Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2011

      i made it by hand and it worked really well - just proofed the yeast, mixed everything together, gently kneaded it, and left it to rise for 2 hours, punched in, then an hour, before following the recipe directions. yum, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Yum! This was truly terrific, and couldn't be any easier. I used the bread machine and it truly was a breeze to make (and this is coming from a terrible bread baker!). My dough was a bit wet coming out of the machine, though I suspect this is because I only had skim milk in the house and used Smart Balance for the butter. I loved the texture of it, as did my 3 year old DS who has requested it three meals in a row now whether buttered, with almond butter and jelly, or covered in sloppy joe! I loved it straight from the oven spread with roasted garlic...heaven. Of the 1 lb flour I used about 4 oz whole wheat and the rest bread flour. I don't see any reason to purchase baguettes from here on out! Thanks so much for posting! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      Excellent, flavorful baguette. I halved the recipe to make just one loaf. The crust is crisp and chewy without being so hard you feel as if you've gone 12 rounds with Mike Tyson every time you take a bite. The center is dense but tender. Although it may not need butter, it's even better with! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      This was excellent! I make most of the bread eaten in this house, and this recipe is now in the rotation. Very few simple recipes are good enough to be eaten as-is, with no butter, but this one is. I used plain old grocery store AP flour, added 3 generous tablespoons of gluten to make it into "bread flour", and kosher salt instead of sea salt- sorry, but I don't have it on hand. I took this to work today to share with my co workers, and they all loved it! My loaves came out after 25 minutes, and were perfect- nice golden crust, and a tender crumb. I could have put them back in for 5 minutes (straight on the rack- no pan) to get the bottom crisper, but they were still wonderful as-is. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Delicious!! Very easy, I made it by hand and it worked out well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Bit disappointed that I couldn’t give this 10 stars FT AMAZING! It looks like the real thing, smells like the real thing and the taste WOW! I’m not buying it every again! Thanks for sharing Karen My Photos will be posted shortly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Ooooh, Darlink! This bread is so divine! The gluten develops so well, and the flavour is unbelieveable! Spectacular, and this will be my go to french bread now! Made for Top Favourites of 2009. Thanks, FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I printed this recipe last year to try and have made it today. This is the best bread recipe i have tried for french bread. it was simple to make and was light and crisp. i started it in the machine and then shaped the bread by hand, we got 2 loaves. I am going to make this again next week for company. thanks again for your recipes. rj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This is very simple to make. Everyone loved it and commented that this bread didn't even need butter spread on it. Very good. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

    • on June 08, 2009

      This made delicious bread; hubby and I loved it! I really like that the recipe calls for honey instead of sugar. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Wonderful! I have never made bread using only milk before and I thought that it gave it a softer inner texture. While the bread was delicious and the directions spot on, I made a little mistake. I raised the dough in a couche and when I went to roll the loaves into my French Bread pan I was clumsy and deflated the poor loaves. Hence in my photo you will see how beautiful the loaves rose, but then wrinkles in the loaves from when I deflated them. That was operator error and not the recipe as it did not affect the taste of the bread in any way, just a bit less attractive- sorry :( I needed about 4.5 cups of flour and used 2 tbsp of butter. I will make this recipe again as we loved the chewy outside and soft insides of these loaves. Thanks FT- Made for ZWT5~Brenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Very good bread. I do find it a little bland - maybe a little more salt? The texture of the dough was very nice. The final texture of my loaves was fairly uniform, without "holes" as others have noted. I used the bread machine and finshed in baguette pans. All in all, very good and I will give it another try soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I don't know where to begin: excellent directions, superb bread, the flavor! I followed the recipe exactly as written! Used organic Bob's Red Mill unbleached flour from Oregon, Tillamook unsalted butter, and local honey. Amazing! I am speechless! Reviewed for ZWT 2009. Million mercis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Fabulous bread!! We loved it! It has such wonderful texture and flavor. The inside had nice holes and pockets throughout and the crust was crisp on the bottom and chewy on top. I made it by hand and added watered-down yogurt instead of milk. I also sprayed it with a water spray bottle every 8 min. or so instead of placing the pan of water in the oven. Very good bread!! Thanks! Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I really enjoyed this, very simple to make and turns out a great tasting bread. However I did things a bit differently... mainly I didn't use a breadmaker. Results were still good though. Didn't have any natural sea salt or organic butter either... found it a tad salty. not too much though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I added 2 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten and dusted with cornmeal instead of flour. Thought it was terrific--nice texture and taste. And my dinner guests were so impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      What better French bread to make then from a French Tart LOL... This was so easy to make and the bread smelled so good while it was baking that I had to have a piece fresh out of the oven. Tummy ache and all, after having 3 pieces slathered with real butter, I still think it's the best homemade bread I have ever had! My fault for eating too much right out of the oven! DH and company enjoyed it with our spaghetti dinner. Good thing it makes 2 loaves. Crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      what a great and easy recipe. i used the machine, and finished by hand.used soy milk .weighed bread flour,used real butter. i was surprized it rose so well. will repeat many times. thanks FT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I wish I could give this ten stars! This was delicious, so much better than any purchased French bread--maybe even the bread from the French bakery in Pike Place! I was surprised at how easy it was to make, other than shaping the loaf--it would be helpful to have instructions on how to shape a baguette. Even with instructions found online, my first loaf came out funny-looking (but delicious!). The second was was much nicer, although more the short, fat kind of loaf than a long baguette. But it was sooo good, no one cared what the loaves looked like! I wish I knew how to get that nice sheen on the loaf like commercial loaves have, though. I cannot see myself ever buying French bread again, unless I'm just really pressed for time. Thank you so much for posting, French Tart! UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and it's wonderful every time! I use the bread machine to make the dough, and then finish it by hand. FYI: 500 g of U.S. bread (not all-purpose) flour works out to just under 4 1/4 cups of flour; the conversion I use from King Arthur Flour is about 119g/cup. This is assuming that the flour has been well-stirred to loosen it up, of course--otherwise you'll end up with too much flour. All-purpose flour has a different density and thus will have a different volume. Thanks again, French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 584.7
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    14%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 963.2 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites