12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved the flavor of this dish, but even slathered with sour cream, I couldn't eat a whole portion because it was so spicy-hot. I don't know if I am a wimp or the chipotles were extraordinarily hot but it was a fiery dish. (even after I added some tomato sauce and a pinch of sugar!) I look forward to making this again and scaling way (way!) back on the chipotle.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy August 19, 2009

I love Taco Xpress and this recipe is as good good as a trip to Austin! My only change was to use i cup of the broth from cooking the thighs in place of the water. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m0m August 18, 2009

Outstanding recipe. I decided to season the chicken with salt, pepper, onion powder and paprika and saute in just a bit of olive oil for a bit more flavor. I did more of a chop than shred and sauteed the onion in the pan drippings. Served with lots of Vidalia onion, finely shredded lettuce, cilantro and lime. Absolutely delicious, thanks for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! August 06, 2009

WOW, couldn't be easier and stunningly flavorful for a simple recipe. to make it even less work i used a rotisserie chicken from the store. added some guac and sour cream too and loved the flavor of the chicken sauce. turned it into a soft taco with a little guac and sour cream added to the other toppings

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 04, 2009

Excellent tacos; a definite repeat recipe! Like another reviewer, I used chicken breast. I subbed broth, skipped the oil and made this in the crock pot. I also added only a third of the chipotles, based on another's review. It came out perfect for us - lightly spicy, but not too hot to put all of the very yummy tomato/onion mixture into the tacos instead of adding salsa. I got the idea from others to add cilantro, lime and guacamole, and those were all great adds as well. I think you just can't go wrong here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 09, 2013

I used some leftover chicken breasts that were a little blah. They certainly weren't blah afterwards! I've had carne guisada before, but never the chicken version. I loved the way the shredded chicken soaked up the flavors of the sauce. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 19, 2011

Easy and delicious recipe. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand, so just added a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and its liquid. Added some cilantro at the end of cooking. Especially good in burritoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! July 10, 2010

Delicious! This is fantastic! I omitted the salt (personal preference) and used fresh garlic. I served it nacho-style, over tortilla chips. Loved it! Guy sure knows his stuff. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 11, 2010

I absolutely loved this recipe...including my 19 yr old son and his dad. Lots of flavor and went with the suggestion of stonecoldcrazy as to slather with sour cream...absolutely awesome. My son rated it "Off the Chain" guess he loved it too. Thanks for the recipe and will use again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martinez.valle November 01, 2009

Lordy I can't believe I forgot to review this!!! So, we will eat this weekly, especially when work gets hectic. I modified this, sort of, for 2, and made it into a 30 minute meal. I don't know if this review is fair, but I think it is!! :) I used 2 large chicken breasts, and microwaved them. I made the sauce as directed, with less water. I combined the microsteamed chicken which I had shredded with the sauce and we made burrito type creations with it. LOVE. Thank you thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM October 15, 2009
Maria's Taco Xpress Pollo Guisado