Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      This is excellent!!! Easy to make and a great make ahead dish. Marinating on the counter is the secret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      This is Excellent!! I had questions and asked Merlot about it. She uses 2 bags of slaw mix, and stirs it occasionally while marinating. Also, when you first combine the dressing with the slaw mix it Does Not look like there’s enough dressing, but there is Plenty. It also sounds like a lot of salt, but it was just fine. I made ½ the recipe, (there's just 2 of us tonight) and forgot to halve the garlic powder, but it was not too much garlic for us. Thank-you Merlot for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was exactly what I was looking for. I try not to eat processed things like mayo and yet wanted a coleslaw. I made a couple adjustments to fit for healthier eating but it was wonderful!! Here's what I did...I used extra virgin olive oil instead of canola, honey instead of sugar, fresh grated garlic instead of garlic powder, green onions instead of regular, sea salt instead of regular and put it over rainbow slaw (shredded/grated cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and carrots). Absolutely wonderful job Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Another 5 star review here! This was just what I was in the mood for. My family liked it too. I used canola oil and for the onion I used 1/2 red and 1/2 green. I also added a little black pepper. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Yummy! I also used canola oil and reduced the ammount to 1/2 cup. I didn't have cider vinegar so I used white vinegar and also added some celery seed. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I stumbled across this recipe while looking for a 'copycat' recipe of Bojangles coleslaw for my husband. We didn't find one, but we decided to try this one instead. Wonderful! I love the flavor, it is so different from a mayonaise based coleslaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Purrrr-fect. Thanks for posting. Was looking for just this kind of coleslaw. Where I live, I shop at Wegman's who serves up their delicious coleslaw and this is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I have made a very semilar recipe for many years. Mine uses only 1/2 c sugar. However your "TRICK" of leaving it on the counter for 2 Hours makes this an outstanding recipe!! I could eat the whole batch by myself! Thanks for sharing. Koechin It is now Jan.2010 and I am still making this great slaw. Lately I have used 1/2c Splenda in place of sugar and added 1/2 tsp celery seeds as well as 2T yellow mustard seeds. It can't gey much better. Why has nobody else review this??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      Perfect! I'll use this all the time. Great taste and easy. The only thing I did different was after it sat for a few hours, I dumped the whole thing in a colander and drained it for awhile. Everyone liked it. Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      This is outstanding slaw!! It is so easy by using the pre-packaged slaw mix. Don't think I will ever go back to shredding cabbage again. You are right. There is plenty of liquid for marinade, even though it doesn't seem so at first. We ate on this for a week. Just go better everyday. Thanks Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2002

      This is the best vinegar-based cole slaw I have ever run across. We ate the left overs a few days later and it was just as good (if not better).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      I only did 1/2 the recipe because I knew the kids wouldn't eat it. This was very good. Nice change from traditional cole slaw. We used it on top of our hotdogs when camping and it was good. I will be making this again--a good recipe for potlucks. Thanks for posting your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Delish! Very tart and tasty. I liked it the next day and days after as the flavor just kept getting better. I'll make this again. UPDATE: made this for a huge gathering with brats in beer and German potato salad. Guests piled their brats with this and were amazed. I made a double batch and was glad I did! Everyone raved about this delicious slaw. Merlot, this is the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      This is the coleslaw recipe I have been looking for for ages. I am sooooo happy to have found it. First time I made it just as stated and the second time (two days later) I tweaked it just a little bit. Used olive oil instead of canola, natural vinegar instead of cider, cut down the salt to one tablespoon, the sugar to 2/4+1/8 cup and added one teaspoon caraway seeds. After a couple of hours in the fridge (after marinating on the counter top, this is indeed probably the secret to this recipe), I drained the slaw in a colander. This is a very, very good recipe and the slaw will be staple for us. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      This was good, and had a great taste to it. I was worried I had to much marinade so I used 3 bags of cole slaw and still had pleanty of liquid. I think next time I will most definitely cut down on the marinade only because of my personal preference I don't like my cole slaw too drenched. Thanks, everyone did enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Delicious tasting slaw! I used seasoned rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar so I cut down on the sugar. I also used canola oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      It's very rare for my DH to rate anything more than 3 star but he gave this a 6! I halfed the recipe since it's just us but I know I'll make a lot more next time! I used Broccoli Slaw Mix, Extra virgin olive oil (didn't have any canola) and added a generous sprinkle of celery seed to the slaw mix prior to the dressing because we like it. Thank you for sharing this soon to be staple for the summer! I'm going to try using Splenda next time like another reviewer tried and I hope it's as good! We really enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I used canola oil, as it's better for you. We really liked this for a change to the usual mayo type slaw. I alternate between the two and this is always enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This is one delicious coleslaw, and one I will be making again and again! The longer you let it marinade the better it tastes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I prepared a half recipe and it was delicious. So good, in fact, that I couldn't stop tasting it while it marinated! I've always made creamy coleslaw in the past, but I'll make this again and again! I forgot that even just a little red cabbage bleeds with this dressing over time - no change in taste, but it's not so pretty to look at pink slaw, so I'll check the mix more closely next time. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.8
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    59%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2356.6 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 30.7 g
    123%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes