Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinara Sauce of Alan Leonetti (2 Servings) (((The Best))) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinara Sauce of Alan Leonetti (2 Servings) (((The Best)))

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2008

      :-) Here I am. I have to be honest and say that I was a bit leary of the amounts of herbs this called for. It seemed like an aweful lot. I make my own spagetti sauce which makes 5 quarts after it all cooks down and I still don't use this much herbs. It's well balanced, too. I went ahead and bit the bullet and made it exactly to your specifications. Although this emptied my supply of dried herbs I was pleasantly pleased with the results. This turned out very good. I loved the texture and robustness of the sauce. We like our marinara/spagetti sauce thick, too. This made enough for the doubled recipe of your meatballs, plus some to freeze with the leftover meatballs. To add another layer of flavor, even though the consistancy is spot on, I would add some red wine and let it cook down. Red wine adds a nice flavor to marinara sauces. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I have tried many, many sauce recipes, and found lots of good ones. But this one is EXCELLENT! Hubby said this was the best sauce he's ever had (and he's had many.....). I was a bit skeptical of cutting the garlic cloves in halves or thirds, since I had never done that, but they blended into the sauce perfectly. I am looking forward to trying Alan's other recipe for making a large batch! Thanks, Alan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This is great! I used recipe 82770 for Italian seasoning (with what fresh herbs I had on hand), and my ordinary brand of canned tomato products (Hunts isn't available here), and omitted the garlic juice (as I don't use jarred garlic), and it worked great on pizza and with your braciole Braciole (Pronounced: "brajole"). Easy and tasty, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Chose this recipe because it actually specified the brand of tomatoes to use! Glad I did. Easy and perfect. Made exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      FANTABULOUS! Best marinara sauce ever! I cut down on the herbs a little, but only because I'd tripled the recipe and ran out. I also cut down on the amount of olive oil, seemed like an awful lot. I was able to sneak in some carrots and spinach run through the food processor to up the nutritional ante a bit. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This had had to be the best marinara sauce ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I followed the recipe to the exact measurements! Thank you alan!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is the best sauce I have ever had, I think this will be what I make all the time, it's totally worth any work you put into it. I just love to eat the leftover sauce on bread. Better than most pizzas I've had. I'm sharing it with everyone I know. Mmm good! Shelley

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      FYI: In authentic Italian sauce or gravy, there is no oregano. Oregano is only used on pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Thank You Alan , for another great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This is a great recipe! I never thought I could make a fresh Marinara w/canned tomatoes, but I did! Thanks, for posting. I made this as posted, and it is perfect! Sondra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I loved this sauce - I made it exactly as written. I did add a little water, though to thin it out a little. Other than that, I don't think I'll be buying packaged spag sauce again !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      I didn't follow the recipe exactly was written so won't rate it. I used fresh tomatoes rather than Hunt's as specified. I also cut down on the amount of herbs by about half and added some water. The sauce was good and made much more than 2 servings (even though I only made a half recipe).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This is an update on this wonderful sauce. I did make some changes. I reduced the amount of spices and added 1/2 cup water to it, (because it was too thick). It turned out great. This is definely a five star recipe. Thank you Alan for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      I have been using this recipe for about a year and just realized that I hadnt rated it yet. I love it. I use a little more garlic and salt than called for, but thats just my family's personal preference.I also double the recipe so that I can keep some in the freezer since my 2 and 4 year old think spaghetti is its own food group. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Its better and cheaper than the store bought stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I liked the texture and body of this sauce, although I did thin it a bit. In my opinion you could probably cut the amount of italian seasoning and oregano in half. I thought it was too much seasoning. I will try it again with modifications,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I used this to dip mozzarella sticks and wow. Thanks for the recipe, this sauce is fantastic!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      As the picture shows the sauce is a very heavy thick, robust sauce. I used this tonight with a pork schnitzle and noodles. The flavor is excellent and I can imagine that it will freeze well to be used in different capacities at a later date. The flavor says OH YES! to Parmesan cheese, I can't help but feel that there was some liquid missed in the ingredients. I only made half of the recipe used all the prescribed ingredients and followed the recipe to a Tee. I will be using this sauce in other recipes but I think I will thin it a bit with either tomato juice or wine depending on the recipe. Thank-you Alan fo a tasty sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinara Sauce of Alan Leonetti (2 Servings) (((The Best)))

    Serving Size: 1 (854 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 598.1
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    44%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2961.6 mg
    123%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 18.7 g
    74%
    Sugars 28.7 g
    114%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic juice

    dried Italian seasoning

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites