Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2003

      This is a winner - I made the full recipe with only one variation I used 3/4 tsp crushed hot pepper flakes, the sauce is wonderful - first night I put apprx 3/4 cup over a serving of cooked noodles topped it with Asiago cheese Loved it. However the next day I poured the remainder of the sauce over 6 pan browned Coubtry style pork ribs in a crockpot , set the crockpot on low and cooked them for 8 hours - heaven! This sauce is very versatile and requires no changes - Thank-you BeachGirl for a taste tantalizer!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I thought this was a good base for a marinara or spaghetti sauce, however, I did change up a few things because when I tested it at the end, it tasted a bit bland and off to me. To start off, I did saute the red pepper flakes in 1 tbs of olive oil for a minute and then added the onions. At the end, I added 1/4 red wine, salt & pepper and 1 tsp of garlic powder and let it simmer for an additional 30 minutes. Thanks for posting, it turned into a really great sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This is my favorite Marinara/Pasta/Cooking sauce. The Diced Tomatoes give it a nice chunkiness that other sauces that have just crushed tomatoes lack. Try it first without the sugar/sweetener first, you may not need it - depending on the tartness of the tomatoes. Tuttorosso crushed tomatoes have the richest flavor of any crushed tomatoes that I've tried. My only change was the addition of minced garlic - about 4-6 cloves. CAN'T get enough garlic!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      What a great, simple recipe! I've been looking for something like this that doesn't require fresh tomatoes. Around here, really good fresh tomatoes are only a possibility for about two weeks. I took Bergy's lead and bumped up the heat a bit increasing the crushed red pepper. I also carefully sauteed a bit of garlic in with the onions. I used this over some pasta as a "side" dish for roast chicken. A great change of pace for us. The ingredients are staples around our house, which means that this sauce will be made often. I'm thinking that I'll double the recipe next time and freeze it so I can have it on hand in a pinch! Thanks for creating this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Very good sauce! The only thing I did different was that I added 3 garlic cloves and about 1/4 cup of red wine. This will be the base for my Shrimp Vodka Pasta. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      The easiest, best - tasting Marinara recipe I have found. I am so glad to have found this. There are lots of variations you can do for tomatoes and spices, and each time I have tried it has been great! It feels good to have a home made marinara recipe memorized!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Delicious. I have used this for spaghetti and for meatball subs. Very easy and great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This is good and easy. Next time I think I want it sans tomatoes all together and just sauce or maybe pureeing the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I really enjoyed this sauce although I had to make one substitution. I cannot eat onions at the moment (I'm nursing a baby who is sensitive to onions and garlic =( I used two leeks instead of the onions and the flavor was great! Thanks for posting such a simple yet delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      So good! My only change was I added garlic to the dish. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Great recipe - I made a couple changes based on what I had - I used two 28 ounce cans of whole tomatoes. Put one in the food processor first, and just broke up the chunks in the other. Also added a tsp minced garlic with the onion. My tomatoes must have been sweet because I only used 1 T sugar and that was plenty! Yummy and quick - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Just what I was looking for! A perfect recipe for just about anything. I used the sauce to accompany toasted ravioli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Great and simple. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      We really liked this. It was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Great recipe. Made this a few times, and it's a great base to build upon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Made to dip Sue L's Toasted Ravioli in, and they were a big hit at my get together with friends last evening. We really enjoyed them, and the sauce was a nice addition for dipping. Thank you for sharing with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Can have a slight bitter taste from the tomato seeds, which is what the sugar is there to counteract. So be sure you put in enough! Otherwise a very fresh and tasty sauce that is super easy to prepare and very good with sausages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Delicious and easy recipe! I needed a marinara sauce for Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs and came across this recipe. I also added Italian Dressing Seasoning Dry Mix for the italian seasoning since I keep this on hand at all times ( no more store brought seasonings) I fellowed the recipe and let simmer in a crockpot until dinner. Made a delicious spaghetti and meatball dinner! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This is a really good sauce recipe and very simple to make. Thanks for sharing! Niki

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I am very picky about sauce, and I have tried so many.I am surprised at how such simple ingredients can make such fabulous sauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I know I will use it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    36%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 581.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites