Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marinade for Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marinade for Steak

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2001

      I used this recipe, with a few slight modifications to compliment recipe 8224, Fried Rice (Chow Fun). I had a package of a cheap cut of beef (simmering steak) and was looking for a suitable marinade for it. This recipe looked good and so I gave it a go. I deboned and removed most of the fat from the steak and cut it into three inch strips about three eighths of an inch wide. I also scaled the recipe in a few places to compensate for the amount of meat I had to marinate. I also added 2 tablespoons of honey, and a pinch of Basil, just because I like honey and Basil. Also, I used red wine vinegar for the 2nd ingredient. After whisking in a large measuring cup for a bit, I tipped the marinade into a large "Zip-Lock" freezer bag. The meat, having been pierced, went into the bag, the bag was sealed, and everything was given a few turns around and about in the bag. I set the bag into a meat loaf pan and put it into the refrigerator. I turned the bag every hour, and the whole affair was in the fridge for about 7 hours before cooking in my wok. I am pleased to say that an otherwise cheap piece of meat was transformed into a tender and extremely tasty dish. One thing I have learned about marinades… you have to take them on faith. They sometimes smell horrible, even to the point where I though about tossing it out and starting over again. I'm glad I didn't… bad smell ultimately led to a fabulous taste. Another 5 star rating from me for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Makes steak taste like nothing i've ever tasted & makes it melt in your mouth . Had my parents over for dinner & the recipe has been passed on to my mother too. Nice one !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      YUM!! This is the marinade for steak I have been trying to find!! We like a marinade, but nothing that overpowers the taste of the steak. I prefer to make them because they are cheaper and I can control the salt, but my husband is picky about his steak. I used some pinot grigio I had open in the fridge and low sodium soy, but followed this recipe to the letter. I thought I was going to make the steaks the same night but we weren't that hungry, so they stayed in the marinade around 24 hours until the following evening. I grilled them inside on my grill pan, and served them with a couple of veggies. I have tried a few others on this site and my husband said they were too strong. This one he said was a keeper after the first bite!!! Thank you for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      I used this on 4 rib eye steaks. Not so much as to tenderize them, but to give them a boost of flavour. I did use 4 garlic (just because we are such garlic fans) ... left out the sugar....added about 1T of my special recipe for ground pepper...and poked holes in the steak for the marinade to penetrate! Made them so tender and tasty! I would definitely recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Made this marinade up and put it on some cheap simmering steaks. Let them mingle for 6 or so hours. Cooked them on the gas grill and they turned out pretty good. The marinade itself tasted great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I agree with one of the other reviewrs this recipe will do well with a cheaper piece of meat that need alot of flavor to make it take good! the recipe flavor is very rich! very yummy though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was perfect! I soaked our steaks while we were at church, came home grilled them up and everyone LOVED them! We will definitely do this again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      My husband doesn't like his steaks MESSED with. Even though most of the ingredients in this marinade are on his "I hate" list, I took a chance and pushed the marinated, barbecued steak under his nose. "Mmmm, now this is good steak!" he exclaimed. Tricked him again--he doesn't realize how often that happens. Thanks, Pamela, for being an accomplice and providing us with such a nice tasting marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Very good marinade. I used the red wine option. Marinaded venison steaks for about 5-6 hours and then grilled. Perfection. I did add some minced green onion, otherwise followed the recipe as written. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      oooh this is good - marinated for a couple hours, then just put on the BBQ on a hot day - fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Enjoyed the flavor very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

    • on November 02, 2009

      OMG!! What a fabulous tasting steak made with this marinade!! I only marinated my steaks for 2 hours (read somewhere that marinating in acidic marinades should be no longer than 2 hours) but they came out amazing. I used my cast iron skillet and seared my steaks on both sides before sticking them in the oven to cokk for about 3-4 min on both sides. MMM MMM GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This produced the most amazing steaks. I marinated them for 8 hours and they were so tender and delicious. Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I love this recipe on my steaks. Its especially good on tougher meat like bison but needs a few extra hours to marinade. I often use it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      We love this recipe!!! We prefer it over all the steak houses we have been to. The Sherry wine vinegar makes a big difference. We were even able to accommodate our wheat allergy by using our wheat free soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Great tasting marinade! Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Wonderful flavor and really made a not so tender cut of steak awesome! Since I wasn't sure how much, I didn't add enough pepper. Since we did add more at the table, I will be adding more pepper next time! Loved this recipe and will use it again - can not wait to get the grill going!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Excellent!!! I agree with a previous review that marinades require a lot of faith. Due to an unexpected evening out with friends, our steak sat in this for ~ 18 hours. It was awesome!!!! This will be used many times in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Great marinade for our steaks on the grill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marinade for Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.3
     
    Calories from Fat 486
    98%
    Total Fat 54.0 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 545.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sherry wine vinegar

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites