Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marie Callender's Famous Golden Cornbread by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marie Callender's Famous Golden Cornbread by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2010

      mmmmm, very similar to Marie Callendar's!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Absolutely perfect, thank you so much SilentCricket!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Awesome recipe! Yields a nice moist (not crumbly) and sweet cornbread. Goes together in mere minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I liked it better than Marie Callenders! I used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 half and half; instead of shortening I used corn oil. Yum! Cornmeal will not age in this house anymore!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I used 1/2 cup of honey for the sugar and used fat free milk. Hubby really enjoyed this and he doesn't care for cornbread so there ya go. Very moist, not crumbly, great flavor, will make again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Made by recipe with whole milk. We loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This cornbread rates more than 5 stars. I used sour milk. Canola oil instead of shortening. So moist,light and fluffy. A real keeper Thank you Silentcricket, it' the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I always get cornbread in a box, but sounded so easy I tried it. We love it. I'll be making it from scratch from now on. I also used Canola oil as shortening. I'll have to double the recipe next time, this will be gone before dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This was a very good cornbread. Texture very good. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      I thought this was just the tinest bit dry, it could have been me though. However, I did enjoy it and might tinker with the oven temp and cook time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Absolutely fantastic!! My husband likes sweet cornbread and this was a winner--I used splenda instead of sugar and it turned out great!!Not crumbly at all--perfectly moist! Delicious--thank you. I served this with my ham and beans and it was perfect--

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      This is a great recipe as is. And it tastes jus tlike the real thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      Absolutely fantastic. I made a double batch to go with chili and baked it in two cast iron skillets with some oil rubbed on them first and it was so yummy. The family loved it and my nephew says that his mom needs to have my recipe now. Thank you so much for making me the hit of dinner. I will be making this from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      Absolutely delicious and I loved the honey butter. The cornbread wasn't too cakey and it didn't crumble too much. Was very good and a complete hit with chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic recipe. Cakelike, moist, and fluffy, with a crisp exterior and a just-crumbly-enough texture. Followed the instructions exactly, except that I baked it in a No. 6 cast iron pan. It came out perfectly in 30 minutes on a Samsung gas range. It keeps okay - it was still good one day later. Will definitely repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Chef #236407, this is a forum for reviews on the recipe. Marie Callendar's is a West Coast chain and most people don't have access to the restaurants to just go pick up a pan of "the real thing". I grew up in CA eating Marie Callendar's cornbread and now that I live in the East, I am always looking for good recipes for the delicious foods I miss. I read the reviews of recipes to get a sense of how they will work for me. Your review was not at all helpful and I hope that in the future, you reserve your comments to help others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Hi there! Thanks so much for the "sugar-free" version. My hubby is hypoglycemic and I have to adapt every recipe to fit him! Almost 30 years of substitutions, so this knowledge saved me
      hours of experimentation!
      When I go to LA to pitch scripts, I always go to MC's! And pig out on the cornbrad, but in the past couldn't re-create it for DH!

      Thank you again! I'll also try the Maple Butter myself. He can make do with regular butter and mapline flavouring! POOR GUY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I've never had Marie Callendar's, but this was very good! I like a sweeter cornbread and this was perfect. Super simple to throw together and bakes up nice and high. I used 2% milk because that's what I had on hand, and melted butter instead of shortening because shortening's just horrible stuff. Served with chili. I'll definitely keep this recipe and make it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      This is my go to cornbread recipe, my DH loves the sweeter versions of cornbread so this is perfect for him. I made maple butter, instead of honey butter and served this with a pot of split pea soup with maple smoked bacon.....It was amazing. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marie Callender's Famous Golden Cornbread by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.6
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    48%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 51.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 391.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes