Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinated Baked Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinated Baked Tofu

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2010

      This is a GREAT recipe, **BUT** having used similar recipes in the past, you must add water- way too salty otherwise. I used a 6.5" square x 3" deep plastic container, added the cubes and marinade and then enough water to cover the cubes. I also added a few shakes of fish sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This had great flavor, but way too salty for me. I think using lite soy sauce would help that. Thanks for the recipe. Oh wow - this was good. Just made it for the second time and used 3 tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce. That made all the difference. I also added a few red pepper flakes and broiled for a few minutes after it was done baking. I will be making this often. CAUTION!! This could be dangerous - I could have eaten the whole 16 ounces by myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This one was salty but it tasted good. I added only 2Tbs of soy sauce in order to reduce the salt amount. I also added 1Tbs of cooking sake, 1Tbs of Mirin. (or just use 2 Tbs Sake). I used 1Tbs of Agave instead of sugar and red chili flakes for spice. I didn't use vinegar. I baked the tofu with thinly sliced green onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I cut this into thin planks (1/2 inch or so thick) and let it marinate for about 30 minutes before baking about 15 minutes. Loved it. Great flavor from the ginger and sesame. A great recipe when you have some tofu to use up. Like other reviewers, I used low sodium soy, and the salt level was fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Loved this. Using fresh ginger is a must, also low sodium soy sauce. Try subbing 1 tsp brown sugar instead of honey or sugar. Bake on parchment paper and skip the olive oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This was excellent! I used olive oil flavored cooking spray instead of olive oil but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for and it was delicious! I think next time I will make more marinade to mix with the veggies and even top the rice with. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      We thought the tofu was delicious without changing anything. I served it with jasmine rice, stir fried shitake mushrooms, baby bok choy and slant cut carrots. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I love this tofu! Really goes well with a number of rice dishes. Pretty easy to prepare and once you have all the ingredients, you can make it many times. One time I made it for a friend who said it was 'restaurant quality'...thanks for sharing Stellula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I've made baked tofu many times but this is the best! I love it. I did not use rice vinegar but 1/2 tsp of white vinegar (on accident!). I used 3 cloves of minced garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      I took a reviewer's advice and added a little water. This was good and I will use in a stir fry. Thanks! Made for PAC spring 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Great recipe! The difficult part is remembering to marinate it the day before serving. I halved the recipe, used Bragg's and after reading some of the other reviews I only used 1 1/2 tablespoons. I used brown sugar and those were the only changes to the recipe. My tofu didn't look anything like the picture, it was a lot lighter, kind of a golden brown. I did but it under the broiler for a few minutes after baking for an hour and thought that gave it a nice texture. Thanks for posting the recipe, I be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      This was a very good marinade. I quadrupled the recipe because I had two blocks of tofu to bake. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos (available in health food stores) which is lower in sodium but the marinade still tasted a bit too salty to me. Next time I will reduce the aminos and increase the other ingredients. I let the tofu marinate for a day, sliced it into "fillets" and baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (turning the tofu after 15 minutes.) I will try this recipe again with modifications made to the salt content. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

    • on February 09, 2010

      This was soooooo salty! I cant believe so many people loved it! Maybe it was me, but i followed the recipe fairly closely. Sorry, sounded nice but won't go for a soy sauce-based marinade again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I love this recipe...but leave out the honey/sugar and add 1 T of nutritional yeast, which has a cheesy taste--will make this 100% better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      This was just okay for me. I will probably not make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the marinade. I was too impatient to wait overnight so mine only sat for about 6 hours, I should have waited longer! The tofu was flavorful enough but a tad too salty. I'll use low sodium soy next time. I'll also press the tofu so it absorbs the flavor better. After baking I set the broiler for about 5 minutes to get the tofu nice and crispy. What a delicious accompaniment to brown rice and broccoli!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Great taste and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      We really enjoyed this, but next time I'm going to double the marinade. I didn't have any rice vinegar, so I used balsamic, and I thought it turned out well. I also didn't have sesame oil, so I made some with sesame seeds and olive oil. I followed recommendations and baked it on parchment to avoid extra oil. The end product was nice and crispy (I didn't know tofu could be crispy!) and delicious. All in all a really great way to serve tofu. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      The main problem with this recipe is that inspires mad gluttony. Beware that it is difficult to save this tofu for sandwiches and salads, so make a lot! Like some others here, I recommend using a cooling rack for baking (with a sheet underneath to catch the drippings) with less oil in the marinade. A little added liquid hickory smoke flavor is also nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinated Baked Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.7
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    68%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1536.5 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites