24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love a tasty cake that starts out with a cake mix! I brought this to a dinner party and all of the guest joked that the edges of the dessert plates should have been rimmed with salt! Thanks for sharing Cher!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC February 03, 2003

I made this for the finale of a Mexican themed dinner party and it was the hit of the night. This has so much flavor and is not overwhelmingly sweet. Yummy, pretty, and easy, too. It's the perfect dessert combination.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava Girl February 27, 2003

OMG, This was so easy. I made this recipe into cupcakes for my sister. I added a little green food coloring to give it a frozen margarita look. Made the glaze recipe , but then I made a butter cream icing with a hint of tequila& lime juice, iced the cupcakes, then a few clear& green sugar sprinkles to top them off. They looked beautiful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Shehan November 11, 2010

The cake is very moist and delicious. I used a white cake mix with lemon pudding. It baked exactly 45 minutes - perfect. I let it cool exactly 10 minutes in the pan - popped out perfectly. I wasn't such a big fan of the glaze, but others really liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZMiaJ May 14, 2009

I used most the tips suggested the cake was GREAT! Very moist! The one thing I would do next time is use a white cake mix (as someone suggested) with the lemon pudding so the glaze stands out more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dragonflies September 22, 2008

I would have to agree with Kleyt. The cake was very good, but too lemony in my opinion to be called a margarita cake. I also felt the tequila was a bit strong for it left quite an after taste. I'd like to try making it again, but maybe use less tequila and maybe a white cake mix instead of lemon. The cake was very moist and easy to make. Everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha Ann March 31, 2005

This was the best cake ever!!! I cooked it in the microwave in Tupperware Stack Cooker in 9 minutes!!! everyone wants the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tupperware June 08, 2011

This is a keeper- easy, tastes great... what more could you ask for. I'm kind of a 'drinker' so I can't say it really tastes just like a margarita (u cannot taste the alcohol at all), but it's still awesome! I'm going to make it for my boyfriends birthday cake :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliemiller36 July 08, 2009

I doubled the recipe for the Tequila-lime glaze, using 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice and 1 tablespoon margarita mix. After cake was baked, I poked holes in the cake with a wooden chopstick and poured 1/2 the glaze over it, let it cool for 20 minutes, then spooned on remaining glaze. GG Maria :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donmaria-schmitt May 09, 2009

Muy bueno! Made for the office and it received RAVE reviews; had to print mutiple copies of the recipe. I followed a couple of suggestions and made with vanilla cake and poked holes in the bottom (best suggestion). I subbed margarita mix for the both the limeade AND water. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT May 05, 2009
Margarita Cake