Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinara Sauce / Spaghetti Sauce Via Bari, Italy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinara Sauce / Spaghetti Sauce Via Bari, Italy

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe proves that sometimes, simple is best!! I have tried so many different marinara recipes, but none were what I was looking for. This sauce is the closest I've found to a local Italian restaraunt. I have never tried making a marinara sauce without onions before, but I think it makes all the difference to leave them OUT! (Who woulda thunk it??) I doubled the garlic, and may increase it even further to six cloves next time (and thinly sliced, as opposed to minced or chopped, is a must!). It was a tad too salty for me, so I added a 15-oz can of diced tomatoes (un-drained), which not only cut down the saltiness, but also helped stretch the sauce a bit further. I found the oregano to be stronger than I would have liked, so next time I'll reduce it to 1 tsp (or perhaps even less). 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes is the right amount for us...a nice kick, but not too spicy. Although wine and sugar might not be bad in some recipes, I agree with the poster that it does not belong in this one!! Thanks so much for sharing...I look forward to trying again with my changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Sodium is way to high in this. I barely sprinkled a pinch worth. Used home grown tomatoes. Added parsley. Used twice the amount of garlic saving some that was fried to use as a garnish. Quick, fresh and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This is the basic tomato sauce recipe I've been searching for all my life!!!!! The secret is in roasting the garlic just right. If you burn the garlic (surprisingly easy to do), it's essential to rinse the sauce pan and start over. We use 2tsp of chopped garlic and a can of diced tomatoes. DELICIOUS over rotini or (when we're feeling more industrious) Chicken Parmesan or cannelloni or as the base for Chicken Cacciatore. Thanks for sharing DeSouter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I was out of canned spaghetti sauce, so I thought this one looked good. It turned out so salty that no one finished their plates. I used coarse sea salt (what I had on hand), and maybe that was the problem. I do think this would be very tasty with much less salt. May try again and start out with 1/2 tsp or so.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This is a very tasty, easy marinara. It reminded me of Italy (sigh). I reduced the parsley to 1 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of basil. The addition of basil really made this sauce stand out to me. I also halved the oil and salt, but the flavor seemed unaffected. Lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      I've been making my own spaghetti sauce for quite some time (mainly by trial and error), but usually the result was still a little bitter or, if I added sugar to counter the acidity, too sweet. This recipe is my best spaghetti sauce EVER! I doubled the garlic required, and used kosher salt instead of sea salt. So deliciously simple, tomato-y but not too acidic (I think because there's no tomato paste in it), and no distracting other flavors like wine, sugar, etc. Perfection! This will be my standard sauce recipe from now on! Thanks, DeSouter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I needed a quick lunch and this fit the bill perfectly. I loved that there was no onion in it. I left out the salt but added an extra clove of garlic and some basil, but we really loved it. We use gluten free pasta, and after cooking it I threw it in the sauce and let it sit together for 2 minutes. It was perfect! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      This was awesome marinara. I used San Marzano tomatoes other than that I followed the recipe, cutting back the salt to about 1 1/4 tsp. It was a little watery, so maybe next time I'll leave the lid off for some of the cooking. Otherwise it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      SO easy! (Yay- no frying onions!) Thank you! I did 6 cloves of garlic and 1/2 tsp of kosher salt after reading what the other reviews said and I'm very happy with the results. And I did simmer it with the cover off after it was done cooking to thicken up. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Very good and very quick. I halved the salt and this was just right for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I was making Creamy Tuna and Basil Penne which called for Italian Pasta Sauce and this was perfect. I did leave out the salt. I will make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This is a really simple & quick spaghetti sauce. I used what I had on hand ( 28ounces tomato sauce & 16ounces of diced tomatoes, added an extra 1/2 tsp of oregano)...and it was excellent. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Excellent and easy to make. For a fiber boost add some benefiber to the sauce :) He will never know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Very good and easy! I used minced garlic in a jar. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Very easy recipe. Will definitely use it again. Next time I will probably reduce the amount of sea salt even though I used no-salt added tomatoes. Thanks it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Great recipe. It was my first time making my own sauce and I thought it would mess up, but it turned out great. Now I think I'm going to use it more than Prego sauce and that is saying a lot from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinara Sauce / Spaghetti Sauce Via Bari, Italy

    Serving Size: 1 (842 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 508.4
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    51%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5700.9 mg
    237%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites