8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great! I used frozen dark sweet cherries instead of maraschino and it was delicious. They are super moist, but still sturdy enough to slice, and they have a lovely flavor that is surprisingly not crazy sweet (but make no mistake - it's obviously a dessert). I doubled the batch and gave half to some friends and my 10-year-old was all for polishing off the rest before her dad and brother got home - but I convinced her to wait till after dinner and top it with some ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. March 16, 2010

Even though I cheated and used a Ghirardelli brownie mix I'm going to give this one 5 stars because the cherry cream filling was great. I was hoping for a little more pink color to come thru in the marbling but could always add a little food coloring for that. I've also had cherry flavoring sitting around so I substituted 1/2 the vanilla with cherry. Thanks for the recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* November 10, 2009

I used box brownies with the cherry filling. YUM!! I also soaked my cherries in rum. They were delicious. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches March 03, 2007

These were definately a different spin on plain old brownies. Yum! I'm glad I did make just one batch because I'm afraid I could eat the entire pan by myself! They seemned more cake like when they first came from the oven but after refrigerating them overnight (yes, they made it through the night)they became very moist and gooey. Thank's for sharing. They were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTpockets February 26, 2007

WOW!!! These are amazing! I used a Gluten-free Brownie mix in place of your brownie recipe but used your recipe for the cherry cream filling. They were out of this world. I can't even imagine how they would taste with your wheat containing brownie recipe. Thanks for the GREAT recipe, it really livened up my plain brownies. I will definetly make again really soon!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlutenFreeGirl May 31, 2006

Oh yeah ~ I would make a double batch next time. One pan is NOT enough for sharing purposes! I made this recipe exactly as posted. They were easy, but the kitchen was still a mess - oh, that would be me! Thanks Marge, for this sweet keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee May 27, 2006

The smell in my kitchen after pulling these out of the oven was out of this world. I tried so hard to wait until completely cool, but couldn't. YUM. Once cool, I slice and put in the fridge, like them even better cold. Recipe was easy to follow. I did double the batch and I don't think I used a quite big enough pan for baking as I ended up having to bake a bit longer. These are going into my over the to recipe book. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo May 26, 2006

I've found that using a brownie mix instead works well also rather than making the brownie batter from scratch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armorbrat May 20, 2006
Marbled Cherry Brownies