14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used bone in chicken breast. I marinated for about 8 hrs. The chicken came out very tender and the flavors from the marinade had you coming back for more! Excellent marinade and I will try it using pork also. I am passing this along to my sisters, as I know they will enjoy it as much as we did. Thanks Laffer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook Lisa! August 20, 2008

The aroma taunted my family. I play with them like a cat with a mouse, except I eventually let them go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 15, 2012

MMM mmm, great summer marinade recipe here! The bright tasting lemons go so well with the fresh basil. We marinated for about three hours and the grilled chicken was very flavorful - completely devoured for our Father's day BBQ last night! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 21, 2010

We had a big party for the 4th of July and my DH wanted to grill boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Due to past performances, I was afraid the chicken would come out tough and dry, so I decided to try this marinade. Wow! It was a huge hit! I have never heard to many people rave about chicken off the grill before! I made the marinade exactly as the recipe states and marinaded the chicken for about 8 hours. This produced the most tender and juicy chicken I have ever had off the grill! The leftovers were even fabulous as sandwiched the next day. As my mother said, "This is a keeper!" Thanks, Gayla!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia Jill July 07, 2009

I really enjoyed this recipe, even though I swapped oregano for basil, because I wanted more of a souvlaki taste. I used chicken thighs, marinated overnight ( probably a bit too long) and grilled on my stove-top ridged griddle until brown stripes appeared. I then baked them for 30 min. at 325F in foil then let them sit for a while to cool. By the time they were ready for the tongue, they were perfect. Next time, I'll try the basil, but the oregano was wonderful. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest May 31, 2009

Wordeful marinade!!! I made chicken fillets and marinade them overnight. The next day was even better. Thanks for sharing with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia May 28, 2009

I used this on chicken quarters that I baked. I did as another suggested and cut the oil down. I only put in about 3 tbls of oil as I am watching my weight. I will update this review as soon as I am done eating. This made for a great tasting chicken. I liked that it was not a tomato based BBQ marinade. Made for ZWT4 by a CHIC CHEF.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huskergirl June 30, 2008

Okay... this is the best marinade I have EVER had in my entire life! I'm totally serious. I will never use anything else. My hubby and I just sat there and savored every single bite! Thank you so much for posting this! I followed the directions to the tee! Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 30, 2008

I marinated chicken thighs overnight in this marinade, and then baked in the oven at 350. It had good flavor, but I felt it was too oily. Next time I will greatly reduce the oil and I think it would be fine. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 June 13, 2008

This is a very good chicken marinade. Great lemon flavor. I marinated for 8 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj June 05, 2008
Marinade for BBQ Chicken