33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i made it by hand and it worked really well - just proofed the yeast, mixed everything together, gently kneaded it, and left it to rise for 2 hours, punched in, then an hour, before following the recipe directions. yum, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lightawake April 28, 2011

Yum! This was truly terrific, and couldn't be any easier. I used the bread machine and it truly was a breeze to make (and this is coming from a terrible bread baker!). My dough was a bit wet coming out of the machine, though I suspect this is because I only had skim milk in the house and used Smart Balance for the butter. I loved the texture of it, as did my 3 year old DS who has requested it three meals in a row now whether buttered, with almond butter and jelly, or covered in sloppy joe! I loved it straight from the oven spread with roasted garlic...heaven. Of the 1 lb flour I used about 4 oz whole wheat and the rest bread flour. I don't see any reason to purchase baguettes from here on out! Thanks so much for posting! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 21, 2011

Excellent, flavorful baguette. I halved the recipe to make just one loaf. The crust is crisp and chewy without being so hard you feel as if you've gone 12 rounds with Mike Tyson every time you take a bite. The center is dense but tender. Although it may not need butter, it's even better with! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl September 04, 2010

This was excellent! I make most of the bread eaten in this house, and this recipe is now in the rotation. Very few simple recipes are good enough to be eaten as-is, with no butter, but this one is. I used plain old grocery store AP flour, added 3 generous tablespoons of gluten to make it into "bread flour", and kosher salt instead of sea salt- sorry, but I don't have it on hand. I took this to work today to share with my co workers, and they all loved it! My loaves came out after 25 minutes, and were perfect- nice golden crust, and a tender crumb. I could have put them back in for 5 minutes (straight on the rack- no pan) to get the bottom crisper, but they were still wonderful as-is. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 28, 2009

Delicious!! Very easy, I made it by hand and it worked out well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shooter77 January 25, 2011

Bit disappointed that I couldn’t give this 10 stars FT AMAZING! It looks like the real thing, smells like the real thing and the taste WOW! I’m not buying it every again! Thanks for sharing Karen My Photos will be posted shortly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip-Fairy May 23, 2010

Ooooh, Darlink! This bread is so divine! The gluten develops so well, and the flavour is unbelieveable! Spectacular, and this will be my go to french bread now! Made for Top Favourites of 2009. Thanks, FT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 14, 2010

I printed this recipe last year to try and have made it today. This is the best bread recipe i have tried for french bread. it was simple to make and was light and crisp. i started it in the machine and then shaped the bread by hand, we got 2 loaves. I am going to make this again next week for company. thanks again for your recipes. rj

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJedi February 06, 2010

This is very simple to make. Everyone loved it and commented that this bread didn't even need butter spread on it. Very good. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 22, 2009
Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread