Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marcia's Oatmeal. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marcia's Oatmeal.

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2002

      I like this quite a bit! I felt compelled to add a teaspoon of non-dairy powdered coffee creamer to thicken it up a little bit, and I omitted the raisins. I also added a packet of equal, and it tasted very nice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      This was very good. I've made oatmeal this way (without the cinnamon) and love it. I use old-fashioned oats and do exactly as the recipe says, boil the water, then add oats, turning off the flame immediately and covering the pan. The trick is not to stir. I never did like oatmeal because it was pasty, but this gives it the body I like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      This is a good basic recipe, but I had to dr. it up a bit. I was too watery for me, so I let it cook on the stove to get some of the water to evaporate.I also added more cinnamon a little maple syrup and just a dab of butter. I think this would be great made with skim milk. Thanks for sharing this quick and healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This was good. I was skeptical since there was some fluid left and I like mine drier, but it tasted really good. Maybe I'll try just a little less water, or more raisins. Way better than packaged instant. Worked great with old fashioned oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I like this with cream of wheat and no raisens. Thanks for a healthy breakfast recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I really liked this oatmeal, but I think I'd like it even better made with skim milk instead of water. Way better than the instant packs though, and since I need to eat oatmeal everyday, this is one of the ways I'll eat it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This was really nice, but being the prat I am, I did change some ingredients - for example, I added more raisins and cinnamon. Left out the salt, and in the morning I dumped the contents of my container into a pot of milk, left it to boil and went off to shower. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This wasn't quite as flavorful as I had imagined it would be. Tasted too watery - maybe I will try it again using milk as I like my oatmeal to be more creamy. Also, think I would at least double the cinnamon next time too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Great idea! I don't think I'll buy that over-priced, over-sweetened crud at the store again. This is easy and very good! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I admit that I never liked oatmeal before, but I think that was because we only had that prepacked junk, because I LOVE this oatmeal! It was so simple yet so satisfying. I only used 2/3 cup of boiling water, and added a tiny splash of vanilla. I just heated it up in the microwave and topped it with a few fresh blueberries. I can't wait to have this with a variety of fruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Simple, Basic Oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Yep, this is an old stand by for me in the mornings! OATMEAL!! I use 1/2 cup of oats and 1 cup boiling water to make a larger serving! Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      I loved this recipe!! Quick and Easy! Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Loved this with soy milk. After a few minutes soaking, I didn't want to wait any longer so I went ahead and cooked this 5 minutes and it was perfectly done. I'm going to make up some packets so that Dh will be more likely to eat oatmeal for breakfast. Me, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      To tell the truth I was slightly disappointed after trying this. Especially after reading all the rave reviews. I found the oatmeal to be too thick and and only mildly flavored this way. I still ended up adding some milk at end to get a more "porridge" type consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      I have been eating oatmeal for years and this was the best bowl of it ever! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will make it like this from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      I do exactly the same thing and have for years! I like to add some fresh chopped apple at the beginning. It is yummy and helps me get my daily fruits and veg in, but don't forget the raisins as well! I have also added banana, strawberries, raspberries(just before serving), chopped pears, the possibilities are endless when beginning with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      This was awesome! I used Splenda instead of brown sugar, and it was so yummy! Thanks so much! ~Little Italy~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I just finished eating this oatmeal. I loved it. The only thing I did differently was put the ingredients in a bowl, boiled the water in an electric pot and poured it over it. I place a plate over it, let it sit a bit and enjoyed it with some milk. No pot to wash, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Every day , Summer or Winter, I make porridge for Dad's brekkie....he was becoming tired of the same thing even though he still wants porrige...so I tried this one. He LOVED it. The secret is in the soaking. The texture was spot on, flavour was gently spicy...will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marcia's Oatmeal.

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites