56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish is so flavorful and yet simple to make! Very impressive and I can't wait to serve it to dinner guests! I had no mint or scallions so they were left out. For the za' atar spice I used approximately 1/2tsp majoram, 1/2tsp oregano, and 1/4tsp thyme. I used about 1tbs of dried parsley, since I didn't have any fresh. I also used black olives, instead of kalamata olives, and the entire 12oz jar of peppers (since they didn't have a smaller size). I put the dish together and served the next night along with a meatless meatball spaghetti dinner. Mmmmm mmmm...this is going to be a regular for me :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuddles4ya March 28, 2011

This was a hit for the evening! Everyone raved about it...so glad a doubled it as they ate it all, and I had to make copies of the recipe. I could not find Za'atar either so I looked it up and made the combo of the spices it has in it...turned out fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 29, 2011

This is now my favorite salad ever!!! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookalot #2 December 04, 2010

love this salad! I use apple cider vinegar & marinated artichokes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgardner404 October 16, 2009

I made this for DH's work crew. They really liked it. I liked that fact that I usually always have these ingrdients in my pantry. The flavors melded wonderfully. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 03, 2009

Fantastic salad! A wonderful combination of ingredients and flavors! I really loved this, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO March 06, 2009

Great side salad. I didn't include the chickpeas but the rest as written. I used homemade roasted red peppers. Served it with Mediterranean Chicken Breasts. It made for a great meal. DH just loved it. Will have often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 20, 2009

Loved this recipe!!!!! Have no idea what Za'atar spice mix is (the large store did not stock it either) so I blended 1/4 ts each of fresh coriander, dried marjoram, dried oregano and dried thyme into the oil and vinegar mix. I had no paresly or mint so I left those out. It sat in the fridge for 1 hour and it was perfect, I served it on top of crusty bread (like a bruschetta) yum!!!! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom February 18, 2009

I liked the idea of all of these flavors, but I was disappointed with the flavor and it did not go over well are our party. (The artichokes were mostly picked out!) I did not have nor could find Za'tar spice. After reading other reviews that may be a must more than an optional I guess. Also, I would use more feta (8oz), double the artichoke hearts and use cakamata olives that are not pitted. For some reason, the pitted ones that I bought tasted much different and I think they ruined the salad. I will most likely try this again with those changes! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drazen June 16, 2008
Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta