20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amanda, you've got a winner of a recipe here! I used asparagus with small diameters and cooked them my usual way in the microwave for 3 minutes. I used 1 T balsamic and 1 T seasoned rice wine vinegar and a shake of garlic powder. . .perfect!!! I let them marinate for about 2 hours in the fridge before serving and then topped with the tomtoes and poured the extra vinaigrette over the tomatoes which was awesome. . .asparagus were tangy and the tomatoes were fresh. I will definitely make this again. Made for Veg*n Swap.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 14, 2008

love this, I added 1/2 cup chopped red onions and garlic/wine seasoning. awsome, ty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spotty129 July 25, 2012

Very nice. We enjoyed it with dinner last night, and it was even better at luch today after it had more chilling time, I thnk I might play with the flavors a bit the next time I make this... might add some fresh Mozzerella or add some sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds for some of the olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzV February 01, 2010

Very good and elegant way to serve asparagus. I usually have hot asparagus, so this was a nice change. The chopped tomato adds nice color to the dish. Although I didn't serve this for Christmas, the red-green would be perfect for a holiday meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue January 01, 2009

Simply wonderful, and lends to attractive presentation as well. I made the recipe as written, except scaled down to 2 servings. I used white wine balsamic vinegar and one small, chopped Campari tomato. The vinaigrette with fresh basil was simple yet tasty. I learned how to keep asparagus looking so fresh; the asparagus cooked to perfection according to directions. Thanks for posting, AmandaInOz, this is a keeper. Made for December 2008 Veg*n Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL December 09, 2008

Good simple recipe. Like a previous poster, I also added garlic. Note, I liked it at room temperature, but my DH preferred it hot. Made for Vegn Recipe Swap 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande September 09, 2008

LOVED IT! Will make again. ( I did use 1 TBSP balsamic vinegar and 1 TBSP white wine vinegar and some minced garlic). Thank You! [made for AUS/NZ recipe swap #20, Sept. 2008].

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHILI SPICE September 03, 2008

This is a perfect spring or summer side dish. I marinated the asparagus for about 1 hour before dinner. Family all loved it. This will be made again and again. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 16, 2008

This is SO good! Do let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavours saturate the asapargus. Wonderful side for a hots summer day. I used a white wine vinegar made by one of our BC wineries. Next time I might just try adding some red pepper flakes for fun. Made for ZWT4 and will be making again and again too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 06, 2008

Yikes this is devine! 5 excellent stars ! DO DO DO let the sauce marinade for a while and let it all seep into the asparagus.. this tasted wonderful. Please see my Rating System: 5 excellent stars for a brilliant summer side dish that should not fail to please and which is excellently easy to make in advance. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008
Marinated Asparagus