15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was absolutely amazing. Made as directed with homemade dough. Would not change a thing. The 4 ounces of cheese was just perfect. I was concerned it wouldn't be enough but decided not to add more. I'm glad I didn't. This is a new favorite and will be made often. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo March 23, 2011

Yummy! I just love fresh basil. Very easy, light, and tasty. I will scale back on pepper next time, it sort of stole the show from the tomatoes and basil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven July 07, 2009

I decided to try this pizza because I am not fond of pizza/red sauce. I was perplexed when I saw how little of the mozzarella was used and was afraid that it would be bland. I may have used less then 4 ounces of cheese (I just dusted the pizza under the assumption that more would be added to the top. WRONG! LOL!) Quite the contrary, the pizza was delightfully light and I am glad I did not smother it in cheese. I sliced the tomatoes paper thin using a mandolin and i would do it this way again. The red pepper flakes were a fabulous addition. Low in Fat and Vegetarian enough for me! I will be making this one again. Thanks Chef Acosta for posting. My Three Chefs Fall 2008

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper November 05, 2008

Awsome!!!! Loved it... used fresh mozzarella, roma tomatoes, dry basil and added cayenne pepper to the olive oil...delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-torres February 26, 2009

Best pizza I've had or made in this country & wished I could give it 10 stars. Followed the recipe exactly & shredded the cheese block myself, since it seems like it tastes better than the already shredded ones. Love the fact that is not submerged in ton of cheese. Very light & can be served as an appetizer cut in smaller wedges. Will be making this again & again. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ferryal April 17, 2015

Excellent!!! This was awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 28, 2015

Just made this, and am SO impressed. Used the fresh basil, fresh Roma tomato, and it is really so good. I think that, adding the Parmesan and crushed red pepper at the very end, adds a HUGE zing to the flavor (rather than adding those ingredients before baking). I can't wait to make it for the kids. I used the small Boboli crust, so will undoubtedly be able to eat it all on my own today (shame on me), so they'll have to wait! It needs VERY little salt, if any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiedkj January 07, 2015

Perfect summer dinner! Used tomatoes and fresh basil from the garden and sliced a ball of mozzarella. Used Naan bread as the crust and cooked it up on the grill, using indirect heat. The crust was crispy on the outside, soft on top. My husband said it was like an appetizer from an upscale Italian restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tshansen August 29, 2013

Easy and excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crickle53 July 23, 2013

Love this pizza and it was just as easy as the recipe boasts. I added fresh ball of Mozzarella cheese and sliced it thin (8 oz. not shredded). I didn't bother with the pepper or the Parm cheese and the flavor was great! I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondecat98 June 21, 2013
Margherita Pizza (Pizza Margherita)