Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Margarita Cupcakes With Key Lime Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Margarita Cupcakes With Key Lime Icing

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2010

      Excellent. The flavour is not too strong - just right. I made these into little cocktail cupcakes, complete with a little slice of lime, white decorating sugar to represent the salt and a little green straw. They were a hit. Note: I also used this same recipe and substituted Strawberry Daiquiri mix and they were equally delightful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I did follow Chef #1517654's tips & used Frozen Limeade instead of the Margarita mix b/c that was what I had on hand... Turned out fantastic! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      These are delicious! To make them the way I like my Margaritas, I added a sprinkle of kosher salt to the tops of the cupcakes. Also, I dyed the icing with green & yellow food coloring. Thanks for a very fun recipe for Cinco de Mayo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      These are awesome! I agree that it would help to have the oven time in the recipe, so a big thank you to the previous reviewers for their fabulous suggestions. I baked mine for 20 minutes at 325 and they came out perfectly. I was using leftover margarita mix that had already been mixed with tequila, and they came out great (wanted to do something besides make more margaritas with it!)! I also took the suggestion to halve the icing, and I'm so glad I did. I only used 3 tablespoons of butter, 3 oz of cream cheese, and about 1 1/2 c of confectioners' sugar, keeping the lime juice and zest the same, and I still had too much icing. I discovered the leftover icing was delicious used as a dip for strawberries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Wow-a taste of the Keys right here in my house! YUM! I made these in advance to make sure I wanted them for July 4th and YES, I do! The cupcake was very flavorful. The icing was the perfect compliment to the lime flavored cake. Very easy to make. I piped the icing on with a decorater tip and stuck a cinnamon graham teddy bear on top-too cute! I could not find key limes so just used regular. I will be trying the Strawberry Daiquir mix soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      these cupcakes are so good. i didn't get a chance to try the icing, since my cupcakes fell apart when i tried to get them out of the silicone pan...but, i ate the pieces with some cool whip...so good :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Fantastic! I did make the full amount of icing after reading Starrynews review and using what's left as a dip. I used very thin slices of fresh lime and a sprinkling of green sugar to top off the cupcakes. The lime only works well when garnished just before serving. We had a blast with these. TFS a great recipe. Made for the "I Recommend" tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      LOVE this recipe! Make for our 'Rita Rumble dessert every year. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Fantastic and so easy to make! The icing recipe makes a TON, I doubled the cupcake recipe and not the icing and still had icing left over. Remember to keep them in the refrigerator after iced since it's cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Made these for a friends bday party and they were devoured! Everyone loved them. I did use some tequila & triple sec in place of some of the margarita mix. Next time I think I'll add a little to the frosting as well! I will definitely be making these again and trying other variations as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I followed Chef #1517654 advice and added the taquilla. I had a customer request for margarita cupcakes, but I had never made them before. I tried this out before selling them at Mardi Gras, and we LOVE them. I don't even like lime flavored desserts, but these were awesome!! I'm confident the customer will love them too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Three words... UH-MAY-ZING!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Absolutely delicious (and this is from a woman who is not a big fan of lime)! Just made these for a Cancun-themed bridal shower, and they were a HUGE hit. For an extra kick, I mixed in 1/4 C. of tequila to the dethawed margarita mix (remeasured it afterward to specified 10 oz amount and discarded the extra). I also added another shot of tequila to the frosting. The cupcakes were ultra-moist and fluffy, and the icing was just amazing! For any of you who are planning to pipe on your icing with a pastry bag, it sets up really well, and there is plenty of it. (I had about 1 1/2 cups left over, and I really used is generously.) Really fantastic recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I made these for a Jimmy Buffett tailgate and they were a TOTAL hit! People were coming from all over asking where the cupcakes were... absolutely delicious and now legendary for Buffett fans! The icing really makes these cupcakes top notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I used a yellow cake mix and prepared it as stated on the box; but instead of water I used the thawed margarita mix. The box called for 1 ¼ cups of water, which was perfect for the 10 oz can of margarita mix. The cupcake came out perfectly moist!! I also halved the frosting which was perfect… so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I really, REALLY enjoyed the icing. It was cool, crisp, and refreshing. The only minor issue I had was the moistness of the cupcake - must've been the frozen margarita mix, but the cupcake was pretty dry and a bit hard. Next time, I think I will just make the white cake mix sans frozen margarita mix - the frosting truly carries this cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Yum! I made these tonight to take to lunch for Cinco de Mayo tomorrow. The "sample" cupcake I had was so refreshingly bright with flavor, I knew my teacher friends would love them too. I will have to remind them that no Tequila bottles were emptied in the making of these cupcakes! :) Even half of the frosting amounts were too much for mine. 1/4 would have been plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      We enjoyed these cupcakes but were expecting a little more lime flavor. The recipe makes a ton of frosting so I think you wold be safe making half ~ unless you are going to frost them fancier. The cupcakes would be great in the summer at a barbecue ~ they just seem to scream summer to me! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I made these for a St. Pat's celebration at work and they were a hit. Part of their popularity. however, was due to the shamrocks and bumblebees on top from "Women's Day, March 2008 edition" The basic recipe is easy and the flavor is a tart but sweet surprise. Baked them at 325 and they came out very moist with a creamy but light icing. Placed in the shamrock covered paper liners with the lime zest (extra fine) in the icing , they're pretty and appetizing next to the other green creations - green potato salad is gross!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I loved these! I was pressed for time so I had to skip making the icing from scratch and just used canned whipped cream cheese frosting with some fresh lime juice and zest. Then garnished with tiny lime wedges. Too cute! And everyone loved the "margarita" flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Margarita Cupcakes With Key Lime Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    38%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 20.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 182.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 31.7 g
    127%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen margarita mix

    lime zest

    key lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites