56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is excellent!!! Easy to make and a great make ahead dish. Marinating on the counter is the secret.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah September 12, 2002

This is Excellent!! I had questions and asked Merlot about it. She uses 2 bags of slaw mix, and stirs it occasionally while marinating. Also, when you first combine the dressing with the slaw mix it Does Not look like there’s enough dressing, but there is Plenty. It also sounds like a lot of salt, but it was just fine. I made ½ the recipe, (there's just 2 of us tonight) and forgot to halve the garlic powder, but it was not too much garlic for us. Thank-you Merlot for sharing this wonderful recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M July 30, 2002

This was exactly what I was looking for. I try not to eat processed things like mayo and yet wanted a coleslaw. I made a couple adjustments to fit for healthier eating but it was wonderful!! Here's what I did...I used extra virgin olive oil instead of canola, honey instead of sugar, fresh grated garlic instead of garlic powder, green onions instead of regular, sea salt instead of regular and put it over rainbow slaw (shredded/grated cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and carrots). Absolutely wonderful job Merlot!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kanutell April 25, 2010

Another 5 star review here! This was just what I was in the mood for. My family liked it too. I used canola oil and for the onion I used 1/2 red and 1/2 green. I also added a little black pepper. Thank you!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate June 10, 2010

Yummy! I also used canola oil and reduced the ammount to 1/2 cup. I didn't have cider vinegar so I used white vinegar and also added some celery seed. Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlethibault March 12, 2010

I stumbled across this recipe while looking for a 'copycat' recipe of Bojangles coleslaw for my husband. We didn't find one, but we decided to try this one instead. Wonderful! I love the flavor, it is so different from a mayonaise based coleslaw.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheShields February 16, 2010

Purrrr-fect. Thanks for posting. Was looking for just this kind of coleslaw. Where I live, I shop at Wegman's who serves up their delicious coleslaw and this is wonderful.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloob January 26, 2010

I have made a very semilar recipe for many years. Mine uses only 1/2 c sugar. However your "TRICK" of leaving it on the counter for 2 Hours makes this an outstanding recipe!! I could eat the whole batch by myself! Thanks for sharing. Koechin It is now Jan.2010 and I am still making this great slaw. Lately I have used 1/2c Splenda in place of sugar and added 1/2 tsp celery seeds as well as 2T yellow mustard seeds. It can't gey much better. Why has nobody else review this??

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) January 03, 2010

Perfect! I'll use this all the time. Great taste and easy. The only thing I did different was after it sat for a few hours, I dumped the whole thing in a colander and drained it for awhile. Everyone liked it. Thanks very much.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barefoot Beachcomber December 11, 2002

This is outstanding slaw!! It is so easy by using the pre-packaged slaw mix. Don't think I will ever go back to shredding cabbage again. You are right. There is plenty of liquid for marinade, even though it doesn't seem so at first. We ate on this for a week. Just go better everyday. Thanks Merlot.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust November 08, 2002
Marinated Coleslaw