Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maple Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maple Squash

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2004

      Delicious!!!!! Used butternut squash, substituted the olive oil with melted butter, this is a great vegetable dish! Definitely a keeper!!! — posted Mar 25, 2004,1 member found this helpful Sept 19/04 UPDATE! Today I made this again.I used sweet potatoes instead of squash. WOW!!!!! IT WAS SO GOOD, the taste of maple syrup and butter together is yummy!! I microwaved the pieces of sweet potatoes 5 minutes, then put them in the baking dish with the syrup,butter,salt and thyme,then I basted the potatoes with the sauce a few times - the result was perfectly cooked, beautifully glazed sweet potatoes!! Thanks Toolie for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      Gives a really nice flavor boost. I used fresh Butternut Squash, peeled it and cut it into 1" cubes. I almost burned the bottoms so be careful. Next time I will leave the peel on to protect the bottom and turn the sqash 15 minutes before it finishes baking and ensure I don't get careless. Thanks Elaine tasty recipe that I will make again. — posted May 20, 2003,2 members found this helpful Added comments - I made this again and did not leave the peel on as I suggested in my first review - I put it on a" Bakers Friend: sheet in the oven and watched that I did not over cook it - excellent came out perfect Thanks again Elaine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      So good and sweet! I used a fresh acorn squash from my very productive garden (I'm drowning in squash!), cut in 1 1/2 inch pieces, and baked at 350 since I had meat in the oven too. Total cooking time was about 50 minutes, and the glaze was absolutely perfect! I dislike mashed squash, so I really enjoyed the texture of this dish. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I just made the sauce from this recipe and served it on acorn squash I had already cooked in the microwave. (I microwaved them quickly together to get the sauce warm.) Although it doesn't get the golden coloring this way, it was very easy, fast, and delicous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I was worried about the thyme, but they turned out fabulous! I subbed agave nectar for the maple syrup so my glucose wouldn't go thru the roof on an already high carb Canadian Thanksgiving dinner. Very tasty! Will definitely make again.

      I have difficulty cutting raw squash, so I used cut up squash I get at Costco. Worked like a charm and already in 1-2" cubes. I got my dh to cut up another squash b/c the package wasn't quite enough for all of us.

      The first photo is when they went into the oven. The 2nd after they were done. I could have cooked them a bit longer, but everything else was ready. I agree with the others, line the pan with foil b/c the maple syrup/agave nectar will stick to even non-stick cookware.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is absolutely wonderful!! Will definitely be making lots! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This was good. However, the recipe needs to be specific about the type of squash to use, especially with us who are not too familiar with the different types of squash. I tried acorn squash and it was good,but this recipe doesn't work with spaghetti squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This was a great new recipe for my Thanksgiving table this year and will now become our annual squash dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Delicious! As part of our Easter dinner, this went perfect with my roast! I loved the maple flavor, and will use this recipe again many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This was great! I wouldn't change a thing. I served it to my friends here in italy and they were really impressed. It's impossible to find maple syrup syrup here so I dipped into my stash, I real treat for my friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Wonderful! Quick, easy, delicious. I appreciated the fact that the recipe didn't call for butter. I doubled the recipe, but not the olive oil, and it worked just fine. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Wow this squash was delicious. Toolbelt all this time I thought I didn't like squash. Your recipe has completely converted me. The squash was tender, flavorful crisp on the outside, with a nice carmalized glaze. The maple syrup and thyme compliment one another perfectly. Thanks so much for sharing a new family favourite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      This was so good! My DH, who normally avoids vegetables, ate these first off his plate, and enjoyed every bite. I peeled and chunked a whole butternut squash and roasted it on my Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish. Without turning them, the bottoms caramelized beautifully, and I broiled the pan-full very briefly to get the tops golden as well. This recipe is delicious to eat as well as beautiful to behold. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Fantastic! Only change I made was to use fresh peeled butternut squash. Easy, so yummy, and so good for you. I'll make this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I've made squash with maple syrup before but never thought of adding olive oil and thyme (my favorite herb!). I used squash from the nearby organic food farm, so had to do the peeling and cutting myself. Like Sarah Chana I used larger pieces than 1 inch, probably closer to 2. I took PaulaG's suggestion of pairing it with Cookin-jo's Easy Grilled Chicken Breasts (Easy Grilled Chicken Breasts) and they were a pair made in heaven--10 stars at least! UPDATE: A week after I originally reviewed this, I made a quadruple batch for Thanksgiving. Our family traditionally has some kind of squash at Thanksgiving and this one was a big hit! This is definitely going in my Standbys cookbook for repeated use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      This is the way we make squash all the time. I only make a few changes: I use fresh squash, just peeled and cut into chunks. Unlike Toolie, we like our pieces larger, at least 1" each, but even bigger. I also don't use thyme because my kids don't eat it, but it is lovely. And, I just toss the squash into the baking pan, unceremoniously pour the other stuff on top and mix it in the pan. Somehow it redistributes itself well. With fresh squash, you need to bake it longer, at least 45 minutes, but it can handle much more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      oh my goodness YUMM!!! I like squash but it is usully quite bland. This is wonderful! will do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      SWEEEET!!!! Easy! I used fresh that I microwaved to give a quick boost!Then finished in the oven. Like eating Candy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      OMG! My DD ate squash and liked it! A million stars for that feat Toolie! I used Butternut- cant get frozen here so used fresh. MW'd for 8 minutes then peeled and cut in half & scooped seeds. Doubled the recipe so I could make RitaL's squash seeds- yum! Used real butter rather than the evoo- was ahhhh-mazing with the syrup! Thyme was a great flavor combo- I would never have thought of that! We like 'spicy' stuff so next time I am going to try a pinch of cayenne or some cajun season sprinkled on top. This was so fantastic! Thanks so much Toolie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I'm gonna' try this with fresh thyme. I left this for Dh to bake and he didn't cook it until it was glazed. We'll try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maple Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.3
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites