Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2008

      I came back to this page because I am making this for the fourth time, and realized I had forgotten to rate it. Five stars it is!! Every time I make it, I get requests for the recipe. One woman said she could live off this salad. Me too, but I would like a nice glass of wine and some crusty bread to go with it! I had not a clue as to the za'atar spice until I went sleuthing ... for a quick fix, I just mixed equal parts of basil, marjoram, oregano and thyme. Some sources called for lemon zest as well. Thanks for sharing, Sue! You've made my dinner special on several occasions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      I've made this several times for pot-lucks, family dinners, and showers, and it's always a hit. I usually use raw multi-colored sweet peppers from our garden, (or frozen in winter,) and red onions when that's what's on hand instead of scallions. Any kind of crispy raw veggies are good in this and add a nice crunch. I haven't found Zatar, and substitute the seasonings as other reviewers have suggested. As for the olive oil, love it - pour it on - it's good for you! We're not afraid of healthy fats around here. I usually get requests for the recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This was a very good salad! We liked the addition of the artichoke hearts. I followed other reviewers and used a cucumber instead of the red peppers (though I think a fresh one would also be great in it), omitted the sugar and only used one tablespoon of oil (and therefore, decreased the vinegar too). I also used less salt and subbed the mint with basil because of an allergy. The flavors were all very tasty together and it looked pretty on the plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      I just made this salad for the first time and it was every thing that every one said it was plus. It was really easy to make. I have everything on hand in my pantry to make it and best of all hubby loved it. We love full flavored foods and this certainly is the case with this recipe, it is has a very Mediterranean flavor feel to it. And it is the first recipe in a long time that I did not feel the need to add more seasoning. I used the seasoning suggested in the reviews instead of Zatar, as I did not have the components to make that. I did not have green onion and used red onion instead and it worked very well. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will be making it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This was so amazing. I followed the recipe exactly even though there is way more oil than I would normally use. Everyone (even the most fat conscience) could not get enough. I might try to make it with less oil, but quite honestly I'm afraid to mess with the recipe because it's perfect. btw, my Lebanese boyfriend says that this is something that could be served in the very best restaurants in the mediterranean and he thinks that the amount of oil makes it that much more authentic. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I will make this regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      Only used one small jar of artichokes and omitted the mint. Added some oregano.. It was delicious and I had many requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      I hate to give this only three stars, after reading everyone's rave reviews, but I honestly was not impressed with this. My husband did enjoy it, and obviously a lot of other people have, so maybe it's something wrong with me. I think I would like it more as a "dip" or "topping" than as a salad, and if I do make it again, I think I would enjoy it more without the artichoke hearts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      I absolutely love this salad! It has become a staple in our house. I don't use the za'atar, just add in my favourites (ususally basil and thyme) and it is still fantastic. I have made this salad for several coworkers, my mother-in-law (who is very picky) and dinner guests. Everyone always asks for the recipe. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I adopted this for Weight Watchers and it comes in at 6 points with a very generous serving. Perfect to make up the night before and bring for lunch. I didn't use roasted peppers and instead subbed in cucumber and chopped assorted fresh peppers as others suggested (zeros WW points!). I think any fresh herbs would be fab with this. An easy base recipe to mess around with - for sure will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      I have never had chickpeas so thought I'd give this a try. I added carrots, and due to preference omitted olives, red peppers and mint. I substitued basil as another reviewer suggested. didn't use za'atar spice - used thyme, margoram and oregano. For me this was a little oily tasting. When I make it again, i may add more raw crunchy veggies and a tad less oil, perhaps start at 1/4 cup. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      This dish is so flavorful and yet simple to make! Very impressive and I can't wait to serve it to dinner guests! I had no mint or scallions so they were left out. For the za' atar spice I used approximately 1/2tsp majoram, 1/2tsp oregano, and 1/4tsp thyme. I used about 1tbs of dried parsley, since I didn't have any fresh. I also used black olives, instead of kalamata olives, and the entire 12oz jar of peppers (since they didn't have a smaller size). I put the dish together and served the next night along with a meatless meatball spaghetti dinner. Mmmmm mmmm...this is going to be a regular for me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      This was a hit for the evening! Everyone raved about it...so glad a doubled it as they ate it all, and I had to make copies of the recipe. I could not find Za'atar either so I looked it up and made the combo of the spices it has in it...turned out fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This is now my favorite salad ever!!! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

    • on October 16, 2009

      love this salad! I use apple cider vinegar & marinated artichokes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I made this for DH's work crew. They really liked it. I liked that fact that I usually always have these ingrdients in my pantry. The flavors melded wonderfully. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Fantastic salad! A wonderful combination of ingredients and flavors! I really loved this, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Great side salad. I didn't include the chickpeas but the rest as written. I used homemade roasted red peppers. Served it with Mediterranean Chicken Breasts. It made for a great meal. DH just loved it. Will have often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Loved this recipe!!!!! Have no idea what Za'atar spice mix is (the large store did not stock it either) so I blended 1/4 ts each of fresh coriander, dried marjoram, dried oregano and dried thyme into the oil and vinegar mix. I had no paresly or mint so I left those out. It sat in the fridge for 1 hour and it was perfect, I served it on top of crusty bread (like a bruschetta) yum!!!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I liked the idea of all of these flavors, but I was disappointed with the flavor and it did not go over well are our party. (The artichokes were mostly picked out!) I did not have nor could find Za'tar spice. After reading other reviews that may be a must more than an optional I guess. Also, I would use more feta (8oz), double the artichoke hearts and use cakamata olives that are not pitted. For some reason, the pitted ones that I bought tasted much different and I think they ruined the salad. I will most likely try this again with those changes! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.1
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    60%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 16.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1299.6 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 15.3 g
    61%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes