Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Margarita Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Margarita Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2003

      I love a tasty cake that starts out with a cake mix! I brought this to a dinner party and all of the guest joked that the edges of the dessert plates should have been rimmed with salt! Thanks for sharing Cher!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      I made this for the finale of a Mexican themed dinner party and it was the hit of the night. This has so much flavor and is not overwhelmingly sweet. Yummy, pretty, and easy, too. It's the perfect dessert combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      OMG, This was so easy. I made this recipe into cupcakes for my sister. I added a little green food coloring to give it a frozen margarita look. Made the glaze recipe , but then I made a butter cream icing with a hint of tequila& lime juice, iced the cupcakes, then a few clear& green sugar sprinkles to top them off. They looked beautiful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      The cake is very moist and delicious. I used a white cake mix with lemon pudding. It baked exactly 45 minutes - perfect. I let it cool exactly 10 minutes in the pan - popped out perfectly. I wasn't such a big fan of the glaze, but others really liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I used most the tips suggested the cake was GREAT! Very moist! The one thing I would do next time is use a white cake mix (as someone suggested) with the lemon pudding so the glaze stands out more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      I would have to agree with Kleyt. The cake was very good, but too lemony in my opinion to be called a margarita cake. I also felt the tequila was a bit strong for it left quite an after taste. I'd like to try making it again, but maybe use less tequila and maybe a white cake mix instead of lemon. The cake was very moist and easy to make. Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      This was the best cake ever!!! I cooked it in the microwave in Tupperware Stack Cooker in 9 minutes!!! everyone wants the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This is a keeper- easy, tastes great... what more could you ask for. I'm kind of a 'drinker' so I can't say it really tastes just like a margarita (u cannot taste the alcohol at all), but it's still awesome! I'm going to make it for my boyfriends birthday cake :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I doubled the recipe for the Tequila-lime glaze, using 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice and 1 tablespoon margarita mix. After cake was baked, I poked holes in the cake with a wooden chopstick and poured 1/2 the glaze over it, let it cool for 20 minutes, then spooned on remaining glaze. GG Maria :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Muy bueno! Made for the office and it received RAVE reviews; had to print mutiple copies of the recipe. I followed a couple of suggestions and made with vanilla cake and poked holes in the bottom (best suggestion). I subbed margarita mix for the both the limeade AND water. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Super moist and delicious!! I will make this again! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Very tasty! I'm a food snob, so I made a lemon cake from scratch instead of using a mix. I was looking for a recipe to use up a bottle of rum, so I used banana rum instead of the tequila and triple sec. I soaked cut strawberries in rum for garnish, then spooned some of the berried rum over each slice as I served them. Delish, and every plate was scraped clean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Made this cake for Christmas and it was a HIT. I made this with a orange cake mix instead of lemon and left everything else the same. Everyone loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      This cake was not only delicious but it was beautiful. I wish I would have taken a picture. I took this cake to a birthday party for work and was a little concerned that the alcohol flavor would be overwhelming. It was not. I garnished the plate that the cake was on with Lime, dried cranberries and granular sugar. It looked like a margarita on a plate. I added a little limeade to the glaze like others suggested and then drizzled it on there. What a beautiful cake! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      WONDERFUL! What a great finish to a spicey Mexican or Italian meal. I took it to my folks' house for a family dinner, and it was SO GOOD, my dad get mad when I tried to bring the leftovers home! Guess I'll just have to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      I had this at a party and it was very good. Nice and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Delicious and moist cake. I also added limeade to the glaze as well as squeezed the entire lime and added all the zest I could get off the lime because I wanted even more lime flavor and tart to even out all the sugar. I didn't have any triple sec, but I did have margarita mix that I used instead and it worked nicely. I used a good tequila that left just a hint of taste in the cake. Nice cake and I will make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      This cake is delicious. It's so light, but very moist. I added more limeade than was called for, probably an extra two tablespoons. It perker up the flavor in my opinion. I also used some limeade in the glaze, as one reviewer suggested. Definitely a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      This cake was delicious, moist, and easy to make! Thank you so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      I used Bacardi margarita mixer instead of limeade and I took LoriLou's advice and put some of it in the glaze and this cake got absolute raves. I also took a fork and poked holes in the cake when it came out of the oven and put half the glaze on it in the pan, then waited 10 minutes and took the cake out of the pan and let it cool and then put the rest of the glaze on it. It definitely tasted like a margarita to me. All the guests at the 4th of July party were talking about it. Big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Margarita Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.7
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    34%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 62.8 mg
    20%
    Sodium 436.5 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 38.6 g
    154%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gold tequila

    triple sec

    tequila

    triple sec

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes