11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my favorite recipe for syrup..cheap and easy! I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar; then add 1/2 tsp vanilla along with the maple extract.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee_tah September 10, 2009

I am the "Pvt Amy" of Pvt Amy's Mom" so obviously, she is my mommy. I love this syrup so much, I can't even use regular syrup for anything anymore, it's either this syrup or completely 100% natural maple syrup.. nothing else works.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyricc October 21, 2006

I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now. Absolutely love it and so much better then store brand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom June 17, 2011

Simple, yet SO delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bugeah November 10, 2010

I love how quick and easy this is to make, and the flavor was surprisingly much better than I expected! This recipe saved me as I was making something that needed maple syrup and realized last minute that I didn't have enough for the recipe. I believe we will continue using this since my husband didn't even notice it wasn't his usual maple syrup the next time he used it ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cjl0601 July 13, 2009

Wow...I had a craving for pancakes this morning but no syrup, so naturally I came here to find a syrup recipe and this is THE ONE!!! I doubled the recipe and used a tblsp. of pure maple extract. It was exactly the same as the real maple syrup that costs quite a bit in the grocery store. I will not be buying syrup ever again. Thanks so much for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carb Lover April 05, 2008

Love this recipe. It is what I had growig up, and all I use now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnetlayton August 14, 2007

My mom always made her own maple syrup but when I got married (the 1st time) 29 years ago, I decided to simplify and go with the "Aunt". This was my first time to make maple syrup like mom's and I don't know why I ever bought a bottle! This is easy, tastes great and, if its a little thin, just let it boil for a few minutes longer (stir it frequently) then let it cool just a bit to thicken up - think candy making technique. Thanks for the great memory and recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine July 18, 2007

This was a lifesaver! As I was almost finished making a batch of pancakes, I realized I only had enough syrup for one serving. I made this up while the rest of the pancakes cooked. It is sweeter and runnier than store-bought, but that was fine. I'll definitely keep this in my file for the next emergency!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC November 12, 2006

I was out of syrup for breakfast, so recipezaar to the rescue, although this recipe wasn't as good as the reviews led me to believe. Sorry, this syrup was too runny and too sweet. I'd rather have store bought. Roxsan-Utah

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omyheck September 08, 2006
Maple Syrup