56 Reviews

This made a great sandwich filling (we followed the poster's advice and ate this with pita bread). I added a chopped tomato to the mixture and didn't use the za'atar (I didn't have any), but otherwise followed the recipe closely. I'll be making this again; it's nice to have found such a good recipe that doesn't require any cooking at all. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie June 09, 2008

Very flavorful combination. I used garlic and herb-flavored feta and Cavender's seasoning. It made a very excellent lunch! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 02, 2008

I'm giving this recipe 4 out of 5 because it impressed me (and I don't like half the ingredients in this thing!) but it was just so-so at the Israeli dinner party I took it to, and I was expecting kind of wow reviews from that crowd, based upon what everyone else said here. Still, it was good. I doubled the recipe and really didn't need to. Made it the night before, and let it sit and marinate in the fridge, so the flavors mixed really nicely. Not sure if I'll make it again anytime soon...maybe I'll give it another try with a different crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakey Bakey May 03, 2008

This salad is FABULOUS. I made it on Saturday and it was so delicious - the flavor combinations were so unexpected and refreshing. A wonderful recipe, thank you so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olivepig April 21, 2008

I love making salads like these. I only made a few changes. I added about 1/2 cup of diced english cucumber and only 1/4 cup of olive oil. I also omitted the sugar and added 1 small clove of finly minced garlic. It was LOVELY. We stuffed it into pita bread with shredded romaine and it made a delightfully filling yet light dinner for me and my husband. Thanks for a taste of freshness in Winter:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aioli_Queen March 18, 2008

Rave reviews when I recently took this to a pot luck bbq. We all love this and easy/quick to put together. This is equally good with pasta instead of or in addtion to the chickpeas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diplo-mom February 27, 2008

This was excellent! I didn't have any za'atar spice mix, but left everything else the same. I couldn't stop eating this wonderful salad :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leeloo78 January 30, 2008

a great dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catherine s. December 07, 2007

I made this for my husband because it has all of his favorites in it. He loved it. It is day 2 & he is in there eating some more. I agree that there is too much oil, so I only put 1/4 cup. I also left out the scallions, sweet red peppers & feta (didn't have any). I added green peppers, onion, & tomato to the mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh November 10, 2007

I hovered between 3 and 4 stars for this as I wasn't as wildly enthusiastic as other reviewers. I didn't have any za'atar and that may have been part of the reason. I did add a little oregano to the mixture and perhaps should not have done so. I wish I had read all the reviews as I agree there was too much oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 July 15, 2007
Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta