22 Reviews

This is the recipe from Cooking Lights Sept 2003 magazine. Without a doubt the best low fat banana bread I have ever made. I changed two things - I add 2 full cups of mashed banana and 1/2 cup sour cream. The result is an incredibly moist, delicious choc./banana treat. Every where I take this I am handing the recipe out!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim myles April 17, 2004

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm........yum! My marbling skills could use help, but that didn't make it taste any less delicious!!! I used 1/2 cup sugar(which was PLENTY given the sweet bananas & chocolate!), and half whole wheat flour. I also used canola oil because it's healthier than butter. I just used a whisk to mix everything up. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight February 10, 2010

I can't tell you how much FUN I had making this recipe! I have 2 other banana bread recipes that are my "norm" but it was great to try a Cooking Light recipe to change things up (I normally enjoy their bread recipes). My husband tried a slice & said it tasted like banana choc chip bread (only with a "swirl!"). I used 1/4 cup Splenda & 1/4 cup sugar instead of the full cup. Thankfully that worked fine! I will hopefully try a slice myself soon; I just needed my "taste tester" to help me out! I DID think a 9X5 pan would work better than an 8X4--there is quite a lot of batter. Baking time was a little less than stated; the loaf was plenty brown. Thank you for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS August 30, 2010

Wonderful! I doubled the recipe and made a few substitutions, because I didn't have exactly everything. I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour and the rest all-purpose flour, I did 1/2 splenda, 1/2 sugar (using a total of 1 1/2 cups for the doubled recipe), I used 6 oz fat-free vanilla yogurt, 6 Tablespoons butter, and 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil. I had 6 small-ish super ripe bananas that were frozen and defrosted and, once mashed, they measured 2 cups, but it is still banana-y, so I think if you're a *little* short on banana, it's ok. ;) I got 2 8x4 loaves (done in 1 hour) and three mini heart-shaped loaves (1/2 cup capacity tins, done in 23 minutes-one was already gone by the time I took my picture!). I think next time I will double the recipe and bake in two 9x5 pans. This is the first time I have made marbled anything or put chocolate in my banana bread. I know...weird, right? Anyway, thanks for this awesome recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 January 02, 2010

It tasted better the next day. I think if i make this again, I might use milk chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG September 26, 2009

A review that is overdue but a recipe so worth putting into your favorites file. We love this Banana Bread. Very moist, good height, and great eye appeal. A recipe deserving of 5 stars. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 September 25, 2009

This was excellent! It is just the perfect balance of banana, chocolate and sweetness. UMMMMMM! I used vanilla yogurt (what I had) and reduced the sugar to 1/3c like Fawn 512 said she did. I did find that mine was done after one hour. Thank you so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy Q Z October 03, 2008

A winner. Even my 5 yr old daughter who is staunchly against banana bread of any kind can't stop asking for more. Easy and yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April092776 September 21, 2008

Wow, what a great recipe!! My daughter made this with splenda and sour cream. She said she might try it with yogurt next time. We are all giving it 5 stars and we will be making it again....and again!! Her father LOVES marble cake so this cake was hit BEFORE we even made it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fireflylover August 07, 2008

This was really good. I overcooked mine a little bit, but it was still tastey!! Thanks for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeterbugaboo July 19, 2008
Marbled Chocolate Banana Bread