Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marie's Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marie's Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2013

      Delicious recipe Marie. We really enjoyed the roast chicken prepared this way. It was perfection, tender, juicy and very flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing yet another winner with all of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      wow!!! We Loved it! Very easy..very delicious!!!I omitted the garlic,,actually by mistake...did everything else except sprinkled with McCormack Rotisserie Chicken Seasoning,,ran out of Belles...i like the greek flavors of lemon and a bit of oregano and lemon melted into the butter,,,my 7 lb or so roasted in about 11/2 hrs after lowering heat, Just a foolproof recipe!!!!....UPDATE<<<< I always use this recipe..for the cooking techniqueI...I recently made 2 6ib chickens as the recipe describes.. but i slathered them with a little olive oil and butter,,,sprinkled with thyme...they cooked in about 1 1/2 or so hours..always perfect.... I use different herbs for different meals....love this recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      IMPRESSIVE! The chicken turned out extremely juicy and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      OUTSTANDING! Use whatever spices you want. Just jamb the cavity with the veggies. I also put two pats of butter on each side of the breast under the skin. My five and a half pounder took two hours total and a seven pounder two and a half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I was very impressed with this chicken. I didn't roast it though. I put it in my crockpot for 9hrs. I cut up all the veggies and stuffed it. Then put garlic and two slices of butter under the skin. Next, time when it gets cooler I will try and put in oven. I usually don't like chicken out of crockpot but this was good. Very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      i made this for the first time just last sunday, when relatives came over to spend father's day with us. to my surprise, it was really good! i also used Andi the grate's suggestion of using Belle's Poultry/Stuffing Seasoning (thanks!). this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Wow! I made this last night for my husband and I. He and I were painting and staining all day and I just threw this in the oven to cook. Every time we went to the kitchen for something, the smell would make our stomachs growl. I was sure the neighbors were going to beat down the door to get at this chicken. And not only did it smell fantastic, my husband decsribed it as "the best chicken ever". I even ate the skin... I never eat the skin, but it was so crisp, buttery and fantastically seasoned. The only changes were that I used a 7lb. chicken (I have plenty of leftovers for #234493 Gumbo Recipe and #55282 Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock Recipe)so I had to cook it for 2.5 hrs. And I rubbed some #69629 "Belles " Poultry/Stuffing Seasoning on the skin in addition to the butter, salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This is a very easy way to pepare a chicken and tasts so good! We loved it! So tender and juicy and the house smelled wonderful while it was baking! With the listed ingredients always on hand this will be made again and again! Thank you for a tasty recipe to add to my collection! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Yum... I wanted to make a Roast chicken to make my Roasted Chicken Pot Pie and yours caught my eye. This was an easy recipe, the chicken is moist and fell off the bones, the house smelled great.. the only downside, is that DH isn't much of a chicken lover, if he liked this chicken more the this would have gotten 5 stars and I would make it every fortnight. Please see my rating system: an excellent roast chicken recipe, easy instructions and great taste:) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Great recipe, Sunday comfort food at its best! I love the flavors that the veggies imparted to the meat. The result was a delicious, moist roast chicken! I had purchased a large chicken, planning to roast it, slice or chop the meat and freeze it. I am glad this is one of the recipes I choose in roasting the chicken. The meat is moist, tender and just the right amount of flavor. I have the meat in the freezer and cannot wait to use it in various recipes. This recipe, of course, is top of the list for a great Sunday meal! Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This recipe was probably one of the moistest chickens I have ever made. I did soften a little butter and chopped up fresh thyme and rosemary leaves with 1 smashed garlic clove and spooned it underneath the skin, pushing it as far as I could under the skin. I also added rosemary and thyme sprigs to the cavity. Very nice recipe. Moist on the inside and crispy on the outside..thanks for sharing. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I can't believe I've never rated this! My mother introduced me to this tantilizing meal (and recipezaar for that matter). Tonight is my third or fourth time I've had it, second time making it myself. SOOO very tasty. I use the celery raft also. Dried parsley and a liberal helping of jarred minced garlic (can never have too much garlic, eh?). My carrots and potatoes tend to get a little overdone on top. Still fiddling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      This was good. Crispy skin but moist inside. Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This was a very nice, tender, flavorful roast. When I checked for doneness with the fork at the end of the posted time, the juices ran clear. But when I cut the bird up, there was a fair am't of red near the joints. A couple of minutes in the microwave solved that problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      I made this for Mother's Day dinner. What a flavorful, moist chicken this turned out to be. I love the flavor putting the onions and garlic inside gave the meat. I surrounded with potatoes and carrots. The celery raft works great. I had to cook mine for an hour and a half to get the chicken up to temp but with foil over it the second half it did not dry out. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      My family claims this is the best roast chicken we've ever had, and I agree. Moist on the inside, crisp outside and wonderful flavor from the vegetables stuffed inside. Per step #5, I placed the celery and onion underneath to form a 'raft' and the drippings did make a wonderful gravy. Thanks Marie for all your wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      Delicious, very crispy- skinned roast chicken. A simple method that produced very, very moist, flavorful results. Mine took the full cook time,plus an extra 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marie's Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.5
     
    Calories from Fat 431
    67%
    Total Fat 47.9 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 211.6 mg
    70%
    Sodium 260.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 45.4 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites