Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2013

      This is so good. I didnt change anything except doing a half recipe. Even my toddler loved it. Next time I will probably drain it after it has sat overnight, there was a lot of liquid...Edit- ran out of canola oil, so I did half EVOO, and it didnt really change the flavor much. I think next time I will do just Olive oil to make it healthier. After letting it sit overnight, I drained some of the liquid and it was perfect. Definitely a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Great flavor, even just a couple of hours later when I sampled. Hubby loves this in his lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      This is excellent. I don't like mayo in my coleslaw. I used garlic salt instead of the salt and garlic powder because I didn't have any garlic powder. I cut in 1/4 because I only had an 8 oz pkg of coleslaw veggies and was only cooking for 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Very Nice coleslaw! I made 2 servings of this with a half a bag of coleslaw mix, canola oil and white vinegar. I think it ends up being more like 4 servings. I selected this to make for my Hubby who has been asking for a oil and vinegar coleslaw, with no mayo. After it sat for 2 hours, we tasted it, and decided to add a little more vinegar. Other than that, it has a great flavor. I think both of us prefer more crunch to our coleslaw though, so would add the marinade cooled off next time, and would marinate it in the fridge. Made for kittencalskitchen.com tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      I made this for my husband he liked it alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This is defintely a recipe that improves over time. When I first tasted this about 24 hours after I made it, I thought it was just OK. After another 24 hours, the cabbage seemed crisper and the flavor of the dressing was outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I made half the recipe and left out the onion, as I like it better without. We cleaned the bowl in no time, and I guess I should have made the whole recipe because it was so good everyone wanted more! I did substitute Splenda for the sugar and as always it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      I can't believe I didn't review this. I made this coleslaw for my husband's poker night to go along with the pulled pork. While some guys preferred the mayo-based slaw, the ones that liked vinegar based slaw LOVED this. In fact, my husband had EIGHT portions of it. Thanks Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I saw this a while back and just got the canola oil yesterday. This is delicious. It is so much lighter than the mayo based cole slaw dressing I have been making for years. The only changes I made were using splenda in lieu of sugar and adding 3 teaspoons of celery seed. This mixes really well and comes together very quickly. Thanks, Merlot, for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      This cole slaw was wonderful! The only change I made was to use Splenda to replace the sugar. I had half a cabbage in the fridge so this was an excellent way to use it up. Thanks for posting this terrific recipe, Merlot! You can bet it will be made often in this house! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Very good! Healthier than creamy coleslaw. Almost an identical match to my favorite cole slaw at a local restaurant. I used Canola oil. There is plenty of dressing - so much that I might increase the cabbage next time to compensate. I will use this recipe often. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I prepared this salad to go with our fish and chips dinner. I did half the recipe as only a couple of us will eat it. We liked this very much. I like that is has no mayo, so easy to transport this summer. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Just what I have been looking for. Only thing I did extra was about l/2 teasp or less of celery seed. (in other words, I didn't measure, just shake 'til it looks good) Ty for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I made this to take to a BBQ yesterday and cut it in half because there were just 4 of us eating. It is really easy to throw together. I used Canola oil as Merlot suggested. Just before I left for the BBQ I drained off the extra dressing as Merlot also suggested. This coleslaw was FABULOUS!! My friends deemed it the "best coleslaw they had ever had". I took 3 things to the BBQ and the little bit that was leftover of this is the only thing the host kept. I've heard this gets better the as it sits, so she will probably be in for a real treat today. I'm going to make this again really soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      This was good, but too salty for our tastes. I also thought there was too much garlic powder. I made half a recipe and that worked well. I would recommend this for potluck picnics and the like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I made this according to directions, it was just like it was said to be and tasted good. I only give this 4 stars because it was a little oily for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Great tasting slaw. The only thing that keeps me from leavng 5 stars is the fact that there is way to much dressing. I had to drain so much off and sqeeze a bunch out. Other than that the tastes was fantastic. I will definetly make again, just using half the marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Very yummy slaw -- the first non-mayo based one I've tried. It was very easy to make and went over real well at a party last weekend. I used 3/4 head of cabbage and 2 grated carrots, and omitted the onion. It seemed a little on the oily side, so I increased the sugar to 1C and the vinegar to 1 1/2C. Also added 1T celery seed, 'cause it ain't slaw without it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Did not care for the oily taste of this when I prepared it...I used canola oil as the recipe directed. It is also to vinegary for DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This is definitely the coleslaw for non-coleslaw eaters. I only had one bag of coleslaw, so I saved half the dressing and marinated cucumbers in it. They were super yummy--even moreso when I tossed them with a diced tomato to make a summer salad. Next time I'm going to try subbing soy sauce for the salt and adding toasted almonds to make an Asian type coleslaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.8
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    59%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2356.6 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 30.7 g
    123%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites