56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I came back to this page because I am making this for the fourth time, and realized I had forgotten to rate it. Five stars it is!! Every time I make it, I get requests for the recipe. One woman said she could live off this salad. Me too, but I would like a nice glass of wine and some crusty bread to go with it! I had not a clue as to the za'atar spice until I went sleuthing ... for a quick fix, I just mixed equal parts of basil, marjoram, oregano and thyme. Some sources called for lemon zest as well. Thanks for sharing, Sue! You've made my dinner special on several occasions!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B August 22, 2008

I've made this several times for pot-lucks, family dinners, and showers, and it's always a hit. I usually use raw multi-colored sweet peppers from our garden, (or frozen in winter,) and red onions when that's what's on hand instead of scallions. Any kind of crispy raw veggies are good in this and add a nice crunch. I haven't found Zatar, and substitute the seasonings as other reviewers have suggested. As for the olive oil, love it - pour it on - it's good for you! We're not afraid of healthy fats around here. I usually get requests for the recipe. Yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ltys April 22, 2011

This was a very good salad! We liked the addition of the artichoke hearts. I followed other reviewers and used a cucumber instead of the red peppers (though I think a fresh one would also be great in it), omitted the sugar and only used one tablespoon of oil (and therefore, decreased the vinegar too). I also used less salt and subbed the mint with basil because of an allergy. The flavors were all very tasty together and it looked pretty on the plate.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 16, 2009

I just made this salad for the first time and it was every thing that every one said it was plus. It was really easy to make. I have everything on hand in my pantry to make it and best of all hubby loved it. We love full flavored foods and this certainly is the case with this recipe, it is has a very Mediterranean flavor feel to it. And it is the first recipe in a long time that I did not feel the need to add more seasoning. I used the seasoning suggested in the reviews instead of Zatar, as I did not have the components to make that. I did not have green onion and used red onion instead and it worked very well. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will be making it often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livingstonfran July 20, 2011

This was so amazing. I followed the recipe exactly even though there is way more oil than I would normally use. Everyone (even the most fat conscience) could not get enough. I might try to make it with less oil, but quite honestly I'm afraid to mess with the recipe because it's perfect. btw, my Lebanese boyfriend says that this is something that could be served in the very best restaurants in the mediterranean and he thinks that the amount of oil makes it that much more authentic. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I will make this regularly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in California March 08, 2008

Only used one small jar of artichokes and omitted the mint. Added some oregano.. It was delicious and I had many requests for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u December 19, 2013

I hate to give this only three stars, after reading everyone's rave reviews, but I honestly was not impressed with this. My husband did enjoy it, and obviously a lot of other people have, so maybe it's something wrong with me. I think I would like it more as a "dip" or "topping" than as a salad, and if I do make it again, I think I would enjoy it more without the artichoke hearts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 June 14, 2012

I absolutely love this salad! It has become a staple in our house. I don't use the za'atar, just add in my favourites (ususally basil and thyme) and it is still fantastic. I have made this salad for several coworkers, my mother-in-law (who is very picky) and dinner guests. Everyone always asks for the recipe. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Binirob February 13, 2012

I adopted this for Weight Watchers and it comes in at 6 points with a very generous serving. Perfect to make up the night before and bring for lunch. I didn't use roasted peppers and instead subbed in cucumber and chopped assorted fresh peppers as others suggested (zeros WW points!). I think any fresh herbs would be fab with this. An easy base recipe to mess around with - for sure will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zamgirl February 11, 2012

I have never had chickpeas so thought I'd give this a try. I added carrots, and due to preference omitted olives, red peppers and mint. I substitued basil as another reviewer suggested. didn't use za'atar spice - used thyme, margoram and oregano. For me this was a little oily tasting. When I make it again, i may add more raw crunchy veggies and a tad less oil, perhaps start at 1/4 cup. thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage August 01, 2011
Marinated Chickpea and Artichoke Salad with Feta