17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious recipe Marie. We really enjoyed the roast chicken prepared this way. It was perfection, tender, juicy and very flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing yet another winner with all of us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 12, 2013

wow!!! We Loved it! Very easy..very delicious!!!I omitted the garlic,,actually by mistake...did everything else except sprinkled with McCormack Rotisserie Chicken Seasoning,,ran out of Belles...i like the greek flavors of lemon and a bit of oregano and lemon melted into the butter,,,my 7 lb or so roasted in about 11/2 hrs after lowering heat, Just a foolproof recipe!!!!....UPDATE<<<< I always use this recipe..for the cooking techniqueI...I recently made 2 6ib chickens as the recipe describes.. but i slathered them with a little olive oil and butter,,,sprinkled with thyme...they cooked in about 1 1/2 or so hours..always perfect.... I use different herbs for different meals....love this recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanti2 January 02, 2011

IMPRESSIVE! The chicken turned out extremely juicy and very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadiana Girl June 27, 2010

OUTSTANDING! Use whatever spices you want. Just jamb the cavity with the veggies. I also put two pats of butter on each side of the breast under the skin. My five and a half pounder took two hours total and a seven pounder two and a half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harrison Jr January 01, 2010

I was very impressed with this chicken. I didn't roast it though. I put it in my crockpot for 9hrs. I cut up all the veggies and stuffed it. Then put garlic and two slices of butter under the skin. Next, time when it gets cooler I will try and put in oven. I usually don't like chicken out of crockpot but this was good. Very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel August 22, 2009

i made this for the first time just last sunday, when relatives came over to spend father's day with us. to my surprise, it was really good! i also used Andi the grate's suggestion of using Belle's Poultry/Stuffing Seasoning (thanks!). this is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheena_Leyva June 17, 2008

Wow! I made this last night for my husband and I. He and I were painting and staining all day and I just threw this in the oven to cook. Every time we went to the kitchen for something, the smell would make our stomachs growl. I was sure the neighbors were going to beat down the door to get at this chicken. And not only did it smell fantastic, my husband decsribed it as "the best chicken ever". I even ate the skin... I never eat the skin, but it was so crisp, buttery and fantastically seasoned. The only changes were that I used a 7lb. chicken (I have plenty of leftovers for #234493 Gumbo Recipe and #55282 Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock Recipe)so I had to cook it for 2.5 hrs. And I rubbed some #69629 "Belles " Poultry/Stuffing Seasoning on the skin in addition to the butter, salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate November 05, 2007

This is a very easy way to pepare a chicken and tasts so good! We loved it! So tender and juicy and the house smelled wonderful while it was baking! With the listed ingredients always on hand this will be made again and again! Thank you for a tasty recipe to add to my collection! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo February 07, 2007

Yum... I wanted to make a Roast chicken to make my Roasted Chicken Pot Pie and yours caught my eye. This was an easy recipe, the chicken is moist and fell off the bones, the house smelled great.. the only downside, is that DH isn't much of a chicken lover, if he liked this chicken more the this would have gotten 5 stars and I would make it every fortnight. Please see my rating system: an excellent roast chicken recipe, easy instructions and great taste:) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 27, 2007

Great recipe, Sunday comfort food at its best! I love the flavors that the veggies imparted to the meat. The result was a delicious, moist roast chicken! I had purchased a large chicken, planning to roast it, slice or chop the meat and freeze it. I am glad this is one of the recipes I choose in roasting the chicken. The meat is moist, tender and just the right amount of flavor. I have the meat in the freezer and cannot wait to use it in various recipes. This recipe, of course, is top of the list for a great Sunday meal! Thanks Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail January 18, 2007
Marie's Roast Chicken