Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marie Callender's Banana Cream Pie by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marie Callender's Banana Cream Pie by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2007

      This recipe needs some major correction. It should be 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup shortening, 1 1/4 cups flour, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 egg yolk, 2 tablespoons ice water, and 1/2 teaspoon vinegar for the crust. In addition, the filling should have 1/4 cup cornstarch rather than 1/2 cup. The whole milk should be 2 3/4 cups of whole milk rather than 1 cup whole milk and 1 tablespoon of butter rather than 1 teaspoon. Chef# 173478 must have followed a different recipe. The ratio of cornstarch to whole milk isn't even close.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Like a few others, I wish I had read the reviews as well before following this recipe. The filling ratios are out of whack. 1 cup milk to 1/2 cup of corn starch??! Who puts that much corn starch for 1 cup? I should have exercised my judgement. I had to basically buy dessert last minute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I wish that I had of read more of the reviews before I started on this recipe! I agree with all of the other comments - definitely not enough liquid in the recipe as written. It made a very small quantity of very thick filling that would not even cover the bottom of the pie crust! This was probably my worst cooking disaster ever!! No stars for this one I'm afraid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This has WAY too much cornstarch in it. There is a strong cornstarch flavor that masks the other ingredients. This recipe works much better when cutting the cornstarch to 1/4 cup and increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups. Unfortunately, I will not use this particular recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I agree with one of the other reviewers that this was inedible. I've made a lot of pies in my life and neither the crust or filling turned out. I tried the crust twice and if you to push it into the pan like a shortbread, that might work, otherwise it cracked and broke into large pieces. And although I stirred the filling the entire time, it turned into a blob with a very thick tapioca like granules that were not there before I heated it. I too think there was not enough liquid (compared to other banana creme pie recipes) and am wondering if an ingredient was accidentally left off the recipe when it was typed on this page.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      This recipe was awful. I rarely have trouble with a recipe turning out, but the filling went down the drain 4 times! I don't think that the recipe calls for enough milk. The pie crust didn't work either. Very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This is the best banana cream pie ever! I made it with graham cracker crust and it turned out heavenly. Throw away all your other banana cream pie recipes cause you won't need them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur. It is published in his book entitled "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes". www.topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marie Callender's Banana Cream Pie by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 965.8
     
    Calories from Fat 648
    67%
    Total Fat 72.0 g
    110%
    Saturated Fat 35.0 g
    175%
    Cholesterol 293.4 mg
    97%
    Sodium 584.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 30.5 g
    122%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites