8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful light side dish. I kept the onion and green pepper on the large size by just slicing them. (based on other reviewers suggestion). I love the sweetness of this dish. It was perfect, not overly sweet and just a touch of tartness. I did cut the recipe in half and put everything (after the 4 hr cooling time) in a large jar and let it sit for 48 hrs in the refrigerator. The cucumber added to the liquid and helped marinate them even more. Thanks for posting. Made for Spring PAC 2009 :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 10, 2009

Really nice cucumber salad. I made this earlier today after a visit to my garden. I used orange bell peppers and a red onion. I also kept them is slivers rather than chop them. Loved that I didn't feel like I was eating a bowl of Bread and Butter pickles, some cucumber salads are simply to sweet and soggy for me to enjoy. This one had great crunch! There's enough left to go with dinner tonight, if not I spied another cuke out there and will simply slice it up and add it to the juice left over.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's August 05, 2014

I'm diabetic and I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and it turned out fantastic. Really, really yummers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rabbit_stew June 26, 2012

Beautiful! I thought the amount of sugar might have been a bit much for my tastes but it was perfect and great blend of sweet & sour. Only change I made was not to peel the cucumbers because I quite enjoy the skin

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J February 19, 2011

These are just so good--sweet, but not too sweet. I didn't finely chop either the peppers or onions, just leaving them in smaller slices.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 August 11, 2007

Delicious cucumber salad that I thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 28, 2006

Another superb cucumber salad to add to my groing collection. I used Splenda instead of sugar, adding it after the salt, celery seed and vinegar had a chance to simmer. My only change would be to make the onion and pepper bites a bit bigger as they were just as yummy as the cukes and we wanted to eat them as well. Perhaps beingin thinly sliced would have made that easier. Thanks Elmotoo!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 20, 2006

You're right - there are like almost pickles, with great flavor. I was afraid it was not enough liquid, so I doubled the vinegar and celery seed (they still weren't submerged, so I stirred them often, and that seemed to work). I also added some fresh dill and left out the sugar (personal preference). They were really good, reminiscent of homemade pickles, one of my favorites, Segura Pickles. These were perfect after about 2 hours in the marinade, 24 hours later they were very pickley (maybe overly so, but still very good). The cucumbers were my favorite part of this - next time I would leave the other veggies out. I think this recipe could easily serve 2-3 times as many people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 29, 2013
Marinated Cucumbers