22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent. The flavour is not too strong - just right. I made these into little cocktail cupcakes, complete with a little slice of lime, white decorating sugar to represent the salt and a little green straw. They were a hit. Note: I also used this same recipe and substituted Strawberry Daiquiri mix and they were equally delightful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha February 14, 2010

I did follow Chef #1517654's tips & used Frozen Limeade instead of the Margarita mix b/c that was what I had on hand... Turned out fantastic! Thanks for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Botta-Bing! March 13, 2012

These are delicious! To make them the way I like my Margaritas, I added a sprinkle of kosher salt to the tops of the cupcakes. Also, I dyed the icing with green & yellow food coloring. Thanks for a very fun recipe for Cinco de Mayo!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages May 05, 2011

These are awesome! I agree that it would help to have the oven time in the recipe, so a big thank you to the previous reviewers for their fabulous suggestions. I baked mine for 20 minutes at 325 and they came out perfectly. I was using leftover margarita mix that had already been mixed with tequila, and they came out great (wanted to do something besides make more margaritas with it!)! I also took the suggestion to halve the icing, and I'm so glad I did. I only used 3 tablespoons of butter, 3 oz of cream cheese, and about 1 1/2 c of confectioners' sugar, keeping the lime juice and zest the same, and I still had too much icing. I discovered the leftover icing was delicious used as a dip for strawberries!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 10, 2008

Wow-a taste of the Keys right here in my house! YUM! I made these in advance to make sure I wanted them for July 4th and YES, I do! The cupcake was very flavorful. The icing was the perfect compliment to the lime flavored cake. Very easy to make. I piped the icing on with a decorater tip and stuck a cinnamon graham teddy bear on top-too cute! I could not find key limes so just used regular. I will be trying the Strawberry Daiquir mix soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greatdin-din July 01, 2010

these cupcakes are so good. i didn't get a chance to try the icing, since my cupcakes fell apart when i tried to get them out of the silicone pan...but, i ate the pieces with some cool whip...so good :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ February 06, 2010

I used a yellow cake mix and prepared it as stated on the box; but instead of water I used the thawed margarita mix. The box called for 1 ¼ cups of water, which was perfect for the 10 oz can of margarita mix. The cupcake came out perfectly moist!! I also halved the frosting which was perfect… so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom June 23, 2009

Fantastic! I did make the full amount of icing after reading Starrynews review and using what's left as a dip. I used very thin slices of fresh lime and a sprinkling of green sugar to top off the cupcakes. The lime only works well when garnished just before serving. We had a blast with these. TFS a great recipe. Made for the "I Recommend" tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive January 11, 2009

LOVE this recipe! Make for our 'Rita Rumble dessert every year. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay August 29, 2012

Fantastic and so easy to make! The icing recipe makes a TON, I doubled the cupcake recipe and not the icing and still had icing left over. Remember to keep them in the refrigerator after iced since it's cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hartmc4 May 04, 2012
Margarita Cupcakes With Key Lime Icing