Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maria's Best Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maria's Best Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2002

      Canarygirl, this one ought to be number one in place of my "To Die For" roast! I had people over for dinner and we all devored this! I don't have a motar and pestle, so I used a fork and a bowl and a little elbow grease and it worked fine! I didn't think my paprika was "smoky" enough so I added a dash of liquid smoke. All of the spices and seasonings produce a very exotic tasting roast! I can't wait for lunch...there was just enough meat left over for a sandwhich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This is very easy and good. The meat was so tender~it just fell apart. Good mixture of seasoning. I will be making this again maybe with the pork roast next. Thanks for a great crockpot recipe canarygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2002

      This is so good and so easy to prepare. I didn't have any thyme, so I left it out. The next time I will cut back on the paprika - it was pretty strong tasting for me. When the roast was done, I added some beef broth to the juices and thickened it with flour and water which made the most wonderful tasting gravy. Overall, a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      This is a keeper of a recipe! My whole family loves this...it's always a request when my brother and sister-in-law are coming for dinner. It's so tender it just falls apart in your mouth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      This was a wonderful change from the beef crock pot recipes that all taste like stew! I had a little trouble inserting the bacon into the roast, so I just draped some of it over the top. Also, I am really rushed in the morning, so I put it together the night before and just dropped the crock in in the morning. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      This roast has a great flavor! It took very little time to prepare and my kitchen smelled wonderful when I got home from work! I didn't change a thing, and I don't think that I would! I'm enjoying leftovers today for lunch on a sandwich! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      This was great,my husband loved it. The meat was so tender. I didn't have a mortar but I had a tube of garlic paste with olive oil. It made this recipe just a little easier to make. This is a recipe I'll be making for company. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      Wonderful recipe! And super easy to prepare. My husband kept going back for more. I will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      Hi Canarygirl; Not too sure where to begin, however, this was the best crockpot roast that I had ever had. I used a 4 lb. inside round roast and slow-cooked it for almost 6 1/2 hours. My super-great dry red wine just added the final touch. The roast was so tender that I did not have to cut it up into bite size pieces, just used my fork after I sliced it. The flavor with the spice combination made the meat so tasty. By the way, I had never done a slow cooker roast before. I always either barbecued the roast or cooked it in the oven. This is a real winner and thanks for giving us the pleasure of your mother-in-laws original and your version to this recipe. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      Very, very good. I used a chuck roast, which was fatty enough without the bacon, so mine was a little bit too greasy. Next time, I'll use a leaner roast or omit the bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Outstanding! I was out of smoked paprika so I used regular paprika and tossed in a little liquid hickory smoke. I threw in some sliced mushrooms towards the end of the cooking time and oven roasted some new potatoes in some of the drippings with a little butter and salt. I also made a gravy with the drippings but the meat was so delicious plain we didn't use the gravy. The next day I took the gravy and added a half can of condensed cream of mushroom soup, a few dollops of sour cream, and some half n half to make a stroganoff-like sauce. I cut the leftover roast into cubes and heated the meat, leftover mushrooms, and some carmelized onions in the sauce and served it over egg noodles. So thanks to you, we now have our favorite crockpot roast and our new favorite stroganoff recipe. Dh and I are very happy about this discovery :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      This is very good.A unique taste,different from the ordinary roast.I've made this several times.THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This roast was delicious and very easy to prepare...I put it in the oven @325 for (25 min.per lb) till meat thermometer reads 170..... In the final half hr.I added 1/2 c. beef stock and 1/2 c. red wine.... at the end I added 2T flour & water to thicken to make the gravy....Thanks CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      I thought that this was good, but not great. The meat was tender but kind of stringy and not very flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      This recipe makes for a really tasty roast, the crust is delicious and the gravy made from the juices was first rate. The only change I made was to quickly sear the roast all over in a really hot fry pan before I put it in the crockpot. However even as a garlic lover I think the garlic taste was a little strong. I think it is the rub on the outside that really makes it special and next time I will add an extra clove or two of garlic to the rub and omit putting the garlic quaters and bacon slices into the roast. This recipe would also be great with a lamb roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      I thought this would taste very garlicky, but it didn't really. The bacon and paprika really dominated the flavour on this. I used only 1/2 tsp salt, and thought that was lots, especially for the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      Very delicious roast. I have never made a roast in the crockpot before and I couldn't believe how much gravy there was! I used beef fry instead of bacon to make it kosher and left off the parsley (just didn't have it). Next time I will take your suggestion and add the red wine. Thanks canarygirl for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Rated with stars when tried back in Oct/02 - just found a batch of Zaar recipes tried but not rated - newbie back then!! Now I rate almost immediately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      Cannot believe I haven't put my rating in before on this awesome roast. Doesn't much matter what kind of roast, the flavor is out of this world. I use it repeatedly. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      Wonderful recipe. To me, a roast that basically boils in the crock pot for 6 hours loses a lot of flavor and texture. I like my roasts to stay together long enough to transfer them to a serving platter. So I'm always looking for roast recipes that don't call for added liquid. This one is the best I've found. <br/>I seared it first and then placed it in the crockpot on a "rack" of celery and onion chunks, just to keep off the floor of the crockpot. Added potatoes and carrots after 3 hours. Turned out perfect with plenty of liquid for gravy. Thanks for posting canarygirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maria's Best Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.5
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    47%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 152.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 589.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes