8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe needs some major correction. It should be 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup shortening, 1 1/4 cups flour, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 egg yolk, 2 tablespoons ice water, and 1/2 teaspoon vinegar for the crust. In addition, the filling should have 1/4 cup cornstarch rather than 1/2 cup. The whole milk should be 2 3/4 cups of whole milk rather than 1 cup whole milk and 1 tablespoon of butter rather than 1 teaspoon. Chef# 173478 must have followed a different recipe. The ratio of cornstarch to whole milk isn't even close.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watkinslady30 March 09, 2007

Like a few others, I wish I had read the reviews as well before following this recipe. The filling ratios are out of whack. 1 cup milk to 1/2 cup of corn starch??! Who puts that much corn starch for 1 cup? I should have exercised my judgement. I had to basically buy dessert last minute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hema R. December 23, 2013

I wish that I had of read more of the reviews before I started on this recipe! I agree with all of the other comments - definitely not enough liquid in the recipe as written. It made a very small quantity of very thick filling that would not even cover the bottom of the pie crust! This was probably my worst cooking disaster ever!! No stars for this one I'm afraid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdporter November 15, 2009

This has WAY too much cornstarch in it. There is a strong cornstarch flavor that masks the other ingredients. This recipe works much better when cutting the cornstarch to 1/4 cup and increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups. Unfortunately, I will not use this particular recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grizzbizz November 27, 2008

I agree with one of the other reviewers that this was inedible. I've made a lot of pies in my life and neither the crust or filling turned out. I tried the crust twice and if you to push it into the pan like a shortbread, that might work, otherwise it cracked and broke into large pieces. And although I stirred the filling the entire time, it turned into a blob with a very thick tapioca like granules that were not there before I heated it. I too think there was not enough liquid (compared to other banana creme pie recipes) and am wondering if an ingredient was accidentally left off the recipe when it was typed on this page.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbiegert December 26, 2006

This recipe was awful. I rarely have trouble with a recipe turning out, but the filling went down the drain 4 times! I don't think that the recipe calls for enough milk. The pie crust didn't work either. Very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssreed August 06, 2005

This is the best banana cream pie ever! I made it with graham cracker crust and it turned out heavenly. Throw away all your other banana cream pie recipes cause you won't need them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa_u November 15, 2004

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur. It is published in his book entitled "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes". www.topsecretrecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb October 13, 2004
Marie Callender's Banana Cream Pie by Todd Wilbur