and my daughter sais is scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      so fresh and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      I have made this for years with just cucumbers and onions - and a little less sugar. Also, I sometimes add dill weed to taste which is a nice change. Recently have been adding the tomatoes and it is delicious too. Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper makes the perfect finishing touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      Great recipe, super easy! My husband does not eat tomatoes, so I used banana peppers instead- it was awesome! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      This is a great recipe to use all the wonderful summer tomatoes and cucumbers! All I had on hand was balsamic vinegar........turned out fantastic! So easy and delicious. Will be making this again and again. Addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      I put the maranaid ingredients into a sauce pan, brought it to a high simmer. Shut it off and when it got room temp I made the salad. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      try adding feta cheese, ham and black olive slices to this. Turns a salad... into a meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      This was great. We tweaked it a bit though. 50/50 red wine vinegar and regular white vinegar. 1 tsp of sugar instead of the 1/4cup and we added dill. I could easily eat this all week. giving it 4 stars because the oil separates into globs over night in the fridge so it looks wierd but taste wise it just gets better and better the longer it sits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      The only substitution I made was adding 1/4 virgin coconut oil and 3/4 virgin olive oil. Used dried dill instead of mint.Was absolutely fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      Thank you for peeling the cucumbers. so many times I have asked for the cucs to be peeled prior to serving and I get the big eye roll. Unpeeled cucumbers are a result of laziness, I do not want to hear from a 20 year old about the nutrition in cucumber peel. True in juicing crappy in a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      I grew up on fresh garden salads like this (mostly cucumber and onion in vinegar). I have made similar salads in the past with basil and thought the mint was a nice change of pace - my husband and son liked it as well. I am going to make it again to take to a July 4th cookout and am going to add fresh mozzarella to it. I cut back to half the recommended water and half the salt and there was plenty of marinade. I also used English cucumbers because they don't have a lot of seeds and I used a combo of cider vinegar and red wine vinegar. It was quick and easy and will likely become a regular go-to recipe for me for a summer side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      My mom used to make something similar and I loved it. So I tried this recipe with a few tiny changes. I picked fresh and combined cucumbers, tomatoes, onions with tiny amount of spearmint and parsley from the garden. I didn't peel the cucumbers. I used Brags apple cider vinegar, mineral water, raw sugar, 1/4 extra virgin organic coconut oil to 3/4 organic olive oil, fresh ground pepper and Himalayan salt. Yummy! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Cucumbers, Onions, and Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.0
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    53%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 783.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    52%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes