Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Cheese Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Cheese Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2011

      This recipe is INCREDIBLE!! I had at a party the other evening and couldn't stop eating it. I can't wait to make it for my family for Christmas! UPDATE: while a little time consuming to assemble, it is well worth it. Putting the cream cheese in the freezer for about 30 minutes helped it to keep its shape better as you sliced it. Also, I don't recommend substituting red wine vinegar for the white. It overpowered the other flavors a little bit. Everyone enjoyed it, and it was a lovely addition to our assortment of appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I love love love this recipe. I've been making it for 5 years now, and I'm pretty sure I only get invites to parties just so I bring this along. The only changes I make are I use red wine vinegar instead of white, and I also use Pepperjack cheese alternated with the cheddar. All in all it's a never fail appetizer to share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This was quite tasty - and easy. I used Triscuits - between the crackers and the appetizer something was rather salty - could just be me - I'm "sensitive" to salt - I'll be making this again though. I used Philly Cream cheese, and a White Sharp Cheddar cheese. Update: It was the triscuits that were so salty - by the way - the longer the chesse marinates - the better it becomes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I've made this twice now for parties, and both times everyone just loved it. I used monterey jack cheese instead of cream cheese. With blocks of cheddar and jack cheese the same size, the slices are uniform in size and texture. Very pretty on the serving platter. I served with baguette slices and found that I liked it best at room temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Really good! I've eaten this many times, but just made for the first time. It's delicious as well as beautiful. Prepared the night before on a serving platter with high sides. Just remember to pull out of the fridge early, it shouldn't be served cold. Served with crackers. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Well, why I am not sure my review I posted didn't show I don't know.

      It was excellent. Well received and ate every last bite. For me, I used a mix of monterey jack and white cheddar along with the cream cheese.
      Second, to the marinade, I did add some red pepper flakes (a personal preference for some heat) and fresh basil to the marinate. But otherwise, as is. It was very good.

      I lined my small caserole dish with saran wrap and then added the cheese and marinade. The next day, I just picked up the edges of the saran wrap and transferred to the serving platter. I used a spatula to slide off the cheese in a nice stack, just like the picture and then poured on the extra marinade. Worked like a charm.

      Flavorful, excellent, served with crackers, baguettes and bread sticks.

      Follow the recipe exactly, the combo of flavor is what works. I garnished with a couple of sprigs of basil. It was a wonderful easy recipe. Make sure to let it marinade overnight.

      One Note: You can marinade in the same dish you serve it. That is fine. I just had a Xmas dish I wanted to use, but either way, it works great.

      A must make. I promise ... nothing will be left.
      Thx, kim

      ONE ADDITIONAL NOTE:

      I prefer to serve this at room temp or just a slight chill. I think the cheese and flavors are much better. My preference.

      Made again over the holidays ... a hit again. Not only is it pretty, but great flavor. This time is used a mix of sharp and mild cheddar with cream cheese. But same result - delicious

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I love this recipe. I originally got it from Southern Living. It really is such a great appetizer or snack. Has such an elegant look to it with the red and green ingredients. So professional, so delicious...and I'm taking all the credit :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I'm glad I read the reviews, as I was looking at the dish trying to figure out how I was supposed to get slices of cheese out from the marinade (the olive oil congealed with refrigeration) and onto crackers. I let it warm to room temperature, then removed the cheeses to a serving plate with good results. We liked the cream cheese better than the cheddar (the cheddar didn't seem to take the marinade well), so I think next time I'll just use that. This is very tasty, and I've already had requests to bring it to my next party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      I love this recipe. I often make it using 2 packages of cream cheese (no cheddar). I also usually make it and serve it in the same dish to avoid a lot of clean up. If you need to travel with this dish, remove most of the marinade back to the shaker jar and redistribute it when you arrive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      Was going to post, but am instead reviewing this delicious and impressive appetizer. It is really very tasty and gives a unique look to your buffet table. When you transfer to your serving tray, you will leave most of the marinade behind, and as long as you have some of herbs/pimentos on top, there is no need to spoon additional marinade on, IMO. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I cannot go anywhere at Christmas without making this. I make batches of the dressing and keep it in the fridge. I also use sliced french baguette to serve with. Less salty than any cracker and good for sopping up the dressing. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      This is really good.....quite addicting! I used Cream Cheese,Cheddar,Monteray and Mozzarella. Nice presentation.....will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      I made half of the recipe just to try this & it is very good. Made as directed. It makes a festive presentation & served it with small bread rounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Delicious & different! I served it for a holiday appetizer party & it was a hit. I elected to omit the parsley. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I just had this at my mom's house and I can't believe how good it was!! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      LOVE THIS! Anyone who loves cheese as my family does, should try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      Got this from a friend, made it for the first time as one of my appetizers for Christmas. The color was an added plus for this time of year. It was quickly devored. I loved it. It would make an impressive dish to take to a party, makes a great impression, and is yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Cheese Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 451.4
     
    Calories from Fat 392
    86%
    Total Fat 43.5 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 81.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 386.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites