36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mmmmm, very similar to Marie Callendar's!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyoon September 03, 2010

Absolutely perfect, thank you so much SilentCricket!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madam Krista August 18, 2010

Awesome recipe! Yields a nice moist (not crumbly) and sweet cornbread. Goes together in mere minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lockedhalo January 19, 2009

I liked it better than Marie Callenders! I used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 half and half; instead of shortening I used corn oil. Yum! Cornmeal will not age in this house anymore!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terriesnow January 13, 2008

I used 1/2 cup of honey for the sugar and used fat free milk. Hubby really enjoyed this and he doesn't care for cornbread so there ya go. Very moist, not crumbly, great flavor, will make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec September 08, 2007

Made by recipe with whole milk. We loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrannieJ June 20, 2007

This cornbread rates more than 5 stars. I used sour milk. Canola oil instead of shortening. So moist,light and fluffy. A real keeper Thank you Silentcricket, it' the best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carenfro February 20, 2007

I always get cornbread in a box, but sounded so easy I tried it. We love it. I'll be making it from scratch from now on. I also used Canola oil as shortening. I'll have to double the recipe next time, this will be gone before dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmanimalart January 14, 2007

This was a very good cornbread. Texture very good. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 25, 2006

I thought this was just the tinest bit dry, it could have been me though. However, I did enjoy it and might tinker with the oven temp and cook time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee February 03, 2004
Marie Callender's Famous Golden Cornbread by Todd Wilbur