Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marie Callender's Lemon Cream Cheese Pie by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marie Callender's Lemon Cream Cheese Pie by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2002

      The textures and flavours of the light lemoney custard combined with the dense richness of the cheese cake in this recipe was a wonderful treat for the tastebuds. I served it incircled with fresh raspberry sauce and garnished with raspberries. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is a great recipe. But I tweaked it a little bit. First, I baked it all in a dark, non-stick springform pan, flattening out the crust and moving it up the sides a bit (1/4" or so), but still not making the bottom crust too thin. I did lower the oven temp to 325 because of the dark pan, and checked for doneness around 25 minutes. It was ready in 30 minutes. I also added lemon oil extract (1/4 tsp.) to the cheesecake mixture as I felt it needed more lemon flavor. It was spot on. I suppose if you didn't have lemon oil you could use lemon extract or even zest. I didn't bother with lemon juice in the cheesecake as I wasn't sure adding that much liquid would be wise as it might affect it's ability to set up. The only other thing I did was before I added the yolks to the simmering sugar/cornstarch/water mixture that I tempered the yolks with a little of the simmering mixture and then added them. I whisked constantly until it was nice and thick and back up to simmering. I will say it took more than low heat to get that mixture up to a good simmer. So don't be shy about raising the heat. Keep it at a simmer, don't go to a boil. Just small, popping bubbles. Next time around I will probably add some fresh lemon zest to the top layer to give you that "zing" in the glands you get from lemon, even when it's sweet. A great recipe, very versatile. I think it would probably be really wonderful as one person wrote who used lemon cookies as the crust. That would REALLY pump up the lemon flavor for those of us "citruholics". :-) All in all a beautiful presentation out of the springform pan. Much more elegant than serving up a piece of a wedge-shaped pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      absolutely fantastic pie!!!!! raves all around. after making this a handful of times and realizing that most folks thought it wasnt lemony enough, i figured it out... use 4 Tblsp of lemon juice. perfect amount of lemon in our opinion. also, BEST whipped cream topping is #74805 Never Weep Whipped Cream. worked out fantastic and holds for a day or two so you can make the pie ahead of time. the pie taste better the next day in our opinion anyway! thank you for this fab recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Mmmmm....oops pardon me...shouldn't talk with my mouth full!!! There now...that was one delicious piece of pie. My sister who is spending a few days visiting with us also agrees that it was very tastey. The only thing I might do the next time I make it (and there will definitely be a next time) is, as NoraMarie suggested add a bit more lemon juice to give it more of a punch. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Made this for my mom for Easter (sorry for the late rating!), but it was really good. She loves lemon more than chocolate. I'd make this again in a heartbeat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Delicious.The only thing I will do next time is make double the lemon pudding and add a bit more lemon juice by adding a bit less water.Its even better the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      It looked just like buying from Marie Callenders. It is husbands favorite pie. He said he needs more Lemon and the cream cheese needs to be sweeter. Both I can do. Will make it again and again and again LOL. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Pretty good...nice consistency, but I expected more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      This was very delicious. I must admit I did a dumb thing (didn't follow the recipe like I should of) and cooked the crust first and then put the cream cheese mixture in. The pie was just a little flatter than it would have been. I will definitely make this again and follow the recipe to a "T"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      This was heaven! Can't go wrong with the combo of Lemon and cheesecake! We served with a dollop of whipped cream as well. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Yummy! A cross between a cheesecake and lemon pie. Not overly lemony. Definitely worth the time to make the graham cracker crust. The whole family enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      This was really good. So fresh tasting. I love Lemon. I made for a church potluck Though I made a few changes. Since it was a christmas party for the crust I used pecan shortbread cookies 1 1/3-1 1/2 cup didn't measure had to use more as made a bigger pan 8x11 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 T sugar. Same amount of cream cheese filling but 1 1/2 times the lemon filling or I would have had too little for a bigger pan. so that would be 3/4 cup sugar 3 Tbs cornstarch pinch salt, 1 1/2 cup water, 3 egg yolks, 3 Tbs. fresh lemon juice and 1 1/2 Tbs. butter

      Thank you for a great recipe RecipeNut UPDATE I just noticed that there were no stars on my review Sorry a glich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This is just..Perfect! Made because its June finally in Wyoming and I had an extra pie crust I didnt want to toss out.Only change I made was a baked pie shell instead of the graham cracker as directed.. So decided to look around for a lemon I hadnt had just yet. I can say this is going to be a keeper. * giggling* I can have a piece when kids are at school.. Once they get a look at it.. Its a goner.. Wish I could give it more stars definately deserves more then FIVE. TY for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is very good, but I modified it a little bit. I used lemon cookies for the crust. I was worried the lemon filling was not lemony enough against the cream cheese, but did not want to add more lemon juice since I was worried it would not set up, so I drizzled it with a lemon glaze - it was just perfect! I decorated it with a dollop of whipped cream and a lemon slice twist in the center - it was a huge hit - just the perfect light yet flavorful ending to a big holiday meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, as an alternative to pumpkin pie, and everyone liked it best. I added a bit too much lemon juice, so there was a slghtly bitter aftertaste, but my family still thinks it's the best lemon pie they've ever had. I also made it for my church's pot-luck. Unfortunately, I added to little lemon juice (after my first mistake) and I didn't cook the lemon mixture long enough so it didn't set properly. However, it was still everyone's favorite dessert at the party, so it is definitely a new stand-by for me. Any recipe that can still be a hit even when I screw it up deserves 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      WONDERFUL! My husband like lemon-meringue pie, but I think it's too sweet, so I never make it for him. I tried this the other night, and we BOTH loved it! So did everyone else at the party. I added some fresh whipped cream right before serving, and I highly recommend this addition. I am making this again tonight for my son's birthday party, doubling it, and putting in a 9x13 pan. You can also use a good quality lemon curd from a jar to save time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      HUGE hit at holiday drinks and dessert party. Painfully delicious. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      YOu can also make it with lime if youa re a key lime nut and its just as good! I love this pie, it really is easier to make than a traditional cheesecake and its just devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      I was just going to post this recipe since I tried it for the first time a couple days ago -- and I checked to see if it was already there and found your posting. So instead of posting a new recipe, I'll just add to the reviews of yours. I made it in a tart pan -- and I knew I would need more crust and fillings. So I did 1 1/2 times the crumb recipe and it was perfect. Then I doubled the other two (cream cheese filling and lemon filling). It was just right. I also topped it with a little whipped cream and grated lemon rind on each individual serving. It is just soooo refreshing. Since my husband is a diabetic, I also used Splenda in place of the sugars and it came out just great. Thanks for doing the work for me -- and posting the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I prepared this as one of the desserts for our Easter dinner. Mistakenly, I used a deep dish pie plate, and this recipe didn't have enough filling for the volume of the dish. I did add more lemon juice to the lemon filling, as I felt it needed the extra flavor boost. I also added squirts of canned whipped topping around the edge of the finished pie (just before serving) to camouflage my mistake of the size of dish. My husband loved the combination of cheese cake and lemon. I will try this recipe again with the proper size dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marie Callender's Lemon Cream Cheese Pie by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.1
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    55%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 153.4 mg
    51%
    Sodium 314.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 34.9 g
    139%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes