Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2004

      This is the recipe from Cooking Lights Sept 2003 magazine. Without a doubt the best low fat banana bread I have ever made. I changed two things - I add 2 full cups of mashed banana and 1/2 cup sour cream. The result is an incredibly moist, delicious choc./banana treat. Every where I take this I am handing the recipe out!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm........yum! My marbling skills could use help, but that didn't make it taste any less delicious!!! I used 1/2 cup sugar(which was PLENTY given the sweet bananas & chocolate!), and half whole wheat flour. I also used canola oil because it's healthier than butter. I just used a whisk to mix everything up. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      I can't tell you how much FUN I had making this recipe! I have 2 other banana bread recipes that are my "norm" but it was great to try a Cooking Light recipe to change things up (I normally enjoy their bread recipes). My husband tried a slice & said it tasted like banana choc chip bread (only with a "swirl!"). I used 1/4 cup Splenda & 1/4 cup sugar instead of the full cup. Thankfully that worked fine! I will hopefully try a slice myself soon; I just needed my "taste tester" to help me out! I DID think a 9X5 pan would work better than an 8X4--there is quite a lot of batter. Baking time was a little less than stated; the loaf was plenty brown. Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Wonderful! I doubled the recipe and made a few substitutions, because I didn't have exactly everything. I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour and the rest all-purpose flour, I did 1/2 splenda, 1/2 sugar (using a total of 1 1/2 cups for the doubled recipe), I used 6 oz fat-free vanilla yogurt, 6 Tablespoons butter, and 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil. I had 6 small-ish super ripe bananas that were frozen and defrosted and, once mashed, they measured 2 cups, but it is still banana-y, so I think if you're a *little* short on banana, it's ok. ;) I got 2 8x4 loaves (done in 1 hour) and three mini heart-shaped loaves (1/2 cup capacity tins, done in 23 minutes-one was already gone by the time I took my picture!). I think next time I will double the recipe and bake in two 9x5 pans. This is the first time I have made marbled anything or put chocolate in my banana bread. I know...weird, right? Anyway, thanks for this awesome recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      It tasted better the next day. I think if i make this again, I might use milk chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      A review that is overdue but a recipe so worth putting into your favorites file. We love this Banana Bread. Very moist, good height, and great eye appeal. A recipe deserving of 5 stars. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This was excellent! It is just the perfect balance of banana, chocolate and sweetness. UMMMMMM! I used vanilla yogurt (what I had) and reduced the sugar to 1/3c like Fawn 512 said she did. I did find that mine was done after one hour. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      A winner. Even my 5 yr old daughter who is staunchly against banana bread of any kind can't stop asking for more. Easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Wow, what a great recipe!! My daughter made this with splenda and sour cream. She said she might try it with yogurt next time. We are all giving it 5 stars and we will be making it again....and again!! Her father LOVES marble cake so this cake was hit BEFORE we even made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This was really good. I overcooked mine a little bit, but it was still tastey!! Thanks for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I found this recipe and made it for my son who loves bananas and chocolate and all I can say is OH MY God thats good!!!! It was really hard to get him to share with his 2 sisters!! I'll be making this all the time-so easy to make yet so absolutely delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I made it for all my housemates. It was gone super fast. Very moist and the chocolate does not over power the bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This is our favourite way to "get rid" of those over-ripe bananas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Hi Sharlene~W, we enjoyed this banana bread immensely! We made it with the low fat sour cream but we added toasted macadamia pieces that I had left over from another dish. It was delicious! Thank you for posting a real moist and flavorful banana bread. Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was a super banana bread and a lot of fun to make. My family loved it, I loved it. I also use it as a plain banana bread recipe omitting the chocolate chip step. Either way it's one of the best recipes for banana bread that I have tried. This will be the banana bread I make for the next bake-sale donation I have to give.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Outstanding!! My attempt at banana bread with another recipe was somewhat dry, and this one came out super moist. I used plain yogurt, whole grain pastry flour, and bittersweet chocolate. Since I was running out of sugar, I was a little short of 1 cup. Sweetness was perfect, not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      These are superb! Some changes i made: 2 c super ripe banana, 1/2 c sweetened yogurt = so i decrease the sugar to 1/3 c ONLY! And the sweetness is just right. It's super moist and nice texture. The Chocolate didin't over powered the banana flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      I did the same thing as Chris and baked this as muffins. I baked them at 200*C for about 20 minutes. (400*F) I got 12 nice large muffins. I used vanilla non fat yoghurt and I stirred some milk chocolate chips into the vanilla batter to make them even more decadent. They are fabulous! Thanks for a really good recipe I know I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      oh Yum. This was my first try with banana chocolate bread and I'm very happy with the result. the crimb was a bit too bug for my taste, but I wrapped the bread in foil and let it sit for 2(!)days and VOILA perfect banana chocolate bread, moist, dense and a finer crumb, too. Thanks for sharing! I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      I made this into large muffins because I was short on time. I'm not sure how long I baked them, but it was a lot less than would be for a loaf. They turned out really great. The texture is good and they are not overly sweet, which is what I like. They took a little time to prepare, but the result was worth the effort. My kids both really liked them too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.5
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    29%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 170.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    69%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites