56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best vinegar-based cole slaw I have ever run across. We ate the left overs a few days later and it was just as good (if not better).

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R September 25, 2002

I only did 1/2 the recipe because I knew the kids wouldn't eat it. This was very good. Nice change from traditional cole slaw. We used it on top of our hotdogs when camping and it was good. I will be making this again--a good recipe for potlucks. Thanks for posting your recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 August 19, 2002

Delish! Very tart and tasty. I liked it the next day and days after as the flavor just kept getting better. I'll make this again. UPDATE: made this for a huge gathering with brats in beer and German potato salad. Guests piled their brats with this and were amazed. I made a double batch and was glad I did! Everyone raved about this delicious slaw. Merlot, this is the bomb!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy October 12, 2009

This is the coleslaw recipe I have been looking for for ages. I am sooooo happy to have found it. First time I made it just as stated and the second time (two days later) I tweaked it just a little bit. Used olive oil instead of canola, natural vinegar instead of cider, cut down the salt to one tablespoon, the sugar to 2/4+1/8 cup and added one teaspoon caraway seeds. After a couple of hours in the fridge (after marinating on the counter top, this is indeed probably the secret to this recipe), I drained the slaw in a colander. This is a very, very good recipe and the slaw will be staple for us. Thank you so much for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo July 11, 2009

This was good, and had a great taste to it. I was worried I had to much marinade so I used 3 bags of cole slaw and still had pleanty of liquid. I think next time I will most definitely cut down on the marinade only because of my personal preference I don't like my cole slaw too drenched. Thanks, everyone did enjoy this.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH August 05, 2002

Delicious tasting slaw! I used seasoned rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar so I cut down on the sugar. I also used canola oil.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 24, 2012

It's very rare for my DH to rate anything more than 3 star but he gave this a 6! I halfed the recipe since it's just us but I know I'll make a lot more next time! I used Broccoli Slaw Mix, Extra virgin olive oil (didn't have any canola) and added a generous sprinkle of celery seed to the slaw mix prior to the dressing because we like it. Thank you for sharing this soon to be staple for the summer! I'm going to try using Splenda next time like another reviewer tried and I hope it's as good! We really enjoyed this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete May 13, 2009

I used canola oil, as it's better for you. We really liked this for a change to the usual mayo type slaw. I alternate between the two and this is always enjoyed!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen April 11, 2009

This is one delicious coleslaw, and one I will be making again and again! The longer you let it marinade the better it tastes!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids April 23, 2009

I prepared a half recipe and it was delicious. So good, in fact, that I couldn't stop tasting it while it marinated! I've always made creamy coleslaw in the past, but I'll make this again and again! I forgot that even just a little red cabbage bleeds with this dressing over time - no change in taste, but it's not so pretty to look at pink slaw, so I'll check the mix more closely next time. Thanks so much for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja February 22, 2009
Marinated Coleslaw